Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of the Critic as a Middle-Aged Man
This is a collection of articles Charlie Brooker wrote for the Guardian newspaper, including the last of his "Screen Burn" columns, and some scripts from his "10 O'Clock Show" and various "Wipe" shows from August 2009 to July 2012.

The first half of the book is unrelenting hilarity from one column to the next. He writes an imaginary show that would follow "Man...
Published 21 months ago by Sam Quixote

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The worst thing happened to you that could happen to any fighter. Ya got civilised."
A line from Rocky III: sage advice delivered from trainer to boxer. Brooker is a journalist, not a boxer; but I doubt the line spoken to him would be that different.

I'm a Brooker fan, having bought/received all of his books at some point. (It makes you an easy person to buy for at Christmas.) I thought it was a shame You Have Been Watching only ran for two...
Published 20 months ago by Ryan Williams


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The worst thing happened to you that could happen to any fighter. Ya got civilised.", 20 Nov 2012
By 
Ryan Williams (Lichfield, Staffordshire.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: I Can Make You Hate (Hardcover)
A line from Rocky III: sage advice delivered from trainer to boxer. Brooker is a journalist, not a boxer; but I doubt the line spoken to him would be that different.

I'm a Brooker fan, having bought/received all of his books at some point. (It makes you an easy person to buy for at Christmas.) I thought it was a shame You Have Been Watching only ran for two series, and I've always looked forward to his annual 'Wipe' programmes on the Beeb.

So...it pains me a little to say that this book isn't up to scratch. It's slack and faded compared to what we've seen to date. Comparing this to Screen Burn, his first, wondrous collection of journalism, is like comparing a sparkler to semtex.

The book is held back by the fact that Brooker gave up the Screen Burn column halfway through the period covered: scripts from 10 O'Clock Live and the 'Wipe' programmes are duly pressed into service as filler. But mostly it's that Brooker seems more considered, even thoughtful this time around - not a good thing when you make your name as the creasingly funny scourge of trash TV. Being fair to the third-rate isn't entertaining.

When you see him giving a wistful thumbs-up to Spartacus: Blood and Sand, compare it with the merciless treatment he gave the show on You Have Been Watching, and you see the change that's come over both his viewpoint and its expression. (He gets the line of dialogue that he quotes from the show wrong as well.)

By the end, he's even giving a 'well, someone must like it' appreciation of Geordie Shore, complete with some wistful musing - for the kind of programme that in his earlier days would have had him reaching for a flamethrower and a refill to ensure the job's finished.

Some might lament his tirades against the Daily Mail - an admittedly deserving target - but that's to ignore all the mileage he's made out of them already. (Remember Daily Mail Island?) You wish the old Brooker would be set loose on the likes of Peter Hitchens, bringing back a lump of bloodied flesh to toss at his readers' feet.

Perhaps all this was inevitable. Like Clive James before him - to whom Brooker has paid moving tribute - Brooker had to leave reviewing TV because soon he'd reach the point where he'd have to review his own programmes. If his talons are less sharp, the metaphors and flights of comic fancy less vivid, perhaps the energy is going into his TV work.

No bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of the Critic as a Middle-Aged Man, 29 Oct 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Can Make You Hate (Hardcover)
This is a collection of articles Charlie Brooker wrote for the Guardian newspaper, including the last of his "Screen Burn" columns, and some scripts from his "10 O'Clock Show" and various "Wipe" shows from August 2009 to July 2012.

The first half of the book is unrelenting hilarity from one column to the next. He writes an imaginary show that would follow "Man Vs Food" called "Man Vs Poo"; he creates a new Scrabble game for young idiots called Scrabble Corrective where for every product or celebrity name they put down, they receive a punch in the chest; he describes a McMuffin as "a bit like sinking my teeth into a small, soft woodland creature... which thoroughly enjoyed being eaten and responded to each bite by gently urinating warm oil down my chin" (p.173); and so on. There are so many moments in the first half of the book I found myself laughing, they are too many to list.

But then halfway through the book, Brooker does something unexpected: he announces the end of "Screen Burn" and writes a mea culpa where he apologises for his nasty, biting tv columns over the years against such easy targets as reality show stars, and... more reality show stars. This wouldn't be so bad if he continued to be as funny as he was before but now he's chosen a different, less funny path.

It wouldn't have bothered me so much except Brooker seems to show disdain for his past as if writing funny columns about crap tv was such a terrible thing. Not many people can write a memorable and consistently entertaining column that was "Screen Burn" - more than a few can write commentary on how rubbish Daily Mail Online is. I get it, Rupert Murdoch is a creep. But what about some esoteric reality show where the idiotic contestants say and do dumb things? I'm being serious. "Screen Burn" and Charlie Brooker were brilliant, no one writes the kind of ferocious tv reviews he wrote, but open up a news site today and you'll see any number of glum columnists gamely chucking their keyboards against the bugbear of the day. He's gone from unique to another face in the crowd.

As if to end the book on a profound note about the kind of columns he used to produce, he writes about "Geordie Shore" and "Made in Chelsea" musing that they showcase obnoxious idiots because without an agreed upon group of hate figures, we'd all kill each other. I don't agree - I think those shows exist because they're meant to be made fun of. Like Charlie Brooker used to. Brilliantly. Hilariously. Used to. Somewhere along the line he began taking what he did far too seriously and decided that writing about the Daily Mail and the government made what he did - an opinion column! - more acceptable. But they're just another group of hate figures to write about. Except writing about them isn't funny.

Despite this newfound sense of political destiny, Brooker is always worth reading for his imagination and insight, and for fans of "Screen Burn", the book is worth picking up for the first half alone. "I Can Make You Hate" is funny for the first part and thoughtful for the second, but rarely unreadable, even if Brooker has joined the Righteously Indignant Grown-Up Club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read on public transport, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's embarrassing when you burst out laughing and people do tend to stare.

I found this book very, very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and bitingly funny, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved this book. I haven't previously read any columns written by Charlie Brooker, but have watched him on TV and love his superbly eloquent and savagely grumpy views on society. With an increasingly banal and obsequious media, this book is a delightfully scathing alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C bomb, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do not read just before going to bed as it will either make you angry or giggle. Brilliant but, not suitable for your Nan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Can Make You Hate (Hardcover)
This is my first experience of Charlie Brooker, this is really funny, I feel like he wrote this for me!! Really cynical but truthfu and written in short digestable 'rants' that you can pick up and read in bursts then put down again. Really funny. Big fan now because of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era., 11 Dec 2012
By 
A. Miles (Al Khor, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Can Make You Hate (Hardcover)
Charlie Brooker's apocalyptic misanthropy was something to see, certainly; and this, together with a hugely impressive gift for invective, made him incredibly popular. so much so, of course, that he eventually became part of the establishment he once railed against, making unexceptional sitcoms and gameshows, marrying a fellow celeb, having kids. So he's not as poor and alienated, now, as his public persona decrees.

That's not a criticism, though. It would be far worse if Mr. Brooker continued to live some fake persona, rather than do as he does in this book, and soften up somewhat. Good on him. But it doesn't make for that entertaining a collection of work, this being a collection of sometimes halfhearted odds and ends that will, I imagine, be the last collection of short journalism he does.

As another reviewer has pointed out, this is somewhat reminiscent of mid-period Clive James, when that writer went from angry young man to establishment figure, and like James, Brooker will keep being funny, but in a different way.

So the books OK, but not as essential as his other stuff, I'd say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh., 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Can Make You Hate (Hardcover)
I am a Charlie Brooker fan but did not really enjoy this book. I found the ridiculous simile descriptions funny at first but a bit same-y and irritating after a while (e.g. "like a hammock made of gas" for something unsafe).
I didn't engage with the topics he was writing about and found myself skipping to the end. He is better off on telly in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really really funny, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Can Make You Hate (Paperback)
Just very very funny. You can dip in and out of the articles and be guaranteed a laugh. Charlie Brooker is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit meh, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I normally love anything Charlie Brooker does but despite having enjoyed previous books of his, I found this one a bit hard work and a bit forced. It was OK, nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Can Make You Hate
I Can Make You Hate by Charlie Brooker (Paperback - 3 Oct 2013)
5.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews