Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful account of British government policy towards Ireland, 28 May 2013
By 
A. Kelly "A. K" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Path (Paperback)
I purchased this book recently and have been engrossed by its contents ever since. This work is the result of long and extensive archival research, mixed with critical analysis and splendid character examination. We get to hear the true voices of leading English statesmen, from Lloyd George, Churchill and Bonar Law. All students of British government policy towards Ireland will use this work as the basis of their own understanding of this complicated and fascinating subject matter - Prof. Fanning has produced a seminal work in the field of 20th century Anglo-Irish relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great historic thriller, 5 July 2013
By 
P. Finglas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Path (Kindle Edition)
Fanning has shown Irish history is exciting, a great read, I loved the way he brought the focus of people behind the main characters to show the major parts they played during this period

Fingers crossed more quality irish history books are coming soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bold and authoritative, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Dj Keenan "Dan" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Path (Paperback)
Fanning is a master of detail and his clinical dissection of this disastrous phase in Irish history is essential reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 July 2013
This review is from: Fatal Path (Kindle Edition)
This is a superb work of scholarship and an engrossing read. It details the high politics of Britain's Irish problem from 1912 to 1922 and makes it clear that some kind of partition was inevitable, though the exact outline of the border was up for discussion until late in the day. It is refreshing to have an Irish history written from the vantage point of London and not Ireland as we can see how the preoccupation of British politicians was to get away from the Irish question at the earliest opportunity. It also highlights the weak negotiating tactics of the Irish team that led to the Anglo-Irish treaty. This book concerns itself mainly with the British dimension to the Irish question, therefore nationalist Irish politicians such as Redmond, De Valera etc are not dealt with in any depth. John Redmond is described as "deluded" on two occasions without dealing with why he should be described as such. That is a minor quibble, in an otherwise excellent work. Well done Ronan Fanning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Path, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Path (Kindle Edition)
Very well written historical book, quite heavy at times with all the different personalities and the different political dimensions and factions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb book that is a must for Irish history readers, 24 May 2013
This review is from: Fatal Path (Paperback)
Having read many books dealing with Ireland's troubled relationship with England I was interested in finding out about the English Government's approach to setting Ireland free. This book lays out in remarkable detail the history of how the Home Rule issue came about and the tortuous process that both countries were involved in until Irish freedom was achieved, partially. I cannot recommend this book highly enough as essential reading for those interested in our history and developing a clearer understanding of how this small island has ended up being partitioned and governed by two separate countries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Path, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Path (Paperback)
I have not read a similar work on the subject that is so fair on both sides. I will not finish it until this busy summer is over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fine book, 15 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Fatal Path (Paperback)
If you wish to read about the formation of the Irish state and the intrique of the parties,esp by the Uk government this is the book to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fatal Path
Fatal Path by Ronan Fanning (Paperback - 12 Dec 2013)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews