Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed Alan Bennett's "Talking Heads" series in all the different formats and so I thought I would try reading one of his plays. I had high hopes which were sadly, very quickly quashed and that was just during the very, very very long introduction! I persevered through all that and finally got to the Play and was sorry I bothered, I found it hard to connect or empathise with any of the characters. I decided I really didn't care what was going to happen next and so didn't get past 17% of it on my Kindle! In fairness to Mr Bennnett, maybe it was just me and my lack of experience in reading Plays as I have only read a dozen or so. So it might not really be his fault.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Bennett is inimtable. This is a master of words at his best, showing what a keen observer of human nature he is.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
This was an enjoyable read and an interesting view of how we might deal with the past, let it go as opposed to preserve it. I saw the characters very much in the bodies of the actors listed: Frances dela Tour, Miles Jupp etc, which possibly increased my enjoyment and of course the Alan Bennett voice came through. I loved his suggested rather than instructed stage directions. The fact that I live in South Yorkshire and am familiar with such houses as the one in the play also helped to make this a thought provoking piece. I was a little disappointed with the porn scene, finding it predictable, but a director could probably deal with that. After all, this is a play.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Alan Bennett can do no wrong for me and here is another very clever play. It has you gripped and enthralled from start to finish. A must read.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
I would love to see this play in London with the wonderful Frances De la Tour, of course, it was made for her. I tend to empathise with Bennett's somewhat jaundiced view of the world as it is today, Then, I'm almost his age.

JohnP
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
A great play. I saw it at the National but being deaf I missed quite a few lines and needed the text to check up on what I had missed.A bit hard on the National Trust but you see what he means. Very true of that part of the Yorkshire coalfield.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
It is worth reading through the play as Alan Bennet's skill at conveying 'character', 'setting' and 'circumstance' comes across loud and clear. It almost compensates for not getting tickets to see the real thing!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Maybe not the best book Bennett has ever written but entertaining nonetheless and this master of detail leads us through the character's lives with characteristic wit and insight. Now that it's been put on as a play at the National Theatre, I expect sales will soar and deservedly so. Alan Bennett is a national treasure.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Great stuff, as usual, from AB - I just wish he could provide a thicker volume of work, as I enjoy his writing so much.
This is a very slim paperback at a high price.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Brilliant read as always Alan Bennett is on form and although a thin volume it was extremely enjoyable as always.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)