Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2016
This was an enjoyable read and an interesting view of how we might deal with the past, let it go as opposed to preserve it. I saw the characters very much in the bodies of the actors listed: Frances dela Tour, Miles Jupp etc, which possibly increased my enjoyment and of course the Alan Bennett voice came through. I loved his suggested rather than instructed stage directions. The fact that I live in South Yorkshire and am familiar with such houses as the one in the play also helped to make this a thought provoking piece. I was a little disappointed with the porn scene, finding it predictable, but a director could probably deal with that. After all, this is a play.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed Alan Bennett's "Talking Heads" series in all the different formats and so I thought I would try reading one of his plays. I had high hopes which were sadly, very quickly quashed and that was just during the very, very very long introduction! I persevered through all that and finally got to the Play and was sorry I bothered, I found it hard to connect or empathise with any of the characters. I decided I really didn't care what was going to happen next and so didn't get past 17% of it on my Kindle! In fairness to Mr Bennnett, maybe it was just me and my lack of experience in reading Plays as I have only read a dozen or so. So it might not really be his fault.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Maybe not the best book Bennett has ever written but entertaining nonetheless and this master of detail leads us through the character's lives with characteristic wit and insight. Now that it's been put on as a play at the National Theatre, I expect sales will soar and deservedly so. Alan Bennett is a national treasure.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
I would love to see this play in London with the wonderful Frances De la Tour, of course, it was made for her. I tend to empathise with Bennett's somewhat jaundiced view of the world as it is today, Then, I'm almost his age.

JohnP
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Alan Bennett can do no wrong for me and here is another very clever play. It has you gripped and enthralled from start to finish. A must read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Bennett is inimtable. This is a master of words at his best, showing what a keen observer of human nature he is.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First staged in October 2012 at the National Theatre in London, PEOPLE, was inspired by Alan Bennett’s distaste for the National Trust and voyeurism of other people’s lives coupled with the commoditisation of privacy. He writes a fascinating introduction to this play, describing some of the thought processes behind its creation and linking it back to themes in other works that he’s produced. The play itself is a thin affair. Lady Dorothy Stacpoole and her sister Iris live in their ancestral home – a large country house that’s seen better days. Their sister, June, is keen to transfer the house to the National Trust on condition that Dorothy and Iris continue to live there, but Dorothy is desperate to find another way … As you’d expect from a Bennett play, there are moments of high comedy and bittersweet emotion – especially the end, which I admit made me sniff a bit and where I can completely imagine Frances de la Tour’s customary magnificent performance. However, there really isn’t much here and while the moments of farce are well constructed, they can’t mask the fact the lack of underlying material. Ultimately, I did enjoy this but it’s more for Bennett completionists that those looking for something substantial.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
A great play. I saw it at the National but being deaf I missed quite a few lines and needed the text to check up on what I had missed.A bit hard on the National Trust but you see what he means. Very true of that part of the Yorkshire coalfield.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
It is worth reading through the play as Alan Bennet's skill at conveying 'character', 'setting' and 'circumstance' comes across loud and clear. It almost compensates for not getting tickets to see the real thing!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
What one would expect from Alan Bennett. If you cannot see the play well worth reading the script
You may then like some of his other writings
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)