Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master writer
Bennett is inimtable. This is a master of words at his best, showing what a keen observer of human nature he is.
Published 23 months ago by Peter I. Robbins

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a useful review
I thoroughly enjoyed Alan Bennett's "Talking Heads" series in all the different formats and so I thought I would try reading one of his plays. I had high hopes which were sadly, very quickly quashed and that was just during the very, very very long introduction! I persevered through all that and finally got to the Play and was sorry I bothered, I found it hard to...
Published 12 months ago by Sharon Hooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a useful review, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed Alan Bennett's "Talking Heads" series in all the different formats and so I thought I would try reading one of his plays. I had high hopes which were sadly, very quickly quashed and that was just during the very, very very long introduction! I persevered through all that and finally got to the Play and was sorry I bothered, I found it hard to connect or empathise with any of the characters. I decided I really didn't care what was going to happen next and so didn't get past 17% of it on my Kindle! In fairness to Mr Bennnett, maybe it was just me and my lack of experience in reading Plays as I have only read a dozen or so. So it might not really be his fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master writer, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Peter I. Robbins "Russkie" (near Baldock, North Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People (Hardcover)
Bennett is inimtable. This is a master of words at his best, showing what a keen observer of human nature he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone's a winner with AB, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People (Paperback)
Alan Bennett can do no wrong for me and here is another very clever play. It has you gripped and enthralled from start to finish. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alan Bennett's view of modern Britain, 28 Nov 2012
By 
Dr. John F. Porter (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People (Hardcover)
I would love to see this play in London with the wonderful Frances De la Tour, of course, it was made for her. I tend to empathise with Bennett's somewhat jaundiced view of the world as it is today, Then, I'm almost his age.

JohnP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People., 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People (Kindle Edition)
A great play. I saw it at the National but being deaf I missed quite a few lines and needed the text to check up on what I had missed.A bit hard on the National Trust but you see what he means. Very true of that part of the Yorkshire coalfield.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars People Alan Bennet, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People (Paperback)
It is worth reading through the play as Alan Bennet's skill at conveying 'character', 'setting' and 'circumstance' comes across loud and clear. It almost compensates for not getting tickets to see the real thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fine book from the master, 9 Nov 2012
This review is from: People (Hardcover)
Maybe not the best book Bennett has ever written but entertaining nonetheless and this master of detail leads us through the character's lives with characteristic wit and insight. Now that it's been put on as a play at the National Theatre, I expect sales will soar and deservedly so. Alan Bennett is a national treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars short story, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. K. Appleby "KenA" (Perche, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People (Hardcover)
Great stuff, as usual, from AB - I just wish he could provide a thicker volume of work, as I enjoy his writing so much.
This is a very slim paperback at a high price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People (Hardcover)
Brilliant read as always Alan Bennett is on form and although a thin volume it was extremely enjoyable as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats not to like About Alan Bennett !, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People (Paperback)
Even though this is a book in play form, it still has all the qualities that Bennett brings to the written word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

People
People by Alan Bennett (Paperback - 1 Nov 2012)
Used & New from: £0.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews