Customer Reviews
Y


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars because
This is the story of a girl who is eventually named Shannon, though she is thinking of changing her name. She was born to an 18-year-old mother who managed to lose her nearly three-year-old son the day before giving birth. Not an auspicious start to life for this tiny baby who is then abandoned outside a YMCA.
This beautifully written story tells us about Shannon's...
Published 18 months ago by maggiefb

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings
Shannon's life begins at the Y. Abandoned when only hours old she spends her early years in one unsuitable foster home after another, the victim of abuse and unloved. Finally, she finds a home with Miranda and her daughter, and although she is offered stability and a place in a family, Shannon can never settle.

Shannon has so many questions, and they all...
Published 19 months ago by Lincs Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars because, 6 Feb 2013
By 
maggiefb (Famagusta, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y (Kindle Edition)
This is the story of a girl who is eventually named Shannon, though she is thinking of changing her name. She was born to an 18-year-old mother who managed to lose her nearly three-year-old son the day before giving birth. Not an auspicious start to life for this tiny baby who is then abandoned outside a YMCA.
This beautifully written story tells us about Shannon's childhood and adolescence through her own eyes. Alongside this we learn about her natural parents, what happened and why.
After two unsuitable, and in one case abusive, foster placements and a spell in a children's home Shannon is eventually adopted into a loving but materially poor home. She is always restless and unsettled, though, and naturally curious about her origins.
I enjoyed this book very much, finding the events realistic and believable, particularly the conclusion. The descriptions, including mundane cityscapes and the Vancouver Island rainforest provided the narrative with satisfying context. I will definitely read subsequent books by Marjorie Celona.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: Y (Hardcover)
Y is the story of Shannon, a girl in search of her own identity. The book is written from the point of view of the protagonist herself and while we follow her story we also learn about the story of her own mother.
The title is not a coincidence. We learn about the "whys": why we need to know who we are and why, in certain circumstances, a mother would arrive at the decision to abandon her own child.
The book is beautifully written, the characters and the whole story feel very real and there is no judgement or condemnation when talking about sensitive issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story!, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book it is a sad story well told with empathy and compassion. I wiil read it again and again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual and interesting idea, but a little slow, 11 July 2013
By 
Malfi (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Y (Hardcover)
Y kept me mildly interested until the end of the book. It was a nice construct, with the stories of the two women growing towards each other, enough to keep the reader's interest alive. The characters felt very real and there was a sense of redemption throughout which was touching. This being said, the book was slow and in my opinion it could have been shorter without losing anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving story well told, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y (Kindle Edition)
Insightful book on the trials and tribulations of a young girl growing up in care. Sad bits, funny bits but very moving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Y (Hardcover)
Shannon's life begins at the Y. Abandoned when only hours old she spends her early years in one unsuitable foster home after another, the victim of abuse and unloved. Finally, she finds a home with Miranda and her daughter, and although she is offered stability and a place in a family, Shannon can never settle.

Shannon has so many questions, and they all start with Y. Why was she abandoned on the steps of the YMCA? Why did her Mother do that? And another question; Who are her family?

At the age of sixteen, Shannon decides it is time to find some answers. With the answers, she discovers the truly sad and desperate story of her parents.

Y is very unusually written and follows two narratives, the first being Shannon's own story from her conception through to young Adulthood. The other narrative follows the few days before Shannon's birth, concentrating on her mother Yula (another Y) and the terrible events that lead up to the birth. The first-person narrative of Shannon is often complex and a little difficult to follow, it's quite hard to believe that these are the thoughts of a new-born baby, a toddler, a child and then a young adult.

Don't expect a heart-warming or uplifting story. Y is bleak, very bleak. Shannon is the stereotypical mis-fit child who finds it difficult to interact with anyone of her own age. The brief glimpses of sunshine come only when she meets Vaughn much later in her life. Shannon experiences the very darkest underbelly of society, she feels no self-worth and allows herself to stay a victim for most of her life.

There is no doubt that Majorie Celona is a very talented writer and has created some very strong characters and a very unusual and quite different plot. However, I did struggle to carry on reading in places, the bleakness and sorrow throughout the story impacted on my overall enjoyment of the novel.

Y was published by Faber in hardback on 17 January 2013 and has been chosen as one of the Waterstones Eleven books for 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping book, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y (Kindle Edition)
I found the book very exciting could not put it down. The ending was very surprising and I did not expect it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Y by Marjorie Celona, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y (Kindle Edition)
It will tug at your heart at times as you go on the journey with the young girl, looking for the answer.... Y.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My book of the year 2013!, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. D. Jones "dmj" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y (Kindle Edition)
I found this on the Oprah Winfrey book club list and was enthralled from page 1!
I love the narration which covers the lives of the 2 main characters up to a point and then from that point on.
The story narrates the life of a baby girl left on the steps of a YMCA. The girl tells the reader of her mothers story up to the point of abandoning her, and it simultaneously tells the story of her life.

Beautifully written. Captivating. I haven't read a story like it before and would 100% recommend everyone reads it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE DEBUT - I LOVE THIS BOOK, 29 July 2013
This review is from: Y (Kindle Edition)
Could not put this one down!
Talk about cry your eyes out!
These characters will stay with you - who doesn't need a Vaughn in their lives?
HIGHLY recommend this one, and can't wait for Celona's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Y
Y by Marjorie Celona (Hardcover - 3 Jan 2013)
9.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews