Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Butterfly Effect
Barbara Kingsolver writes beautiful measured novels and Flight Behaviour is no exception. Though slow out of the blocks, Kingsolver gradually binds its threads together to form an utterly compelling whole.

Dellarobia Turnbow steps out from her back door intent on wrecking her marriage. For ten years she has lived a humdrum existence on her husband's family...
Published 19 months ago by Quicksilver

versus
32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Requiring Perseverance.
I have read every novel and all the anthologies of shorter work by Barbara Kingsolver but I couldn't get into this one.
There are the usual patches of vivid description and good insight into character and motivation. There are long extended metaphors of natural processes and evolutionary forces with their unforeseen consequences that are apt and well chosen; but all...
Published 13 months ago by D. Cottam


‹ Previous | 121 22 2327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Flight Behaviour, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Behaviour (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written, this novel has many levels of meaning. Ostensibly about the lives and migratory patterns of the Monarch butterfly it also delves into the lives and relationships of small town America. The drudgery of one such family and how their lives are affected by the arrival of a group of scientists studying these butterflies. Kingsolver is a wonderful writer - the reader is carried along by her prose. Her characters become real and engaging - an engrossing read. Barbara Kingsolver's Flight Behaviour is a thought provoking and satisfying novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars When will it end?, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Norman Housley (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Behaviour (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully written novel and the subject could hardly be more important but my goodness it does go on. By two thirds of the way through I had lost interest - the characters and setting are simply not gripping enough to hold your attention for over 400 pages. It would have made a good 300 page novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars S, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Behaviour (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful book. The author knows when to go into detail and when to hold back.I had to ration my reading as I didn't want the book to end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A different type of story, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Behaviour (Kindle Edition)
Poisonwood Bible is one of my all time favourite books.

But if you are expecting something similar from this book, I am afraid you will be disappointed. Instead of a tumultuous period in the midst of the Belgian Congo; this novel is set in small town America and has a much slower pace and a heroin that is far simpler in her outlook to life.

It is still well-written, but I found the topic of this story to be less interesting to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars beautifully written but too long, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Behaviour (Kindle Edition)
Barbara Kingsolver conveys the small world of her heroine brilliantly. And yet the themes of the book are wide-ranging- global warming, religion, poverty, ignorance. She packs too much in. The book is at its best when it concentrates on the characters. It would be better shorter and tighter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ecology and quality, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Behaviour (Kindle Edition)
A great read, a seriously good novel and the major issue of the age addressed obliquely annd poetically without didactic overkill-recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and relevant, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Behaviour (Kindle Edition)
This superb writer is, once again, able to weave an absorbing narrative with a thought-provoking subject. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and its topics both personal relationships and environmental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The effects of climate change, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Behaviour (Kindle Edition)
I initially had problems with the pace of this book. If you enjoy rapid action this is not the book for you. That said, once you adjust to the rhythm of the book you find immaculately drawn characters and wonderful descriptions of the poorer side of the States. It is a tale of unfulfilled lives and family strife against a background of an epic ecological change. Expect to learn a tremendous amount about the state of our planet and how it can affect individuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious Kingsolver, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Behaviour (Kindle Edition)
Another wonderful novel by Barbara Kingsolver: the prose is richly descriptive, the themes are many and varied, the whole is absorbing and thought provoking. Marvellous, in my view she never disappoints but goes from strength to strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars memorable, insightful, and thought-provoking, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Behaviour (Hardcover)
Monarch butterflies overwinter in southern Appalachia rather than Mexico. Their arrival enables Dellarobia to work through her life problems - she has married young following an unplanned pregnancy which has ended in miscarriage, and now has a husband to whom she is not perfectly well matched and two small children. And as the novel works its way onward we learn more about Dellarobia's in-laws and the community of which she is apart - and about the climate change that has driven the change in the behaviour of the butterflies.

This was very impressive and a very unusual and memorable one: thought-provoking about deep issues on climate change (why some people believe in it and some don't), insightful about what makes people tick (in a community that will be totally alien to most readers but which is brought vividly alive), and about human tragedy (in small doses), ordinary human unhappiness (in larger measure), and the positive things in life - the ways in which Dellarobia does value her in-laws (to a degree), her husband (whose take on life is also very vividly given to us) and her children - and the natural world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flight Behaviour
Flight Behaviour by Barbara Kingsolver (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2012)
18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews