Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Troubling In Both Good And Bad Ways
Harriet Sergeant ought to be someone I'm opposed to all down the political line. A journalist for right-wing newspaper "The Daily Mail" and member of Conservative Think Tank "The Centre For Policy Studies" and yet she has produced a book about Britain's underclass youth that shows a real sensitivity, empathy and willingness to engage with people she ordinarily would never...
Published 20 months ago by Genome

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No truth here
If you have always wondered what gang life was like in black south London, then don't bother to read this as you will get a very false impression. The whole hypothesis that a white, slightly glammed up, middle class female could get close to black gang members is basically a non starter. As a field social worker and manager working in two separate inner London boroughs...
Published 17 months ago by Peter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a powerful and insightful book, 16 July 2012
This review is from: Among the Hoods: My Years with a Teenage Gang (Hardcover)
this book is one of the most powerful and familiar important i have read in a long time. if you want an insightful moving explaination for the London riots then look no further. sergeant weaves a compelling story of tragic inevitability with a series of fascinating characters, who are as varied as they are engaging, against a backdrop of a backdrop a London which is both foreign and familiar. everyone should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN INTERESTING STUDY, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Among the Hoods: My Years with a Teenage Gang (Hardcover)
I LIUE IN VICTORIA SW1.I RECENTLY WITNESSED A BLACK GANG OF BOYS IN SCHOOL UNIFORM ATTACK AND KICK A YOUNGER WHITE BOY FRM SAME SCHOOL IN BROAD DAYLIGHT AT 15.45 OUTSIDE RBS VIC ST.NOONE HELPED THE BOY OR ASH HOW HE WAS APART FRM ME.THESE BLK BOYS GO TO A GD SCHOOL IN THE AREA SO ENVIROMENT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH GANG MENTALITY IN MY OPINION THEY SHOULD BE ALLOCATED PLACES IN SCHOOLS WHERE THEY WOULD BE MORE COMPATIBLE TO A SUITABLE AREA RESIDENTS DO NOT WANT THIS TYPE OF ACTIVITY IN A RESPECTABLE AREA IN CENTRAL LONDON.I INFORMED THE POLICE AND LUCKILY THESE ARE MANY CCTV CAMERAS IN THE AREA.I THINK MAYBE THE AUTHOR OF THIS BK NEEDS A SERIOUS REALITY CHK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspect motives, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book though I'm not sure it deal sufficiently well with the psychology and issues related to a middle aged woman deliberately experiencing the frisson she undoubtedly felt with mixing with these young men- and yes I would be seriously miffed were I one of her children. I'm not really convinced by her motives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Quentin C. Livingston (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent book

This is a very easy read so I wont labour the many points that she so clearly makes.

An earlier reviewer suggests a few copies around around Westminster...I suggest that there should be a copy in every MP's in tray..and across Whitehall and every job centre employee and so on: Read it and you will see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Among the Hoods Give children time and love, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good insight into the life of the lost boys. Boys and girls with no moral loving caring background . They have been lost by the time they are 5 along with their poor mothers and fathers . I think to cast blame on teachers in schools is wrong as they are struggling against all odds. The parents need help as soon as a child is born. They are often young and want to be loved by someone. The benefit system has not helped it has made it easy for people to think they will be looked after. People can be poor but still give children a stable loving background if they know how to do it . If a child is given love, language skills is played with, read to at a very early age they are set for life. Look to young mothers help them not with money with support and love and time to sort this huge problem out. I think the book was wonderful in that it brings the problem to light but no solutions were reached even though she gave the time and caring. Harriet compares her own son who has had the love and support from the beginning to the boys, there in lies the answer. If time was given to all children at the beginning of their lives a lot more children would be able to read and go on to bring children up themselves in a caring environment .If a person is subjected to abuse and horror all their lives how can they know how to behave? Thank you Harriet for providing a great thought provoking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an infuriating read, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A coruscating review of lives of inner city youth and the state's employees facile and self-serving efforts to do good by them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the gang culture in Britain and the system that keeps them there., 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an eye opener to the system that produces gang culture and acts as a jailer within that system. It confirms what is obvious anyway that the 'powers that be' don't give a dam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Realky gripping start, 8 Oct 2012
Having only received a sample of this book i cannit submit a full review. However the first chapter or so gave a fascinatjng insight into a culture we claimto know - but clearly do not.
Certainly I woukd like to read further, but feel the price prohibits me.
Reduce the price and I would snap it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good internal view, 23 Sep 2012
I really enjoyed reading this book, it was well written and the writer had taken personal risks to find the true story, and was ready to change her opinions, and this way also her readers' opinions on the boys in the hoods. It didn't make me less afraid of the boys, but certainly made me wish they would have had more real support when they grew up, and real opportunities for change now that they are adults.

This book made me think Britain from a different angle, I hadn't realized this kind of extreme hopelessness can exist in this civilized country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating account of the effects of poverty, 15 Sep 2012
By 
P. BENSON (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Among the Hoods: My Years with a Teenage Gang (Hardcover)
This book should be required reading for all politicians, and for anyone concerned about the state of British society today. It does not offer solutions, but gives a clear picture of what life is like for the so-called 'underclass', the difficulties they face, and why a life of crime can seem to be their only plausible means of survival. It is a tragic tale of wasted lives, and it is happening in all our large cities today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Among the Hoods: My Years with a Teenage Gang
Among the Hoods: My Years with a Teenage Gang by Harriet Sergeant (Hardcover - 3 July 2012)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews