Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cap'n Jim to the Rescue
Jim Stringer has been sent off to India to investigate possible corruption there in the early 1920s. His investigations get rather side-tracked; first by the East Indian Railway being targetted by persons unknown putting snakes into first class compartments and second by having his wife and daughter tagging along with him.

The book focuses more on the snakes...
Published 2 months ago by Peter Kazmierczak

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A viaduct too far?
I have always enjoyed the writing of Andrew Martin, ever since the excellent The Necropolis Railway. However, this seems like a book too far and it has been quite a slog to finish this latest account of Jim Stringer's rise as a railway detective.
Thinking about his previous novels the format is very similar here. A large cast of suspects and a range of investigations...
Published 14 days ago by Richard Latham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cap'n Jim to the Rescue, 3 Aug 2014
Jim Stringer has been sent off to India to investigate possible corruption there in the early 1920s. His investigations get rather side-tracked; first by the East Indian Railway being targetted by persons unknown putting snakes into first class compartments and second by having his wife and daughter tagging along with him.

The book focuses more on the snakes and his daughter's relationship with one of the locals. The corruption aspect gets rather shunted into a siding which is a pity.

Some of the writing is really quite beautiful, if you like Mr Martin's rather quirky style. Unfortunately there are quite a number of typo errors, which spoils things at times.

Better than the authors last offering, but I hope Captain Stringer returns to blighty soon so we can have more adventures closer to home on the London & North Eastern Railway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A viaduct too far?, 6 Oct 2014
By 
Richard Latham (Burton on Trent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always enjoyed the writing of Andrew Martin, ever since the excellent The Necropolis Railway. However, this seems like a book too far and it has been quite a slog to finish this latest account of Jim Stringer's rise as a railway detective.
Thinking about his previous novels the format is very similar here. A large cast of suspects and a range of investigations to get to the bottom of, crimes, a murder to solve. The locations change and there is always a railway connection. Here we are in post war India in 1923 with the politics and relationships being carefully drawn out and adding depth to the story.
Unfortunately not much happens, there is little tension or jeopardy and at times it was a struggle to read the narrative in this early chapters. Too much repetition and social situations. Stringer is a lone worker and the case is seen solely through his eyes and interviews with others. But it remains confusing as the reader does not know what information is key or just flavouring the scene. He never really has anyone to talk through his ideas or review his thinking which would help a reader make better sense otf things.
His wife Lydia has always been an interesting character; some development of her relationships and thinking is made in this novel. Indeed at times I would rather have stayed with her story than continue on her husband's investgative journey. Overall I have enjoyed these books and feel Martin is a clever writer but like one of the trains wonder if this series has run out of steam?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the plot, 22 July 2014
Enjoyed the plot, the scenes were well set up and characters OK. Typos and some quirky style, sun "raying" a couple of times puzzled me - is this Yorkshire dialect of some sort or just bad editing?
What really puzzled/jarred was the suggestion that the only beer drunk in the Raj was Becks. Really? German/American beer all over India in the 1920s? Or just particularly naf product placement? Quite happy to be corrected mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe it's me. but...well..., 2 Oct 2014
By 
Robin "Rob37n" (Hull, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the book, but...well, my reading of it was interrupted by a very serious illness, and maybe my concentration wasn't brilliant when was able to pick it up, well pick up my Kindle, to finish off the book, but I felt the author was reaching somewhat for the ending and for the story in general. I really like this series of books, I've enjoyed them enormously over the last few years, but I do wonder if a break from this series might not be a bad idea for Mr Martin and to come back refreshed after maybe writing about other characters for a while. I would still wholeheartedly recommend this book and all the others, to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Andrew Martin is a very very talented writer and I've read and re-read the Jim Stringer series with great pleasure, Maybe its because the previous books were so great, that this one feels a bit disappointing. I found it a bit one paced lacking tension and a bit of a confused ending. Still a good read overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Snakes On A Train, 12 July 2014
I haven't read any of the previous Jim Stringer books but I found this a perfectly readable if uninspiring novel. The plot is a little slow burning - it never really catches fire - but the characters are solidly constructed and the premise - snakes on a train - is certainly a good one. The lead character is likeably grumpy and his interactions with his family (and particularly his daughter) are the highlight of the book. The author is clearly a great train enthusiast but he doesn't let his enthusiasm and attention to detail derail the story. The prose style is straightforward, though I did trip up over the occasional sentence, where the reaction to an event is described before the event itself. Apart from that and an infuriating number of typos (something for the publishers to sort out!) a modestly satisfying book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
High on detail very low on story and characterisation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ..and another thing......., 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well researched book... you can almost feel the heat...and the fear of travelling on trains with snakes...reptiles and people!
But Jim Stringer knows how to cope......even with his own fears and family concerns....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fair read, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a few Jim stringer books now and they are all fine reads, nothing too special, but entertaining reads. Try one you might be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jim Stronger in India, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all Andrew Martin's Jim Stringer novels this, although being an excellent read it is not up to par with other titles in the series. A bit of a convoluted plot I'm afraid and will not encourage new readers to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Train to Jamalpur (Jim Stringer)
Night Train to Jamalpur (Jim Stringer) by Andrew Martin (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews