Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection
A refreshing new take on poetry that makes me see the world with new eyes . A bright new start for this poet :)
Published 8 months ago by Justine Knight

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive style
Too many poems the same. Breakthrough style but repetitive. If you had just read one marvellous. But a book, no..
Published 17 months ago by poetseye


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive style, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Boy (Paperback)
Too many poems the same. Breakthrough style but repetitive. If you had just read one marvellous. But a book, no..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Boy (Paperback)
A refreshing new take on poetry that makes me see the world with new eyes . A bright new start for this poet :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars '..strange, disowned moments/standing about..', 4 May 2013
This review is from: Dear Boy (Paperback)
This is not quite a book. On the other hand it is the rare first edition with the line in The Old Fuel (nice title, if attached to the wrong poem) where Berry hasn't quite made up her mind between 'prefer to' and 'rather'. These feel like exercises - the question poem, anyone? I'm still looking for one convincing line. I guess I'll settle for 'My crisis is relatively universal'. Faber can pen a mean blurb, though. From 'deft' to 'arch', I'd sure like to get my hands on that book! File under jokey, with promise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emily Berry has absorbed good ideas from the creative world whirling around her, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Dear Boy (Paperback)
Emily Berry has absorbed good ideas from the creative world whirling around her. The collection opens well and continues to grow and develop, displaying a panache for the inventive: crisps, burnt toast and swimming pools. The accessibility of the poetry produces an effect akin to Frank O'Hara's almost effortless', 'I did this I did that' and is a skill she share another Faber graduate, Sam Reviere. The strongest moments come when she is at her most vulnerable, lost, presumably to the loneliness of long distance. Dear Boy a strong first collection from a talented young British writer. Highly recommended,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'my heart, that junkie', 4 May 2013
This review is from: Dear Boy (Paperback)
These feel unfelt. Quirky, winsome even, but even the S&M is a little underpowered. Warning: contains ventriloquy (Love Bird; Shriek). 'I have been various.' Really! (Roethke? Dowson??) A couple of apparent found poems lack sources. A made-up found poem - now that would be something. 3.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dear Boy
Dear Boy by Emily Berry (Paperback - 7 Mar 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews