Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for pulp/jarvis fans
great item for both hardcore and more casual fans.Contains notes to the songs (ranging from a couple of lines to a few paragraphs)explaining the lyrical references in songs most of which i found quite amusing,plus an interesting essay on lyric writing as an intro.the songs included are taken mainly from the 90s era.overall really enjoyed it.
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by n_b

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ?
If you have the albums of Pulp, then I would not be sure if this would help. I bought expecting some new works, and while there are some very funny lyrics here, it is a little disappointing as a collection.
Published 18 months ago by Zachary


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for pulp/jarvis fans, 13 Nov 2011
great item for both hardcore and more casual fans.Contains notes to the songs (ranging from a couple of lines to a few paragraphs)explaining the lyrical references in songs most of which i found quite amusing,plus an interesting essay on lyric writing as an intro.the songs included are taken mainly from the 90s era.overall really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top notch, 26 Dec 2011
Excellent book, enjoyed Cocker/pulp for years. A must for any fan. Only wish it had chords so I could strum along :-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, just like its author, 18 Nov 2011
A must have for any Pulp or Jarvis fan but also of interest to lovers of modern poetry. Jarvis Cocker is amazing with words and it's fantastic to actually have them written down.
Love it.
Buy it - you won't be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jarvis Cocker is a lyricist who keeps your head in the clouds and your feet on the ground all at the same time, while laughing, crying and feeling understood, or is that misunderstood, it's doesn't matter when you're in Jarvis Cocker's head. A must buy if you're a fan or not, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful book, full of the poems and lyrics of Jarvis Cocker. This is a good quality hardback book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mother, Brother, Lover: Selected Lyrics (Paperback)
Arrived really quickly and in excellent condition. Very reasonably priced. Bought as a present for a friend which I know she'll love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jarvis Cocker - Mother, Brother, Lover | Review, 29 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Mother, Brother, Lover: Selected Lyrics (Paperback)
If I classified this as poetry, it's because it is - lyrics and poetry already have an intertwining relationship, except for with artists like, say, Rihanna. This book was published by Faber & Faber, a publisher that was known for its love of poetry and was even edited, at one stage, by T. S. Eliot.

As strange as it sounds, though, Pulp's lyrics really do read like poetry, and if you didn't recognise the songs then you could easily believe it. It's strange, but I was never a massive fan of Pulp - sure, I liked the odd song, but so did everybody. I can't help feeling that I prefer the poetry to the music.

Overall, well worth a read for any music aficionado, especially if you were in to music during the golden days of britpop. Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the strange mind of Mr. Jarvis Cocker. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ?, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Zachary "Zachary" (Maidstone, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mother, Brother, Lover: Selected Lyrics (Paperback)
If you have the albums of Pulp, then I would not be sure if this would help. I bought expecting some new works, and while there are some very funny lyrics here, it is a little disappointing as a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great love it!, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth a read. This book gives a good insight into Jarvis psyche and some of the meanings behind the words in the lyrics. Very enlightening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arty lyrics ..., 12 Dec 2012
By 
Rui Filipe Goncalves (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mother, Brother, Lover: Selected Lyrics (Paperback)
Jarvis Cocker Lyrics are Art ... it's great to read it without any sound playing ... just in your head ... the value is in the words ...
i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mother, Brother, Lover: Selected Lyrics
Mother, Brother, Lover: Selected Lyrics by Jarvis Cocker (Paperback - 4 Oct 2012)
5.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews