Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this filth!
Mary Whitehouse loomed large over my childhood by forever, it seemed, trying to ban my favourite show - Doctor Who. As I sat there blissfully unaware of the detrimental effect of viewing "obscene vegetable matter" or a particular freeze frame of Tom Baker drowning, Mary Whitehouse was on the case. She bombarded anyone who would listen (and many who would not) with...
Published 8 months ago by David Edward Lawrence

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK read
I found this quite a difficult book to 'get into' but otherwise it provides an insight into how Mary Whitehouse and her organisation came to prominence, and the concerns they raised about TV content. It also reflects how society changed from the 1960s to the 1980s and beyond regarding TV programme content.
Published 6 months ago by traveller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this filth!, 27 Nov 2013
By 
David Edward Lawrence (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mary Whitehouse loomed large over my childhood by forever, it seemed, trying to ban my favourite show - Doctor Who. As I sat there blissfully unaware of the detrimental effect of viewing "obscene vegetable matter" or a particular freeze frame of Tom Baker drowning, Mary Whitehouse was on the case. She bombarded anyone who would listen (and many who would not) with letters of complaint. This book collects some of the most amusing and although she often condemns herself in print (particularly in her early days of activism when she could be viewed as both racist and homophobic) this book is not a hatchet job. Some of her criticisms carry a greater weight today - in particular there is a piece early on about Gary Glitter lyrics which, in retrospect....well, you get the picture. I would highly recommend this book as an amusing, eye-opening read about cultural history and a window into a world of everyday activism which, at once, seems almost impossibly distant in time but very relevant to today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ban This Filth, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ban This Filth!: Letters From the Mary Whitehouse Archive (Hardcover)
Fantastic purchase, and a facinating insight into British social and moral history. Bought a second copy as a birthday gift for a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outraged!, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. R. G. Sedgwick "Rosie" (Chester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly entertaining read for those who lived through Mrs Whitehouse's era of letterwriting...possibly an insight into a lost world for the email-only generation. A tad wordy in its style (the writer loves his complex sentences...) but a thorough and sometimes biting overview of an uptight, Daily Mail-reading woman who was already thirty years too late by the time she wrote her first letter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ban This Filth!: Letters From the Mary Whitehouse Archive (Hardcover)
If you know about Mary Whitehouse in todays society it`s hard not to see where she was coming from. Back in the 60`s/70s though she came across as a bit of a crackpot. Something`s have come alarmingly true and others not so much. Despite this, the book is a fascinating look into one of Televisions fiercest critics and is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don;t Throw out the Baby with the Bathwater, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Eugene Onegin (Lincoln England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
In days of yore appearances by Mary Whitehouse on television complaining about this, that and the other (mostly the other) tended to be occasions for mirth and lampooning, but reading this splendid selection of her correspondence I found myself re-evaluating her legacy. This was, I suspect, the aim of this book which features chapters on most of her activities with themed chapters on her dealings with the BBC, the Porn Industry, the Film censor and so on. The volume is an eye-opener in more ways than one-it very clearly demonstrates that Whitehouse was a shrewd manipulator of the media and very happy to be in the limelight notwithstanding her ordinary housewife persona. Secondly it was disturbing to learn more about her backers in the NVLA and Festival of Light who had an agenda which went far beyond cleaning up the media being as they were far more interested in pushing an evangelical Christian message alongside right-wing politics. It is not surprising therefore to report that her views on homosexuality for example are repellent and woefully ill-informed. One can dismiss many of her objections to programmes as easily, but not all. Whitehouse for me had one grasped one essential truth -that the media is so crucial to our lives and our understanding of the world that we need to analyse it with great care and to be aware of the impact it can have on many levels. Hence I found myself in full agreement with her on the way in which pornography objectifies women and the way TV News programmes have become trivialised by their tabloid style items. In the Internet age this book is well worth anyone’s time and money-there is much food for thought here despite Ben Thompson’s sixth form humour which mars his otherwise useful commentary. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cultural history at its enjoyable best, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ban This Filth!: Letters From the Mary Whitehouse Archive (Hardcover)
Like a lot of people who grew up in the 1970s, I have always felt that Mary Whitehouse was a prudish, fun-hating bigot on the wrong side of just about every issue she got involved with. I can't say this book changed my mind about her, but I was left with respect for the fact she stood up for what she believed in, and never gave up her point. She comes out of the book as a more complex character than one might have thought, but hardly more likeable (although some of her antagonists were supercilious and patronising to the extent that there were a couple of instances in the book where I felt myself cheering Mary on). The irony is that while Mrs Whitehouse was getting aerated about what was being broadcast, we now know that far worse was going on behind the scenes of British light entertainment, and probably had been for some time.

Anyway, this is a highly entertaining read which tells you a lot about the state of British culture in the 70s and 80s, about the British right of the same period - and about just how ghastly some of the bien pensant cultural panjundrums of the era could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An OK read, 6 Jan 2014
By 
traveller (stirling, scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this quite a difficult book to 'get into' but otherwise it provides an insight into how Mary Whitehouse and her organisation came to prominence, and the concerns they raised about TV content. It also reflects how society changed from the 1960s to the 1980s and beyond regarding TV programme content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting collection of correspondence., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Certainly provides insight into the changes in what's viewed as 'acceptable' in popular culture over the last couple of generations. Finished the book with a feeling we have become more tolerant in many ways (for the better) but much more 'moralistic' since the end of the 20th Century with regard to aspects of ethics that were of no concern to the subject.

She really was an interesting character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ban This Filth!: Letters From the Mary Whitehouse Archive (Hardcover)
This was a present for my husband, he loves it. The company I bought it from were quick and efficient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun and thought provoking, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you lived through the times of Mary Whitehouse this gives much background insight into how she operated.What I found particularly annoying in reading about her was the way she took up a complaint based purely on third hand
knowledge. An easy read that revealed much about this zealous, odd character who was able to gain so much publicity for the views of so few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ban This Filth!: Letters From the Mary Whitehouse Archive
Ban This Filth!: Letters From the Mary Whitehouse Archive by Ben Thompson (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2012)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews