Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to flawed humanity
Wendy Cope's poems have an instant appeal: they speak of what it is to be human, and flawed. The first poem of this collection, "A Christmas Song" speaks of "all the men and women whose love affairs went wrong", "separated parents whose turn it is to grieve while children hang their stockings up elsewhere on Christmas Eve". But Wendy Cope isn't sentimental, she faces...
Published on 28 Sept. 2011 by David Franks

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and childish
This book reads like a collection of poetry by a primary school class; remember to follow Poetry Writing 101 - repeat a line or two, be make sure that every pair ends in rhyme, if your syllables don't match up then stick in an unnecessary adjective to make the line fit the flow etc.

2 stars in case it turns out she's just 12 ;)
Otherwise you may as well...
Published on 7 Mar. 2013 by Chief Wansum Tail


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The latest..published 2011, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Paperback)
Although her range used to be limited, Wendy Cope's work now shows a 'nail on the head' maturity which allows her work to be touching in important ways as well as her acclaimed wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another brilliant volume., 15 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
Her poems are so resonant, lacking in pomposity and accessible without being overtly sentimental. More than that, several of them have me laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 24 April 2014
This review is from: Family Values (Kindle Edition)
The collection brilliantly captures both the ordinary and the sublime to take you on a journey filled with laughter and tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
A little gem of a book, nice to handle and good to read. Worth buying and will look forward to reading some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very quick delivery and it good condition. I need to get all the books ..., 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Paperback)
Very quick delivery and it good condition. I need to get all the books on time so that I can wrap them up for Christmas in my own personal way. The gift packs are great but I like to write in the front of the books for my children. So all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deceptively simple, 4 April 2013
By 
Isabel Lunn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Paperback)
A great anthology by Wendy Cope showing her skill as a poet. Her deceptively simple poems are beautifully structured showing her wry sense of humour. I particularly liked the poems "Special Needs" and "The Funeral"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and very clever, 19 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
I don't feel qualified to review poetry. Suffice to say that this is a hugely enjoyable collection, some of the poems revealing childhood sadnesses, others fears of ageing and death (the latter very reminiscent of Larkin). Love the dry wit of A Villanelle for Hugo Williams and the poems commissioned by the Endelllion String Quartet; the widow's poem is very moving, reminds me so much of an elderly friend who now visits concert halls alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light with Depth, 2 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
Technically, Wendy Cope convinces doubters that blank verse really can be called poetry.
But we do not read her for her technique. We read her for a unique blend of lightness of touch, extending often to humour, with depth of feeling. Wendy Cope tackles birth, death and all human relations in between with profundity expressed in free-flowing verse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still coping, 1 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
Her output is modest, her tone unmistakable. To know her is to love her - but start with the earlier volumes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 28 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
It's not Robert Lowell's "Life Studies" but this collection feature many poems dealing with Wendy Cope's early life and family. Also some lighter verse, particularly sequences written for the Endellion String Quartet about a concert of classical music, and some poems about the BBC commissioned by Radio 4. No parodies this time out.

The accustomed virtues all present and correct then - and a very enjoyable reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family Values
Family Values by Wendy Cope (Paperback - 19 Jan. 2012)
£8.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews