Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to flawed humanity
Wendy Cope's poems have an instant appeal: they speak of what it is to be human, and flawed. The first poem of this collection, "A Christmas Song" speaks of "all the men and women whose love affairs went wrong", "separated parents whose turn it is to grieve while children hang their stockings up elsewhere on Christmas Eve". But Wendy Cope isn't sentimental, she faces...
Published on 28 Sep 2011 by David Franks

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and childish
This book reads like a collection of poetry by a primary school class; remember to follow Poetry Writing 101 - repeat a line or two, be make sure that every pair ends in rhyme, if your syllables don't match up then stick in an unnecessary adjective to make the line fit the flow etc.

2 stars in case it turns out she's just 12 ;)
Otherwise you may as well...
Published 16 months ago by Chief Wansum Tail


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to flawed humanity, 28 Sep 2011
By 
David Franks (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
Wendy Cope's poems have an instant appeal: they speak of what it is to be human, and flawed. The first poem of this collection, "A Christmas Song" speaks of "all the men and women whose love affairs went wrong", "separated parents whose turn it is to grieve while children hang their stockings up elsewhere on Christmas Eve". But Wendy Cope isn't sentimental, she faces these imperfections, and finds humanity. There is a wry humour about her poems that promotes a robust attitude to life. This is a marvellous collection, she doesn't put a foot wrong.

Other reviewers have spoken of their favourite poems in this collection. Mine is "An Anniversary Poem", on the tenth anniversary of the ordination of women as priests in the Church of England, which brings out the exasperated affection that so many of us feel for that flawed institution. "The C of E is treating us as equals. Just about" she writes. And "Some men behave atrociously, but most are not too bad." Many men, ashamed of the way women have been treated, and vowing to do better themselves, will be grateful for that. But reading Wendy Cope, we know better than to become complacent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Values - Wendy Cope, 23 Aug 2011
By 
J. Alexander (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
There are no duds in this collection. Each poem catches the perception and mood of the moment with startling clarity - moments of wry reflection, new-born understanding, breath-catching desire or occasional elegiac tracing of the past. These poems are often very funny, sometimes sad - always clear, detached, intensely recognisable: no self-pity here. Wendy Cope's poems seem to me to articulate the hopes, regrets and confusions of my own immediately-postwar generation: at school imbibing the cadences of the Anglican liturgy and its comfortable if puzzling conventions, before being tumbled out warily into the slackening norms of society in the 60's and exploring till we were merged in the unselfconscious mainstream of our age. This collection must be Wendy Cope's best so far. I think it's terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry for today, 6 Aug 2011
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
Fantastic book.perceptive,funny and concise. Wendy Cope has an amazing ability to write poetry around life experiences common to many in 2011. The onl sadness is the long gaps between her poetry books!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 24 April 2014
This review is from: Family Values (Kindle Edition)
The collection brilliantly captures both the ordinary and the sublime to take you on a journey filled with laughter and tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
A little gem of a book, nice to handle and good to read. Worth buying and will look forward to reading some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely collection, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Paperback)
I went to see Wendy Cope read her poetry recently which was a great experience. When I got home I just felt the need to get her book as soon as possible so I could look again at what she had written, and discovered several new poems to enjoy. She just manages to pinpoint those memorable moments of life with such great precision, in so few words, in the way she records experiences we may have had, or may not have had, with such insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most empathetic poet, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Paperback)
Wendy Cope never fails to connect with me directly. Such a considered choice of all the words we have; hers are exact, and always hit home. If only I could see the vagaries of life with her wisdom and compassion; so I know I can depend on Wendy for both of those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 17 Nov 2012
By 
P. G. Harris - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
This is a delightful, easily accessible little collection of poems. It is a slim volume which could easily be read in one sitting, but one which I will wish to dip into repeatedly. The poems are frequently humorous, often made me smile or even snort with laughter, but also often carry quite a weighty emotional heft.

The selection starts with a set of Christmas poems, including a reminder of the true meaning of Christmas, a poem which will touch anyone who has collected Christmas ornaments with a partner,and apiece which will delight all who are pedants about Christmas hymns.

After this gentle start, the tone darkens as Cope describes her childhood, boarding school and sulphourous relationship with her mother. There is some really bitter stuff here, but also some moving recollections of friendships.

Through the rest of the Cope offers reactions to 9-11, thoughts on later life and death, holidays, service stations and a quite brilliant Haiku about white wine.

The collection ends with two commissions, one written for, and read with, a string quartet, the other written for BBC Radio. The former contains a lovely pair of poems giving the different views of two people trying to impress each other on a date at a classical concert. The latter gives a tribute to the Archers, to late night announcers and to, of all things, Radio 5's 6-0-6.

Family values is at heart very British, very middle class, and very middle aged, but that is no bad thing. Cope is a great observer and brings warmth, humour and humanity as the velvet cover for some pretty sharp commentary.

Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book to dip into., 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
The poems in this book come under a few categories, childhood including a school, concert-goers, and the BBC. Wendy Cope does very clever things with different verse forms, but creates beautifully accessible poems, with her characteristically dry point of view. Highlights include 'Boarders' which includes the lines: "Because some older girls decided/ That I used too many long words./ I soon learned not to./ Look at how I write." The poems about concert goers includes the instantly recognisable 'Cougher'. As one of those people who always have radio 4 going in the background I enjoyed the poems selected from the ABC of the BBC commission, with 'Closedown' evoking a vivid image of the last announcer turning out the lights in the empty building.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another brilliant volume., 15 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Values (Hardcover)
Her poems are so resonant, lacking in pomposity and accessible without being overtly sentimental. More than that, several of them have me laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family Values
Family Values by Wendy Cope (Paperback - 19 Jan 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews