Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start here ...
I have many poetry books, 50% classics, 50% anthologies.
The anthology "Short and Sweet: 101 Very Short Poems" is the best I have read in many a year and has revived my interest in poetry. With a brilliant introduction, the selection cuts straight to the heart of the essence of poetry. I read the anthology backwards (ie: from the shortest poem {no lines, just a...
Published on 12 July 2010 by Josh

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
A good idea, but fails to deliver. only one poem per page, although some are single lines, which means jt takes barely an hour to get through the book. but is is the selection that is the real disappointment. there are one or two poems translated into English, so why not include a few classic haikus - short poems par excellence? I would have expected one or two of Ogden...
Published 5 months ago by S. Graham David


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start here ..., 12 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have many poetry books, 50% classics, 50% anthologies.
The anthology "Short and Sweet: 101 Very Short Poems" is the best I have read in many a year and has revived my interest in poetry. With a brilliant introduction, the selection cuts straight to the heart of the essence of poetry. I read the anthology backwards (ie: from the shortest poem {no lines, just a title} to the longest {13 lines}) to test my attention span and also get a feel for my personal preference of an optimum length of a poem (the poems longer than 8-9 lines started to feel a bit 'padded out').
If you've never read any poetry, I recommend start here with "Short & Sweet" ... or if poetry has become mundane for you, then re-start with same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality varies, but worthwhile and convenient, 10 Nov 1999
By A Customer
Each poem in this book is less than 13 lines long, and the smallest has no lines at all but does have a fantastic title. As a compilation, the style and tone of the poems vary considerably but many are witty and pithy. Simon Armitage's introduction is worth the price of admission alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 6 Feb 2001
By A Customer
A collection of short poems. some are very short - 2 lines - others are longer - a whole verse. all are short and sweet. An excellent book for dipping into and worth owning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 26 Jan 2014
By 
S. Graham David (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short and Sweet: 101 Very Short Poems (Paperback)
A good idea, but fails to deliver. only one poem per page, although some are single lines, which means jt takes barely an hour to get through the book. but is is the selection that is the real disappointment. there are one or two poems translated into English, so why not include a few classic haikus - short poems par excellence? I would have expected one or two of Ogden Nash's witty squibs, one or two of Pound's haiku-like efforts (so much better than the interminable and indigestible cantos), the emperor Hadrian's epitaph (possibly the greatest epitaph ever, and certainly one of the most moving and goose-pimple inspiring short poems)...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not by Simon Armitage, 23 Dec 2013
By 
SallyG (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short and Sweet: 101 Very Short Poems (Paperback)
I should probably have looked more closely at the description but I bought htis book having searched on Simon Armitage. The poems are not by him, just edited by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still enjoying the book. I ration myself to read a poem or so at a time, so it will last ages., 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short and Sweet: 101 Very Short Poems (Paperback)
Still enjoying the book. I ration myself to read a poem or so at a time, so it will last ages and I will carry it with me on my travels.

I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present ..., 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short and Sweet: 101 Very Short Poems (Paperback)
Bought for the Mrs who thoroughly enjoyed it - brownie points there then now sadly very spent out - better find another prezzie eh?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Variety of poems, 30 Aug 2013
By 
B. C. Dobson (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short and Sweet: 101 Very Short Poems (Paperback)
An interesting variety of poems. As it says 'Short and Sweet' and yet not short on content and thought. An interesting book to keep and reflect on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short and Sweet: 101 Very Short Poems (Paperback)
Really interesting. Heard a discussion on the radio and had to read it for myself. The blank page is a really discussion piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great! Just what you need for a quick pick-me-up., 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great selection of poetry, some well know some more obscure. A little book that's worth it's weight in gold. There's things you'll read here that'll stay with you forever. Ian Hamilton Findlay's - Catch, stands out as one of the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Short and Sweet: 101 Very Short Poems
Short and Sweet: 101 Very Short Poems by Simon Armitage (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews