Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2012
This book tugs at my heart strings as Im a dog lover and I see so much of my 'guys' in her 'guys'. I carry it in my handbag and read snatches every now and then because I dont want to finish it (although I almost am). I feel like I will be letting go of good friends when I do finish. A beautiful read
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
Review: Memoir: Ordinary Dogs by Eileen Battersby (By Rosita Sweetman in the Independent)

Given that she is, according to John Banville, "the finest fiction critic we have", one might have expected that Eileen Battersby's first full-length book would be a high-minded literary novel. Instead it's non-fiction. Not only that, it's the story of her two dogs -- which makes it the perfect Christmas present for any dog lover.

It begins over 20 years ago in a cottage on the outskirts of Dublin. Battersby is a young PhD student from America who has moved here and reads books, digs gardens and sands floors for a living; she is also a dedicated runner, is in a not very fulfilling relationship with a boyfriend (unnamed), and is in search of a dog.

First she finds Bilbo, a tiny pup in a horrible pound. Next Frodo, "a squat character who should really have been wearing a bowler hat", finds her and just moves in. And so, her 20-year long adventure with "the guys" -- that is the subject of this book -- begins.

The pace is hectic. Bilbo almost dies of distemper. A crazy lady with a pack of dogs stalks the village green accusing Battersby of "mollycoddling" him. An abused dog from up the road is found dead in a ditch. An old lab leads her to the back of a shop where she discovers a bitch and six pups who are about to be sent to the pound. Frodo arrives, and, politely, refuses to leave. It's all happening. How is she to cope?

Not that "the guys" -- Bilbo and Frodo -- are ever a problem. Love is given unconditionally, and returned tenfold. Complicated training routines are not seen as helpful. "Orders weren't needed, we just fell into step."

Battersby's acute observation illuminates her text. And the (extra)ordinary dogs. She never doubts their intelligence, instinct, feelings; under her intense and loving gaze their characters grow and shine.

The genius of Ordinary Dogs is the author's attention. While many dog owners have their pets as an adjunct to their busy lives, here the dogs are central. Although this is also a sort of memoir of a 20-year period in her life, Battersby remains in the background.

Is it really possible to write a 336-page book in which two dogs are the central characters? It might seem mad (even barking mad?) but Battersby manages it because her life is so emotionally bound up with theirs. We do learn something about her life along the way but the main focus all the time is on the dogs.

Her love for "the guys" is unconditional. Love for human guys is more of a problem. In the eyes of her boyfriends she reads too much, doesn't socialise and spends far too much time with the canines.

At one point in the book she goes to live in England for a while and "the guys" go too. She makes up pedigrees for them to baffle the dog snobs in Hyde Park. She travels with them on the Underground. They travel together to places where her literary heroes come alive -- Conrad, Wolfe, Dickens.

Eventually, tired out by city life and its constrictions, and with the offer of a job in Dublin, the three companions come back to Ireland. And back in Ireland, she gets pregnant. "The guys", now elderly gentlemen, are protective. They "gaze at the baby, whimpering softly". Her daughter learns to walk at five months, leaning on a besotted Bilbo. "He would sit as she read him stories; when she sang he sang too".

Towards the back of the book, the two stalwarts begin to suffer the problems that come with old age; finally, tragically, comes the end. On Bilbo's 20th anniversary, walking up the stairs, he stops and gives the paw. For the first time ever. An hour later, lying across his mistress's lap, he is gone. Less than a month later, his lifetime buddy Frodo also dies.

"I cried and sobbed and begged him not to leave me and I looked into his eyes until the life was gone", she writes. "Sunlight streamed into the room, the sky had brightened and the rain had finally stopped. Only now it didn't matter".

This is one of the best love stories you'll read this year.

Rosita Sweetman

-
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
A beautiful account of Eileen Battersby's life with Bilbo & Frodo, who both chose her to be part of their lives. This is no ordinary autobiography; it is as much a doggy biography, as it shows how inter-dependent the 3 of them become. The sad parts had me crying - be warned!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
This story takes you on a journey drawing you into the world of dogs . Animal lovers will identify with each and every one of the feelings and emotion described in this book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
I have enjoyed reading this, and will miss it. It was unsentimental; The dogs were central, with the rather eccentric owner kept in the background.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
Having read this book one would wonder how Eileen managed to look after 2dogs for twenty years given that she is barely able to look after herself. As dog owner myself I wonder from reading her book did she simply confuse the difference between dogs and humans. There were times in this book when you just felt saying how can people do so many stupid things and have a complete lack of common sense which seems to come across so often. Her loyalty to her dogs took things to a seriously new level at times even worrying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Anyone who has ever lost their heart to a dog will enjoy and be able to relate to this book which has a lovely warm charm to it. It tells the story of her two dogs, Frodo and Bilbo, over a twenty year period (20 years!!). It is clear that the author loves her dogs unconditionally and she draws the reader in to their life and adventures in a warm embracing way. Anyone who has ever had a dog will be able to relate to the joy, heartache, worry and the complete two way love that it entails.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Beautifully written , touching, but not sentimental. The black beauty of the dog world . Highly recommended for all dog lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
have tissues to hand...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
It's okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.