Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good introduction to the Solar System, 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar System (Hardcover)
Having recently purchased this book, I have finally got around to reading it. The book itself is more of a "Coffee Table" sort of book rather than a full blown textbook, but none the worse for that. There are lots of pictures and also a fair amount of text. I think this book would suit anyone who wants an easy to understand up to date overview of the Solar System. The book is certainly worth a look at. Hopefully it will be kept up to date when new information on the Solar System merits this. The only possible drawback to this book is that the text is white on a black background, but I personally had no problem with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative., 8 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar System (Hardcover)
A beautifully illustrated book, well organised in terms of its format and headings; it takes you on a journey from our sun to the distant edges of our solar system.
Very informative without being overly technical and containing enough information to satisfy those with some knowledge of the Solar System already and suitable for a wide age range.
As somebody who has recently awakened an interest in the night sky, it was fascinating to be brought 'up to date' (since my school days..!!) with the recategorisation of planets/dwarf planets and to have the many moons, asteroids and other features within the Solar System so well covered and explained, compared and contrasted.
I have bought the book ahead of a planned purchase of a telescope and it has really whetted my apetite - the telescope will follow shortly!
An excellent publication which I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great journey, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar System (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent resource for anyone wanting a good informative and visually engaging tour of the solar system. Starting with the Sun and making our way past the 4 rocky inner planets & moons, then through the asteroid belt before meeting the 4 gas giants & Moons. Further out again we meet the kuiper belt and its dwarf planets.

If your after a guide that will introduce you to the many bodies occupying our solar system with enough facts and figures to open your eyes to the extreme nature of the small part of space we occupy then this is for you. I was very convinced by the end of reading this book that it covered more than enough areas in just enough depth to make this a book I will not only keep and read again but use as a quick reference guide. I especially impressed with the layout and presentation. For example, the introduction page on each object is presented with a lovely big photo of the object in all its glory. On the right page opposite the photo a small introduction and table of lovely statistics and a chart on the page edge with temperature and density of the object plotted. This formula is repeated throughout the book on every major body including the major moons of each planet and therefore really easy to compare data of your choosing. Data includes, distances, object diameters, temperature, density, gravity, orbital data & more.

Just for the information on Moons alone its worth buying this book.

Exceptional value & very engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The solar system book., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar System (Hardcover)
A present for my son for Christmas, great information and good illustrated pictures,
for anyone who has an interest in Astronomy and the Solar System.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Solar System, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar System (Hardcover)
I bought this for my Grandson. He enjoyed comparing it with another book about the stars. He enjoyed the factual information in this book. I am happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Solar System, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar System (Hardcover)
Good value for money. Chose rating because of the look of the Book. Will be a good Christmas present .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solar System book, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar System (Hardcover)
This book is very well laid out and illustrated, it's as up to date as anything can be on this subject nowadays and serves as an excellent introduction to the Solar System.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Solar System
The Solar System by Marcus Chown (Hardcover - 17 Nov 2011)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews