Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good cultural history, inspite of the punk
This is a must read for any arts student. It will take whatever interest they may have in "punk" and present the phenomena in a new light. This is a far broader (and more "artistic") context then the gritty social history of Savage's England's Dreaming.

Marcus' original thesis is that the Sex Pistols were heirs to the theories of the Situationists - and were,...
Published on 22 Nov. 2006 by Mr. M. J. Bowen

versus
6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unconvincing attempt to link punk to Dadaism
Perhaps the subtitle "A Secret History of the Twentieth Century" should have alerted me, but with the name Greil Marcus and a picture of Johnny Rotten on the cover, I presumed that this book was about music. Not so: taking punk as his starting point, Marcus spends the vast bulk of this book talking about Dadaism, Situationism and various other...
Published on 14 Feb. 2009 by Guardian of the Scales


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good cultural history, inspite of the punk, 22 Nov. 2006
By 
Mr. M. J. Bowen "middle name : NR" (some NOT RANDOM room) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a must read for any arts student. It will take whatever interest they may have in "punk" and present the phenomena in a new light. This is a far broader (and more "artistic") context then the gritty social history of Savage's England's Dreaming.

Marcus' original thesis is that the Sex Pistols were heirs to the theories of the Situationists - and were, perhaps, the concrete manifestation of their obtuse and impenetrable philosophy. This realisation of situationist thinking - it is argued - took the form of a pure 'revolt' by the disenfranchised punks. This articulated their desire to live as the "subjects, and not the objects of history".

Taking this as his Thesis, Marcus proceeds upon a fragmented "secret history" of the twentieth century - connecting the threads which led from the Free Spirit Brethen through radical "left bank" groups down to the punks. This "secret history" is that of marginal groups holding out for "impossible freedom" against the dominant discourse which would crush it. Marcus reproduces some Situationist artwork and I must confess that, for me, the Punk stuff is the shallow stuff in here. You might be drawn by the unique perspective on punk but you will leave an aspirant situationist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music or Mayhem?, 1 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
This is not your father's music history book.
If you are expecting a book about punk rock, read it. It is about punk rock in a manner of speaking. But even if you aren't a punk rocker, still read it. I know they always say this and then you think to yourself, why would I want to read a book about something I could care less about? But this book only uses punk as a kind of centerpiece or metaphor. But this book is about everything--Dadaism, revolution, Situationism, even a medieval religious fanatic who walled himself into a city with a group of followers resorting to canabalism and self-annihilation. See, it seems interesting. It is scholarly, but quite readable (and God knows, most aren't). Sometimes a little unfocused, but if it had too much structure, it wouldn't be punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great eye-opener, 29 May 2002
By A Customer
This book is divided into 2 parts. The first bases history around the Sex Pistols, and the second gives a more sensible (but less quirky) overview of 20th century history. Margin notes instead of foot notes, the relevent information is easy to find. A hopeless refrence book, but a great read nevertheless. The originality of thinking, and the illustrations come together to give a new relection of the recent past. I suppose one could call it how punk came about, but it wouldn't give the book justice; as in no way does it concentrate only on punk. It is used as a familiar ground to base everything else around. How did anarchy come about? Written sensatively and with many little gems. I would recomend this book to people with an interest in humanities, whether practising artists/musicians, or lovers of theory, this book gives an origional slant, and explains everything from the begining. Great for GCSE/A-Level to make things fun, or for people with a wider knowledge, who've got bored with reading the same old opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life will never be the same again!, 9 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
I bought this book about a year ago and have read it 4 times since. Despite being a huge, scolarly, intellectual work, it still manages to exite at just the same level as the music about which it speaks. Facts and ideas appear and disappear again only to resurface generations later in a different, often more potent and subversive context. Some of the ideas covered are self-evidently unworkable (as Marcus knows as well as his readers) but they still excite and energise the imagination through their sheer radicalism. Like the best Punk Music they prompt the reader to a paradoxical reaction: "I can't condone any of this intellectually, but I feel like fighting in the streets to defend it". Read it, and it will remind you how pitifully dull and conformist your life is. Obviously, you won't be manning barricades on the street, but your first reading of this towering work will blow your assumptions and preconceptions apart and regular helpings thereafter will keep your sense of intellectual radicalism alive, kicking and screaming "Destroy!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I got to the middle then I got lost.. your mileage may vary., 1 May 1997
By A Customer
Is it just me, or does it just go a bit too far? I admit, I never did get to finish the book, and probably didn't get to see the whole "point" of it all...

Engaging and eclectic, but I kinda lose track when he gets just a bit too far from rock and roll itself.

(I don't wanna compare, but "Psychotic Reactions..." by Lester Bangs [w/c marcus edited] is more "unputdownable" and didn't require me to brush up on my 20th century avant-garde theory)

The CD of this book is just as strange. (did they ever release it as CD/book combination?) Check out that sound poetry!! Marie Osmond too! And the last song, "Lipstick Traces" is just WONDERFUL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars falling to bits: gloriously, 12 May 2005
By A Customer
Naysayers, refuseniks, weirdos, anarchists, modern artists, punks. They have shared values, and Marcus makes us see the links between their seemingly separate movements. So we go from a Sex Pistols gig to Dadaist art, then to the 1968 Paris riots.

It's unstructured, but heady stuff. It's not the Mojo magazine 'just the facts' style, it's more like Simon Frith music theory after a William Burroughs cut-up, the work of a graduate student talking and free associating in the bar, rather than his actual thesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST DAMN BOOK YOU WILL EVER READ!, 14 July 1998
By A Customer
DO NOT WASTE ANY TIME. READ THIS BOOK. IT WILL CHANGE YOUR WORLD FOREVER. FIND THE EXTRAORDINARY LURKING BEHIND THE ORDINARY THAT YOU ALWAYS SUSPECTED WAS THERE, THE BEACH BENEATH THE COBBLESTONES.(TO PARAPHRASE THE BOOK'PROTAGONIST) IN THE 30TH ANNIVERSARY YEAR OF THE 1968 PARIS UPRISING, THIS BOOK IS MORE THAN TIMELY. I ORIGINALLY READ THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT WAS ABOUT THE SEX PISTOLS, BUT CAME AWAY WITH A THIRST TO KNOW THE SITUATIONIST INTERNATIONAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ooh it good, 29 Dec. 1997
By A Customer
this book is amazing. it's tough though. for one, you won't want to put it down, but it makes you wanna go do stuff. it's a must read for those who like punk. marcus puts it all in a beautiful perspective. i keep wanting to go visit him and have a beer and talk about all the stuff he covers -- only take a year or so. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unconvincing attempt to link punk to Dadaism, 14 Feb. 2009
Perhaps the subtitle "A Secret History of the Twentieth Century" should have alerted me, but with the name Greil Marcus and a picture of Johnny Rotten on the cover, I presumed that this book was about music. Not so: taking punk as his starting point, Marcus spends the vast bulk of this book talking about Dadaism, Situationism and various other philosophical/political/cultural movements I had never heard of, citing similarities between them and 1970's punk, though not suggesting the punks had any awareness of these movements.

Lipstick Traces is a tough read, making little allowance for the fact that most people will never have heard of the subjects discussed, many of which are nebulous, ill-defined and self-contradictory. I still don't quite know what Dada means, if anything. Admittedly, I skimmed rather than scrutinized much of the book, as I did not develop any interest in the subjects and felt that Marcus was ascribing more importance to them than they actually possessed, and imposing a coherent ideology on what sometimes seemed little more than juvenile bluster and meaningless soundbites. It is characteristic of Marcus to over-intellectualize the subjects he writes on, but in other books when he is speaking of subjects I was already interested in this did not bother me, as he is a good writer; here, though, some of his theorizing seems quite fanciful and the entire concept of the book is questionable. What is to be gained by seeing Punk through the prism of situationism? Is there really any link, outside of the author's mind?

I cannot condemn this book as I did not fully understand it, however I would say that it definitely has very select appeal and will not necessarily appeal to fans of Marcus's other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oh yeah, baby!, 12 April 1998
By A Customer
I'm in the midst of reading this badboy at this very moment. And though the likelihood of my reaching the end of it is slim, the book has proven beyond doubt, its ability to "muss" with my head. Like the topics with which it deals, one finds that after encountering it, if only a little teeny-weeny bit, things are different. What else could you people want from a gosh darn book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lipstick Traces: A Secret History of the Twentieth Century
Lipstick Traces: A Secret History of the Twentieth Century by Greil Marcus (Paperback - 7 July 2011)
Used & New from: £19.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews