Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, twisted website now in book form
An early taste of Charlie Brooker's splenetic fury can be found in this very funny and long overdue volume. It has some astonishing bile and the jagged humour is infectious. It's an ideal book to browse through, as most of it is amusing (and some of it highly inventive), and the depravity of some of the images is striking.

One small criticism is that I don't...
Published on 28 Oct. 2010 by CJ

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly the same, but different.
Nice new preface, but alas, some of the classics have been edited out. No longer can we snigger with glee at the naff photo-shopped image of Nicky Campbell drowning with cats. The highlight of the original edition. No doubt there are many more edits i've yet to spot.
Published on 21 Dec. 2010 by JK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, twisted website now in book form, 28 Oct. 2010
This review is from: TV Go Home (Paperback)
An early taste of Charlie Brooker's splenetic fury can be found in this very funny and long overdue volume. It has some astonishing bile and the jagged humour is infectious. It's an ideal book to browse through, as most of it is amusing (and some of it highly inventive), and the depravity of some of the images is striking.

One small criticism is that I don't think the layout did it full justice, but the content is superb.

Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ......contains regional variations., 1 Nov. 2010
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: TV Go Home (Paperback)
After seeing this book I wanted it - but it was out of print and my meagre wage wouldn't stretch to upwards of £50 (as it was on some websites). Although an online archive existed, it wasn't quite the same - but thankfully it has been reprinted and will now become part of my collection ...finally!

'TV Go Home' is a parody of the TV listing magazines which tend to live under the settee and is the creation of acclaimed Guardian columnist Charlie Brooker. Brooker is renowned for his dry and often caustic attacks on modern day media, his diatribes are fairly aimed though and this publication allows you to enjoy his whimsical take on the TV programming schedule. The familiar format of the listings make the edgy contents even more humorous, though it's a sad reflection on actual television that his fictional series sometimes seem as though they could actually be aired these days.

The entries consist of both unique ideas and running jokes - my favourite continuing series has to be 'Mick Hucknall's Pink Pancakes', if I ever catch mention of him these days I can't help but stifle a giggle as I imagine him squidging his spuds against a transparent surface. The magazine also introduces a program simply called 'C**t' which mocks the trendy media-types for whom style is everything and substance just gets in the way. The main protagonist (or c**t I suppose) is Nathan Barley and this fictional TV programme eventually became an actual one co-written with Chris Morris. Nathan Barley is one of the best comedies to fail to register on the radar of most TV Viewers (along with Sean Lock's equally fantastic 15 Storeys High) and the concept is typical of the many things you'll see in TV Go Home.

Brooker often uses vulgar language here, but it's not brainless swearing - his swipes are finely targeted and his words express what many of us feel about modern culture. He manages, often with just a program name and synopsis, to dissect the weaknesses of the celebrity obsessed age, this isn't just a funny book - it has something to say.

In a nutshell: TV Go Home shows is genuinely very funny and is crammed full of intelligent ideas which exist unfiltered in short paragraphs. It allows us to laugh at the worse aspects of television, and also stands as a strange warning of how things seem to be going! A series of clever rants disguised at potty-mouthed low brow humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He takes some comic revenge on the Daily Mail and savages the values of braindead celeb mags like Hello and Heat, 5 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. Mj Plevin "asterickjones" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Go Home (Paperback)
A sarcastic and extreme version of the Radio Times that will make you absolutely guffaw. Some fabulously random ideas are thrown into the mix, rather than just being merely satirical of moronic media tropes, Brooker takes his indulgent crudeness to a whole other level as he absolutely goes to town with his sarcasm, wit and raw cynnicism in coming up with programme ideas that are almost apocalyptic.He takes some comic revenge on the Daily Mail and savages the values of braindead celeb mags like Hello and Heat, it's cathartic. It's a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so so funny, 1 Oct. 2011
By 
Nicky Beet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Go Home (Paperback)
this book is an amazingly funny read and perceptive+ahead of its times in alot of its listings

It is essentially a spoof T.V. guide with daily terrestrial listings as well as a comprehensive cable guide+picks of the day(including the greatest advert of all time the holidays are coming coca cola advert)
Written by Charlie Brooker before he became famous,but not lacking any of his razor sharp wit and withering critique of the state of modern t.v
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so hilarous, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Go Home (Paperback)
Brooker creates a hilarous satirical book in the style of a TV magazine it is full wit and funny observations on what is going on our tv screens. This was a very enjoyable read made me laugh out loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy buy buy, 2 Sept. 2014
This review is from: TV Go Home (Paperback)
Just buy it, and practically soil yourself as you read it. Acidic, cruel, and extremely funny, as well as highlighting just how facile our culture has become when mediated through the television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT BROOKER, 6 Jan. 2012
This review is from: TV Go Home (Paperback)
BRILLIANT BROOKER STRIKES THE BULLSEYE WITH THIS GEM

A must buy for any fan of the mighty Charlie Brooker..

Happy to report this will not go to the second bookshop anytime soon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, very funny, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Go Home (Paperback)
Excellent book, very funny.

Excerpts from the cult TV Go Home website. I love Charlie Brookers wit and humour. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Go Home (Paperback)
This book was a terrific find. I found it so funny and have already recommended it. If your in need of a laugh this is the one to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charlies' a sick man, 29 Nov. 2013
By 
Stephen Baxter (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Go Home (Paperback)
Really quite peurile, in a good way, Had to stop reading quite often for laughing, it's amazing the pictures he paints with words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TV Go Home
TV Go Home by Charlie Brooker (Paperback - 4 Nov. 2010)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews