Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawesome
I'm not usually the greatest fan of fact-books, but this one is actually gorgeous. Funny and sparky and filled with brilliant illustrations. Lovers of the show will enjoy the TV tie-in aspect, but it's got enough info and original artwork to stand alone as an anuual. Ideal Christmas prezzie for small boys too - very useful. It's also quite silly. Okay, very silly. In a...
Published on 5 Nov. 2010 by Harriet J L Ayles

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars QI Annual 2011
I am an avid QI fan but somehow feel slightly cheated by this offering. Seems to have a rather 'celebrity mates' gimmicky feel to it rather than the higher quality one expected. I am sure the content is good, such as there is, but in presentation it feels slightly wrong to me. Perhaps I'm just in a 'bah humbug' sort of mood.
Published on 4 Jan. 2011 by glassmaniac


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawesome, 5 Nov. 2010
This review is from: QI Annual 2011 (Hardcover)
I'm not usually the greatest fan of fact-books, but this one is actually gorgeous. Funny and sparky and filled with brilliant illustrations. Lovers of the show will enjoy the TV tie-in aspect, but it's got enough info and original artwork to stand alone as an anuual. Ideal Christmas prezzie for small boys too - very useful. It's also quite silly. Okay, very silly. In a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hextraordinarily Habulous (hmm)., 8 Nov. 2010
This review is from: QI Annual 2011 (Hardcover)
The perfect mix of the sublime and the ridiculous - this annual is truly the gift that keeps on giving. I can't believe the random and amazing facts beginning with H that I now possess that I didn't an hour ago! It's got brains and beauty - give it to someone you're sharing Christmas with and then steal it straight back after lunch, sniggering, and reading out facts to everyone nearby. I love this annual. And not just for the picture of Mr Fry looking quizzicly at a hedgehog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Christmas present!, 12 Nov. 2010
This review is from: QI Annual 2011 (Hardcover)
I've actually only watched the TV show sporadically but that isn't a requirement to enjoy this at all. The annual has great cartoons and some very funny quotes from the season - good Christmas gift, and particularly enjoyed more info on hippos than I ever knew existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have taken a liking to this book, and will purchase it for others., 23 Nov. 2010
This review is from: QI Annual 2011 (Hardcover)
This annual marks another step towards 'J', the best letter, and it's an excellent step: always interesting, often amusing, and occasionally very embarrassing, as you may find if you read 'HENJ' on a crowded Tube train and convince those around you that you are a giggling lunatic. It has the gentle plodding warmth of a typical episode of QI, and I can't think of any book that I've seen recently that makes better read in the loo. Jo Brand's contributions are particularly wonderful, but it's a consistently lovely annual, and I would recommend it to anybody who is clever and needs a giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boxing-Day Book, 21 Nov. 2010
This review is from: QI Annual 2011 (Hardcover)
This is a great book to accompany a hangover and left-over Christmas dinner. It is a sort of leftover book - a hodgepodge of tasty scraps that just need reheating. The cartoon, superhero, super-facty style makes it quite a boysy book, but then it is quite a boysy show. Would be great for a 12 year old's stocking, but just as good for Grandad. What makes it a great Christmas book is that it is brilliant for sharing.Loads of facts and jokes to read out loud. But better content than a christmas cracker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Garden of H, 16 Dec. 2010
This review is from: QI Annual 2011 (Hardcover)
The QI Annual for 2011 really is like walking through a bristling garden animated with all things 'H'. The amount of information is almost overwhelming, but the humour, and the variation in graphics and layout tip the scales in favour of an amusing, engrossing experience, rather than a dense slog.
The book reads like an encyclopedia of back-stories, journalistic scoops, and truths revealed--making the comic-book design references all the more appropriate as the dark sidestreets, and unlit back-alleys of history are combed for their stories.
A veritable deluge of details, and engrossing (even when it's gross!) the QI 2011 Annual ia a delightful garden path down which to stray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H is for Bloody Brilliant!, 3 Nov. 2010
This review is from: QI Annual 2011 (Hardcover)
it's proper good! Chock-full of wonder and daftness like the annuals you used to get as a kid - a veritable car crash between a lorry load of 'Look-and-Learns' and A Lamborghini rammed with Britain's best comedians - Hurrah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 7 Mar. 2011
By 
Paula Ward "Hearth Witch" (Milton Keynes England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI Annual 2011 (Hardcover)
This is brilliant funny and informative a bit like a comic in layout but brilliant. My husband loves it and it is very like the TV series a great book to dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Q.I, you'll love this!, 1 Mar. 2011
This review is from: QI Annual 2011 (Hardcover)
If you watch the program, then you'll enjoy this book, obviously! Even if you're not a regular viewer, you'd appreciate it just for the humour and trivia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a child's delight, 17 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI Annual 2011 (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for a 10/11 year old. Very successful as full of appropriate very juvenile humour. Somewhat more trying for any adult though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

QI Annual 2011
QI Annual 2011 by John Mitchinson (Hardcover - 4 Nov. 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews