Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it but that doesn't mean you will.
Yes it won the Booker price, and yes I loved it but its' important that you realise that there is no guarentee that you will enjoy it.
The written style is main thing to worry about. The narrators voice, Ned Kelly, can be a hard read. I've heard of people who have said that the found the books style a real grind to read and have never even finished the book. For...
Published on 10 Aug 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Needed for college
Required for college. Good service. Personally I had no problems with its delivery and with the product itself. :-) :-)
Published 9 months ago by Aleena


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it but that doesn't mean you will., 10 Aug 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes it won the Booker price, and yes I loved it but its' important that you realise that there is no guarentee that you will enjoy it.
The written style is main thing to worry about. The narrators voice, Ned Kelly, can be a hard read. I've heard of people who have said that the found the books style a real grind to read and have never even finished the book. For me Ned Kelly's voice is utterly unique, free of the over intellectual prose of many authors. I was swept away, inside his head, into his world. I had never read anything like it.
It is clear Peter Carey has done a vast amount of research as well as made a massive leap of imagination. The gritty story is filled with tender and powerfully sad moments. It is certainly one of the most accomplished books I have read.
My advice, read a few pages or passages before you buy. If it you like the sound of it then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A passionate tale of hard-scrabble frontier life., 6 Jan 2006
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is a "western" which gallops to life, and the reader feels the grit, smells the dust, and agonizes with desperate characters as they are tossed every which way, not by their own deliberate decisions so much as by the unpredictability of their Australian frontier existence.
Ned Kelly, the Jesse James of Australia, becomes human here, not a monstrous blackguard so much as a man who is forced to make impossible choices. In this tale, which purports to be the hand-written autobiography he wants to leave for his baby daughter, we follow his childhood in poverty, his reluctant "apprenticeship" to the villainous Harry Powers, his cruel imprisonment by corrupt authorities, and his attempts to stay out of trouble upon his release. The judicial system's attack on his mother, however, becomes the catalyst for Ned's life in crime, a life which the reader understands could have been completely different, had authorities simply shown more compassion.
Carey is masterful in using small details to show contrasts and to make the big picture come alive. A new pair of soft boots achieves almost mystical significance--the ecstasy of their acquisition contrasting with the strength achieved through their sacrifice. "Fresh bread and jam...barley and mutton soup," served to Ned in jail, provide poignant contrast to the poorer, leaner fare on the farm. And a red silk dress becomes a symbol for corruption in one context and love in another.
This is a vigorous, exuberant, and uncompromising vision of wilderness life and death. It is the sensitive portrayal of a young man forced to make impossible decisions to save and protect his family. And it is a passionate love story told with a warmth and sympathy that is all the more poignant for its contrast with the murder and death which accompany it. Satisfying and rewarding on all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical tale of outlaws, poverty, hardship and prejudice., 19 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Peter Carey has written an unusual novel that is put together as a series of letters written by Ned Kelly the famous Australian outlaw and bushranger, who became a national hero. It is presented as a raw, personal journal, written to a daughter he would never see. This is not only a very interesting concept but also provides a good insight into life in 19th century Australia. This novel is set in the desolate settler communities north of Melbourne, Victoria in the late 19th century, during a time when the first Irish settlers in Australia faced many hardships and struggles.

Peter's novel is basically a corrective to the popular conception, among some Australians, of Ned Kelly being a thug, thief and murderer. Ned's portrayal in this work is nothing less than a folk hero and freedom fighter, a defiant exemplar of Irish-Australian cussedness in the face of colonial oppression. To the authorities, this son of dirt-poor Irish immigrants was a born thief and, ultimately, a cold-blooded murderer; to most other Australians, he was a scapegoat and patriot persecuted by "English" landlords and their agents. With his brothers and two friends, Kelly eluded a massive police manhunt for twenty months, living by his wits and strong heart, supplementing his bushwhacking skills with ingenious bank robberies while enjoying the support of most everyone not in uniform. He declined to flee overseas when he could, bound to win his jailed mother's freedom by any means possible, including his own surrender if necessary. Ned Kelly was executed by hanging for murder in 1880 in Melbourne, Victoria. In the end his mother served out her sentence in the same Melbourne prison where her son was hanged. We come to understand the poverty, hardship, and the prejudice of the colonial police force, during that period of time, particularly towards the Irish. These factors were all part of the plight of Ned Kelly and his gang. Was he a good boy gone wrong?
This is a tale of misunderstanding, foul justice, and the wringing of a family's heart. This novel is packed with history, incidents, alive with comedy and pathos, and contains everything that you could ask for in a truly great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Adjectival Good Book!!, 12 Feb 2002
To be honest I had not heard of Peter Carey before I had heard about this book. I bought the book and found I was completely drawn into this world of Australian settlers/immigrants lives in the mid 19 th century. Ned voice was given a clarity and such depth I found I could not put this book down. I did, however, find myself wanting to find out more of Ned, and his descendants....great book. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you don't need punctuation!, 17 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This is a riveting story of the struggle of a family to survive in nineteenth-century Australia. It is told by Ned Kelly himself and the language is correspondingly unpolished with very little use of punctuation. After the first chapter or so, however, you stop noticing the language and get involved in the story. This book has been greatly hyped because of the Booker Prize but it's probably one you should judge for yourself. There's lots that's worth reading even if you're not Australian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece at several levels, 21 Feb 2002
By 
Heather Greer (Cleggan, Co Galway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I often don't enjoy Booker winners for some reasons, but this was different. For me, it's a masterpiece, at two levels. One is the more immediate and always enjoyable fictitious account, warm, infinitely sad at times, sometimes funny, of Ned Kelly and his family and fellow-travellers in early Australia. The account, written for his daughter whom he never meets or sees, is often self-justifying, distorted, frank, and always self-revealing. The other level concerns the whole basis of the book - written and laid out as if it is an accurate biography based on actual archive material, it raises fundamental questions about the truth and reality of the narratives built up about 'legend lives' - and, more generally, about the basis for any person's self-narrative, incuding and especially the reader's. How much self-justification and how much 'reality' go into any of our own life-accounts? It's a brilliant, more or less perfect book. Please buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping poetic book, filled with adventures, 18 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This book really deserves to win the Booker Prize twice. It's an amazingly well written book, filled with poetry from the moment you turn the first page. The character testing adventures of Ned leave you feeling sympathetic to his misfortune and the many obstacles he faces in his young life. His heart is in the right place but he is forever Beleaguered in the community. By reading this account, you have a personal insight in to this brave young man's struggle for survival and the psyche behind his actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An engaging style that brings Kelly to life, 11 Aug 2005
This is an absorbing book, written as a sequence of letters supposedly penned by Kelly himself - his attempt to explain his life and death to a daughter he will not live to see. Carey has written the book without punctuation in a conversational style. I quickly got used to this and found that the technique gave weight and realism to the story. Carey tells us about the paper used for each set of letters and we can imagine Kelly coming across some scraps on which he can continue his story - it is a charming touch.
Although this is a fictional work, it is so well-written and Carey's mode of writing is so persuasive that it seems entirely plausible that Ned Kelly is speaking to us from beyond the grave. I enjoyed it enormously - it is imaginative, clever and very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good insight into the life of an Aussie legend, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After emigrating to Australia I found that you cannot escape hearing about the quintessential Aussie anti-hero Ned Kelly. I was interested in knowing more about his life and background and this book really delivered. It is pretty easy to read once you get into the style of writing which reflects the way someone from that era and educational background would have spoken like. After reading the book I now feel that I have a much better idea of the events of Ned Kellys life which led him to lead his life in the way he did, very much a result of events that went on around him rather than by his own personal choice. A great book which I got for 99p I would be more than happy to have paid full price for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A challenging but rewarding novel, 20 April 2011
It took a while for me to find the rhythm of this book, by that I mean that the first few times I sat down with it, it was a difficult read due to the lack of punctuation and weak grammar in the writing. I say that not as a criticism of the book or the author, for the style is a deliberate mechanism for presenting the story from the perspective of Ned Kelly, the uneducated leader of a band of outlaws who's own writings tell his story.
Once I was able to put myself in the right mindset to follow the writing style, I became more absorbed in the story and by the time I was done the novel I was keen to learn more about the Kelly Gang, particularly from other perspectives such as the public and the police.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True History of the Kelly Gang
True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey (Paperback - 3 Feb 2011)
5.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews