Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Jubbly
I bought this book to find out how one person became 'controller' of F1 . My knowledge of Bernie E was only that he was a second hand car salesman , bought a F1 team , became chief of FOCA .
I found this book an enjoyable read and found it hard to put down .
It tells the story of how Bernie got into F1 , how he bought Brabham , how he started the F1 constructors...
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by Pub Landlord

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, but flawed.
No Angel is a riveting read and goes a long way toward unravelling the complex network of companies and trusts that, over the years, have established control of the immensely profitable business of Formula One.
It does not, however, reveal anything that was not already known or suspected although it certainly underlines the power that Ecclestone continues to wield,...
Published on 13 Mar 2011 by Gongoozler


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars boring, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Mark Roberts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big F1 fan and have read a lot of biographys and auto biographys. But this had to be the most boring book I have ever read given that I have read English grammer that's saying something
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jim Clark, the English champion, 27 May 2011
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
A fairly interesting read, if written in a sensational manner.

Bower's meticulous research has uncovered facts which were previously unknown. Perhaps the most astounding is that Jim Clark was actually English!

Or maybe Bower is just sloppy, and hasn't a clue about motor racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable read, 11 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
As a long time Formula 1 fan this is a book i enjoyed reading as we see Bernie on our screens at most races but dont know that much about him.There are some factual errors that have been mentioned in previous reviews but apart from that i found the book gripping,involving and really fabulous to read.I would certainly recomend the book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revealing portrait of Formula 1's inner sanctum, 13 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
"No Angel" delivers a revelatory account of how Bernie Ecclestone has been able to make F1 a hugely profitable business while ensuring he keeps control of the knife that divides the profits.

Tom Bower avoids the trappings of his contemporaries who have been guilty in the past of jumping to their own conclusions in order to judge Ecclestone, a man who is far too complex and secretive to be fairly assessed by outsiders.

Bower should be applauded for writing a book that relies on "prima facie" evidence to enable the reader to delve into Ecclestone's world and make up their own mind. I was initially surprised that a book on Bernie could only be 380 pages long, but the copy is extremely tight and very light on narrative. This is an extremely clever editing decision on Bower's part that relies on the first-person accounts of his contributors to drive the story, rather than vast swathes of narrative that f1 fans know all too well.

It also raises a strong point about F1 as a viable form of entertainment in the future. The early part of the book is all about the racing, with political wrangles fairly insignificant. The latter part of the book is dominated, much like the sport, with tedious power struggles and allegations of foul play. This highlights that the drama and personality of the sport of 70s and 80s has been swamped by forces debated within the book that simply do not have the best interests of the sport at heart.

This is where Bernie comes out of the book well compared to some of the more self-important characters identified by Bower. My opinion drawn from the book is that he is still a racer at heart who wants to put on a good show. However like all good racers, he has a will to win and does not like to be beaten by his rivals.

Bower has captured the character of Ecclestone and deciphers his complexities to deliver an understanding of his composition as a human being with access that had previously been impenetrable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars read chapter 1 somewhere: but don't bother buying it, 11 July 2012
By 
J. Byrne "JPB" (Cupertino, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
interesting character mr. ecclestone but the writer makes no attempt to distil his research into any kind of coherent story. it seems as though the story got legs and galloped down the road with the writer chasing after it! either that or he is on autopilot and thinks the story tells itself. frustrating, frustrating. like another reviewer i gave up around 116 pages in, read the note at the end, a little bit of the last chapter and then threw it in the recycling bin. pity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Angel review, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Mark Rose "consumer hero" (Ireland, Cork) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
I thought the book was interesting and seemed to give more insight than most biased autobiographies.

Even if you're not into motorsport then I reckon this will still keep you tied in.

Enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spellbound, 25 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
I bought this book a)because I am a diehard F1 fan and b) I have always been fascinated by Bernie.
I could not put this book down. The wheeling and dealing of a man thinking on his feet and making a fortune from his own ingenuity and the stupidity of others is amazing.
A must read for all F1 nuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drivel, 13 April 2011
By 
G. James (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
Amazon need to very quickly move this book to the fiction section. It's horrendous! The level of research done is so bad I can only think that no one ever proof read it! This author is a disgrace to the name. I've read some total drivel in my time, but those could be somewhat defended by their classification as fictional novels, this book however is beyond salvation by any means!

Bernie must have had a great time feeding all this nonsense to Bower, and oh how he must have laughed when he saw it in its final state.

A worse book it would be hard to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great service, 1 April 2011
By 
John FCIB (Derbys. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
Received next day so great.

Have yet to read it but reviews look good.

Probably a must for F1 fans although the Ozz race last sat was so boring I fell asleep so Bernie's ideas to jazz up the excitement by spraying the track sounds good for the overpaid dwarfs who drive the cars should earn their living.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone
No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone by Tom Bower (Hardcover - 24 Feb 2011)
15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews