Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Jubbly
I bought this book to find out how one person became 'controller' of F1 . My knowledge of Bernie E was only that he was a second hand car salesman , bought a F1 team , became chief of FOCA .
I found this book an enjoyable read and found it hard to put down .
It tells the story of how Bernie got into F1 , how he bought Brabham , how he started the F1 constructors...
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by Pub Landlord

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, but flawed.
No Angel is a riveting read and goes a long way toward unravelling the complex network of companies and trusts that, over the years, have established control of the immensely profitable business of Formula One.
It does not, however, reveal anything that was not already known or suspected although it certainly underlines the power that Ecclestone continues to wield,...
Published on 13 Mar 2011 by Gongoozler


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any F1 Fans this is a MUST read, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book for anyone who like me is an anorak over F1.
It gives a full history on Bernie, how he started up and his wheeling and dealing that led him to the position of power and extreme wealth that he has now.
Its all down I think to the fact that he had the vision of what F1 as a brand could become and all the teams around him were so caught up with the bickering within teams that they took theirs eyes off the ball and took the easy option of letting Bernie deal with it, and good for him!
I can well understand that Bernie doesn't authorise the book as the title suggests it doesn't paint him in the best light sometimes, but then to get to where he is you have to be ruthless. Bernie has certainly broken a few eggs to make his omelette!
F1 Fans pull the anorak on and get reading on what its all been about for the past decades, you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm really unsure about this book, it doesn't flow well at all. I feel it jumps about all over the place. This book doesn't really tell an avid fan much that you wouldn't know before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars stranger than fiction, 10 Dec 2013
This book is reasonable but has many errors. more so on the technical side of F1.Some of the paragraphs are strange as you arexpecting a conclusion and it will veer off in a 90 degree direction, without the full conclusion you expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and entertaining, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Joachim O. (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all books of autobiographical nature it is impossible for an outsider to tell what is fact and what is fiction. In any case I can confirm that this is a very enjoyable read and everyone knows without questioning that Bernie Ecclestone is the dominant figure in F1.
It is the story of a young boy who grew up in humble homes but made it thanks to his outstanding entrepreneurial spirit. His first endeavour was setting up a successful second hand car business before acquiring a Formula One team. Throughout the book the reader is given plenty of examples showing his cleverness in seizing opportunities and to outsmart competitors, also by creating his own version of truth to say the least.
The book gives also great insights into the world of the rich and might and how they play their "games of thrones" up to government level in general and the Blair era in particular.
I can recommend this book to everyone with the slightest interest in Formula One but also to people who seek some advice how to play games further up in the food chain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intrigued by other bad reviews - enjoyable read whatever they say, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Cover 2.0. A friend read this book and recommended it to me. I did not know all the history so an interesting start.

5 11 13

Finished the book. Found it an enjoyable read especially as background to the current court cases. While reading the book I recalled the parable of the chicken who did all the work while asking for help and others then who refused to help wanted a share in the outcomes. I was only aware of the story in outline so full life details provided some interesting reading about both Bernie and other F1 figures. Bit too long as well, 300 pages would have been enough.

What happens during the next five years? Wow that's a story to be written ...

Alexander of the Allrighters' and Ywnwab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely no angel, 12 Dec 2011
Bernie Ecclestone - he has control of a global motorsport, but plays his cards very close to his chest. For me, the most interesting part of this book was how Ecclestone built himself up from London car-dealer to F1 supremo. Bower is forced to rely on much of Ecclestone's own testimony here, but he doesn't pull any punches when it comes to Ecclestone's ruthlessness - and I get the impression that Ecclestone would be happy to see himself described in such a way since having a ruthless reputation was part of his bargaining style. Ecclestone took and kept control of F1 through 'divide and conquer', constantly pitching rivals and colleagues against each other. He was also careful to ensure that he kept a large portion of every deal he brokered for himself. There are more sources for dealings over the last decade or so, but I began to tire of the constant back-stabbing and manoeuvring of Ecclestone, Max Mosley, Ron Dennis and Luca Montezemolo. Ecclestone comes across as an interesting character, a dealer who relied on his own wits to reach the top - but not one you can trust, and who would ditch anybody if it got him a better profit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely no angel, 6 Mar 2011
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
Fascinating book - couldn't put it down. Though in this case - compared to Maxwell and Branson - Ecclestone comes out of it pretty well. You do get the feeling that when he finally goes - and he is apparently 80 - he will be a very difficult act to follow. I predict civil war (no change there, then).

I've always thought the shenanigans off the track are way more interesting than those on it. The difference between what is reported publicly and what actually happened is quite astounding. For example the Labour £1M 'cash for ash' donation in the late 90's: completely different report in the book to what was spun publicly. Of course you don't know absolutely who's telling the truth, but the two are just not reconcilable - so somebody wasn't.

The only niggle I'd say is that since I've followed F1 closely for a very long time indeed, have quite a good memory, and and have also worked in that industry, I can pick out some little errors in it. Nothing major that has a real significance, but it does make me wonder what - if any - inconsistencies there are that I didn't notice.

But on balance, excellent. If you have any interest in F1 - read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful, 4 April 2011
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
The story sounds very convincing and you feel that you're gaining real insight ... except that there are such an extraordinary list of basic factual inaccuracies from dates, people, team names, who won races etc that you are left with the feeling that you can have no confidence in any of the information in the book. If the writer has not been bothered to find out the basic facts, which are all readily available, then how can we be sure that the rest of the book is not similarly poorly researched and therefore how can we feel that his conclusions are anything other than wild stabs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No angel - Bernie Ecclestone, 12 Nov 2011
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
Very poorly written. Chronology often difficult to follow; many factual inaccuracies. Surplus of financial data and doesn't even come close to revealing Bernie apart from the obvious - that he's an ace wheeler-dealer. I read it twice and was no wiser (or better informed!) the second time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Staggeringly sloppy publisher!, 29 May 2011
This review is from: No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone (Hardcover)
Wow, what a mess! Just how does a mainstream publisher allow something this sloppy into print?

As plenty of other people have noted it's packed with toe-curling howlers; Tom Bower clearly knows nothing at all about motor racing per se. Any half-decent editor - indeed anyone with any interest in F1 at all - could have pointed out the idiocies and replaced them with simple but accurate summaries of what Bower is trying to say about the realities of racing itself. Given that the book is aimed primarily (one assumes) at people with an existing interest in F1, drivel along the lines "Lauda pressed down harder on the throttle to win the race..." is hardly likely to be well received.

Of course there's plenty of interesting content about convoluted financial shenanigans. Whether or not it's more accurate than the nonsense he writes about racing, I have no idea. One would hope so and it certainly sounds as though Bower is more interested in the subject of finance than he is in racing. Unfortunately it's a book about both subjects.

Shame on both the author and the publishers for releasing something this shoddy. It's an insult to its readers. Despite this I finished the book liking Bernie even more than I had previously; we share similar opinions about "The Minister for Rubbish" Richard Branson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone
No Angel: The Secret Life of Bernie Ecclestone by Tom Bower (Hardcover - 24 Feb 2011)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews