Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Readable and a bit mad!
It reads like a of scrap-book of thoughts and memories from a fascinating career, including some pretty eccentric philosophising. But for anyone who loves the films - absolutely essential!
Published 21 months ago by Kiathos

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars However like his films there are some good parts interspersed with ...
I am aware that this book is not an autobiography.More a collection of thoughts.However like his films there are some good parts interspersed with some dull and boring parts.When he writes about his experiences on his film these are truly fascinating.However when he goes on to other subjects he tends to ramble at length,making you yearn for the next story.So I think that...
Published 1 month ago by Wingate


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars However like his films there are some good parts interspersed with ..., 23 April 2015
This review is from: The World is Ever Changing (Paperback)
I am aware that this book is not an autobiography.More a collection of thoughts.However like his films there are some good parts interspersed with some dull and boring parts.When he writes about his experiences on his film these are truly fascinating.However when he goes on to other subjects he tends to ramble at length,making you yearn for the next story.So I think that this book is very much for those that enjoy every part of every one of his films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Readable and a bit mad!, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It reads like a of scrap-book of thoughts and memories from a fascinating career, including some pretty eccentric philosophising. But for anyone who loves the films - absolutely essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World is Ever Changing (Paperback)
Very interesting man but i think you have to be a fan already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight into the mind of the greatest director ever, 2 Feb. 2014
By 
Mister Terne (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All right, I am more than just a fan of Mister Roeg. With that in mind, was I ever going to to think of this collection of thoughts, memories, and ideas as anything less than a masterpiece? No. Still, for other like-minded people who have an interest in the films of Nicolas Roeg this is nothing less than an essential purchase and I cannot recommend it highly enough. It contains a good selection of photographs too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why the faux-naive tone? Why treat these delicate pearls of anecdotes so coarsely. Roeg has long been one of my favourite directors, but, reading this, I am left with the impression that most of his successes came about by accident - or at least that he didn't appreciate what great successes they were, or how he achieved them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rather Like a Conversation, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Those of us who find it quite easy to separate the various selves that dwell in our psyches will appreciate this affectionate tribute to Cinema.
As one who gained an invaluable spiritual education from visits to cinemas, as a young child, I regret the way it has prostituted itself in pursuit of banality and violence.
What's more, those of us who appreciate "hallmarks," so much looked forward to the work of directors who had "something" to say.
But, in reference to what Nicolas Roeg has done, in his long career, and as a former teacher who showed "Walkabout" to those who had difficulty in getting to grips with books ( at what was, then CSE level) at least 18 times I know what a wonderful storyteller he is.
He made his mark!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... someone who really likes Nicolas Roegs work so its perfect for him, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World is Ever Changing (Paperback)
This book was a gift for someone who really likes Nicolas Roegs work so its perfect for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Film Buffs, 22 Sept. 2013
By 
P. Parkes (East Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing insight into this wonderful directors work and life.I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in films and how they are made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must read story for anyone interested in movies and Roeg's journey as a movie maker..........., 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not often one reads a memoir or autobiography with any degree of enthusiasm in the sense of knowing the subject hardly at all by The End!! So, how utterly fantastic to come across this beautifully written and observed book by our most original film maker Nicolas Roeg. From the front cover where we find Mr Roeg beaming at us as Director of Photography on "Far From the Madding Crowd" to the final page accompanying a wonderfully resigned look of Roeg with Donald Sutherland on the set of "Don't look Now" this is a must read story for anyone interested in movies and Roeg's journey as a movie maker.

I was fascinated by the thought of Time which occupies him and with which he plays whimsically through the book. Rich in anecdotes and very funny, yet above all, I felt I was in the company of this marvellous character as I turned the pages.

I recommend this highly.

Sir Timothy Ackroyd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World is Ever Changing
The World is Ever Changing by Nicolas Roeg (Paperback - 14 Nov. 2013)
£17.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews