Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Of interest to fans of detective fiction
This is a short book comprising a series of elegantly written, inter-related essays about aspects of detective fiction by one of the best writers in this genre. The book will appeal to those who read a lot of detective fiction and will recognize many of the authors and books with pleasure as she reminds us of the books we've read and enjoyed. She has read and re-read a...
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by Bluebell

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An overview of the history of the subject
I love P.D. James' novels and so I read this anticipating some real insights into writing detective fiction. I was very disappointed by it, but then I realised that I was probably expecting more than the writer set out to deliver. It is just 'talking about' the subject - nothing more profound. What disappointed me most was that the chapters were simply a pass through...
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by The Book Witch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Of interest to fans of detective fiction, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a short book comprising a series of elegantly written, inter-related essays about aspects of detective fiction by one of the best writers in this genre. The book will appeal to those who read a lot of detective fiction and will recognize many of the authors and books with pleasure as she reminds us of the books we've read and enjoyed. She has read and re-read a prodigious number of books in this category in her long life and it's interesting to learn what has influenced her own work and also about her views on authors past and present, though there is scant allusion to the authors of modern detective fiction such as Colin Dexter, Ian Rankin, Peter Lovesey or Ruth Rendell, which may reflect PD James's acknowledged reluctance to act as a reviewer/critic of her contemporaries.

Talking about Detective Fiction starts with an essay about the birth of this genre and the importance of Conon Doyle in making this kind of book popular. Much of the book concentrates on what she terms the "Golden Age" of detective fiction and the writers Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, Margery Allingham and Ngaio Marsh figure largely. The American Golden Age also merits a chapter about the more gritty-style of Dashell Hammett and Ryamond Chandler. One of the later chapters touches on why PD James started to write detective fiction and a little about her approach to writing.

This is not an in-depth analysis of detective fiction: more a sampler of what's available, mainly from the past, and how these earlier books reflected the society of the time and influenced later writers. I enjoyed this book as not only did it remind me of books I'd read it also referred to authors from the past that I haven't read and might try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable little meditation by a genre master, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Red Rivere (Home on the Range) - See all my reviews
P. D. James is an acknowledged giant of the detective fiction genre. Nearly ninety years of age, she now looks back over the genre she has been a part of herself for forty-five years.

"Talking about Detective Fiction" is a small, attractive volume of 160 pages (rather large print and copious white space make it even shorter than it first appears) that can be pleasurably read in an evening. James is an elegant writer and masterful essayist and people will enjoy reading her thoughts on the genre.

Those familiar with James' earlier critical writings will recognize some of the same material here, but it is pleasing to see all her thoughts gathered in one place, along with her latest ideas. James writes mostly about the so-called Golden Age of detective fiction (emphasizing the contribution of the Crime Queens Christie, Sayers, Allingham and Marsh, who get their own chapter), but she also has general chapters on the craft of detective fiction, the reasons for its appeal and its prospects for the future.

Modern and American writers get short shrift, barring the great hardboiled triumverate of Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler and Ross Macdonald, limiting the book's utility as a general survey. James also emphasizes her belief that "realism" is the superior mode for detective fiction. Like Dorothy L. Sayers, she celebrates as a model for detective fiction the nineteenth-century novel of manners. Indeed, Sayers is clearly a huge influence on James' own critical thinking (James mentions reading Gaudy Night a year after it was published and explains the great impact it had on her). Another great influence is the late crime novelist and critic Julian Symons and his landmark 1972 study, "Bloody Murder." In other words, James does not break new critical ground, but she nevertheless produces some fragrant blooms from the old soil. Fans of Golden Age detective fiction and of P. D. James should enjoy the scent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars P.D.James on detective fiction, 9 Nov 2009
By 
J. Suyderhoud (ouderkerk aan den ijssel, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not a book on the general history of detective fiction, but a concise narrative of P.D. James on detective fiction in the English language, written on request of the Bodleian Library. It tells you much of P.D. James and her appreciation of this genre, her favourite period being named "the Golden Age" of the English Detective novel featuring the "Four Formidable Women". This preference is no surprise, as her detective novel "The Private Patient" is written in the same fashion. If you like the novels of P.D. James, this book gives you in the same eloquent style valuable background information and a better understanding of her work. If you do not, you will most probably not agree with her judgement and point of view. Therefore a must for P.D. James fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative read, 2 Mar 2012
Recommended for all who enjoy detective fiction, though as the lady herself observes, a story doesn't need a detective to be detective fiction. Holmes & Conan Doyle are examined in detail, as is the Golden Era - Christie, Sayers et al, before our peerless author examines how the detective novel has evolved from its inception to present. Very enjoyable, informative, and what's more, the author's royalties are being donated to the Bodleian Library. I've become even fonder of P.D. James, if possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A short enjoyable overview, 10 May 2011
By 
Eleanor (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Talking About Detective Fiction (Paperback)
In this enjoyable monograph P. D. James discusses the genre of detective fiction, from its nineteenth century origins to the present day, focusing mainly on England's inter-war 'Golden Age'. The book is very readable, even on familiar subjects, with well-chosen examples and quotations. James writes from the perspective of a practitioner of the craft, and her observations are astute, well-written, and often very witty.

This is a short book, and I'm sure readers will regret the omissions of their personal favourites (no Carter Dickson! no Harry Kemelman!). James, however, cannot be expected to cover the whole of the genre and I finished the book with a reignited affection for the form, and a reading list which I can't wait to get started on.

James admirably tries not to give away too many plot twists or endings of the various books she discusses. However, readers who don't know the identity of the murderer in "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd" will want to avoid page 53, and page 92 is out for those who don't want to know the ingenious ways in which Sayers's victims meet their ends.

Sometimes the prose felt slightly disjointed, with paragraphs not always smoothly following on from one other, and there was some repetition as well. I also would have appreciated an index of authors mentioned. But these are very minor quibbles and I would recommend this book both to fans of the genre and to newcomers wanting a place to start. As an added bonus a portion of the proceeds of the paperback edition will be donated to Bodleian Library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detective Fiction - an Insider's View, 4 Feb 2010
By 
G. M. Sinstadt - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
P D James in this little roam around the genre pays proper tribute to the work of others, notably Julian Symons; it is to those authors we should look for a more exhaustive survey. Ms James, in her somewhat arbitrary choice of subjects, makes valid points about the essentials of detective fiction. If one cavils here and there, it is not to deny the pleasure this volume has given but rather to provide further food for thought.

For example, her enthusiasm for Conan Doyle and Sherlock Holmes is easy to share; but Holmes' frequent dependence on esoteric knowledge (sometimes retrieved from one of his cuttings books) hardly accords with Ms James' assertion that "... the reader shpuld be able to arrive at [a solution] by logical deduction from clues inserted in the novel ..." By the same token I seem to recall that when I read Dorothy Sayers' The Nine Tailors (admittedly many years ago), I felt slightly cheated because my knowledge of campanology left me floundering.

Again, the brief diversion into the American school of hard-boiled private eyes uncontroversially cites Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler and Ross Macdonald, but it is sad to find no acknowledgment for Robert B Parker's Spenser, an authentic heir to Chandler's legacy.

There is much eulogising of the Golden Age - roughly the period between the wars - but it is only at the very end of the book that there is a nod towards the master of the locked room mystry, John Dickson Carr, who had much to do with my early addicition. Among modern writers Ms James finds room for C J Ransom and Matthew Shardlake (hear hear), and for Alexander McCall Smith's charming Mma Precious Ramotswe; but sadly there is not even a mention of Donna Leon whose intimate portrayal of Venice where Commissario Guido Brunetti operates as a most human policeman places her in the forefront of today's practitioners.

However, the very fact that one has been provoked into trading thoughts with Ms James merely emphasises what a success her slim book is. Do read it - and cavil if you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An overview of the history of the subject, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking About Detective Fiction (Paperback)
I love P.D. James' novels and so I read this anticipating some real insights into writing detective fiction. I was very disappointed by it, but then I realised that I was probably expecting more than the writer set out to deliver. It is just 'talking about' the subject - nothing more profound. What disappointed me most was that the chapters were simply a pass through the history of the detective novel - she concentrates on the 'classic' books and talks about Agatha Christie, Sherlock Holmes, Dorothy Sayers etc. Raymond Chandler gets a mention, but not other Americans. And the great contemporary proliferation of the genre (of which she is one of the beneficiaries) doesn't get much coverage at all. It all felt very dated. What I wanted was an analysis of the genre - what makes the great thriller writers great and perhaps some recommendations of new writers to read.
The book was an interesting series of essays though and there are some very good illustrations and quotes. It was written to raise money for the Bodleian Library and PD James was almost 90 when she wrote it. A very remarkable woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plot and Character, 23 April 2010
The other customer reviews of " Talking about Detective Fiction" reveal the attraction of this

book. Here is an author talking about a subject she understands with complete authority.

But it is not presented as an academic essay or thesis but rather as a sharing of her thoughts and

enthusiasm by someone who loves reading and writing detective stories. Her range covers

from Wilkie Collins and Chesterton to the current creators of Rebus or Kurt Wallander.

I particularly like the pages of the later chapters where she analyses the balance between the plot

( the essential ' What happens next ?' ), the characters with their intellectual and social

backgrounds and the 'point of view' - the relation of the narrator to the story.

I was fascinated to find her admission that however well she thought she knew the characters that

she had created ' they reveal themselves more clearly during the writing and I never get exactly the

novel that I planned '. As a reader, I have discovered that this autonomy of the characters reacting

independently within the author's framework is one of the joys of the best stories and can be recognised

in a Shakespeare play or a Jane Austen novels. For confirmation of this insight I award her the fifth star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A writer speaks, 24 Feb 2010
Well, I must thank whoever it was at the Bodleian Library who asked P D James to write a book about British detective fiction in aid of the library. She accepted and she has given that venerable institution a tiny gem. A series of eight beautifully-written and well-reasoned linked essays.

Of course eight essays could never encompass the whole history of the genre, but Baroness James writes in the main about what she knows, and she does it with great authority and, equally importantly, with love.

First she considers where it all began, tracing a path including Jane Austen's Emma, The Moonstone, Caleb Williams, Sergeant Cuff and the real-life Mr Whicher to the detective stories of the twentieth century. And what makes a detective story? How many possibilities are there? More than I realised, and I am looking back at favourite books now with fresh eyes.

And so to specifics. Sherlock Holmes and Father Brown. Conan-Doyle is given great credit for his creation, but the author is quite prepared to point out a few weaknesses, and I have to say I agree with her. She points to "The Speckled Band" as a story that was terrifying "but "frankly incredible." Yes! I remember, years ago, my class's English teacher giving us half the story and then having us write the solution. Mine was so much better than Conan-Doyle's! The contrast with Father Brown shows best detectives off to their best advantage. I have never read Father Brown, but clearly I must.

Then it was on to the Golden Age, and a wonderful appreciation of the age and the style, taking in all of the obvious big names and a few less obvious ones. Why have I never read "Trent's Last Case" by E C Bentley? It's definitely time to check the library catalogue! There's a nod the hard-boiled American contemporaries of Inspector Appleby, Professor Fen, Francis Pettigrew, et al. And a fair hearing for American criticisms of the British style.

Next comes what is maybe the strongest part of the book. An appreciation of the four grande dames: Agatha Christie, Dorothy L Sayers, Margery Allingham and Ngaio Marsh. P D James clearly knows the work of all four well, and she highlights the strengths of each, as well as gently pointing out a few weak points. She clearly has a soft spot for both Harriet Vane and Lady Amanda Fitton. Of course, these must have been the authors, the stories, the characters she read when they were brand new and she was a young woman.

And then its on with a look at how the detective novel has evolved since the Golden Age and the detective novel today. The author has much to say about the form, and I was fascinated by her thoughts and the insight they showed, but she is a little less willing to give opinions of her contemporaries and the generations that followed. Though Ruth Rendell, Ian Rankin and Sarah Paretsky all receive kind words. Her heart clearly lies with the Golden Age, but she is generally positive about the state of the detective novel and possibilities for the future.

If you want a comprehensive guide to detective fiction you will need to look elsewhere. But if you want an appreciation of the form written with intelligence and insight this book will do very nicely. Because it has clearly been written by a somebody who loves reading, writing and writing about detective fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking About Detective Fiction (Paperback)
The author writes well. The writing is clear, explicit and informative. The text suited the purposes for which it was bought, which was to understand Baroness's thinking and writing on detective fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talking About Detective Fiction
Talking About Detective Fiction by P. D. James (Paperback - 7 Oct 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews