Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Answer is "150"--And, For a Change, Not "42"
The Answer is "150"--And, for a Change, Not "42", March 7, 2010

Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Robin Dunbar, Professor of Evolutionary Anthropology at Oxford University, offers a fascinating collection of essays about the evolution of humans and human society. The answer to the book's title, "How Many Friends Does One Person Need?", is somewhere...
Published on 7 Mar. 2010 by William Holmes

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun but too egocentric
Dunbar writes well and he has very strong opinions, or let's say claims about the certainty of his results. At times he seems to be more interested in his own promotion than of the discussion of the results of evolutionary psychology. But this is certainly a good introduction for the uninitiated
Published on 13 April 2010 by Jippu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Answer is "150"--And, For a Change, Not "42", 7 Mar. 2010
By 
William Holmes "semloh2287" (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Many Friends Does One Person Need?: Dunbar's Number and Other Evolutionary Quirks (Hardcover)
The Answer is "150"--And, for a Change, Not "42", March 7, 2010

Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Robin Dunbar, Professor of Evolutionary Anthropology at Oxford University, offers a fascinating collection of essays about the evolution of humans and human society. The answer to the book's title, "How Many Friends Does One Person Need?", is somewhere around 150 (Dunbar's Number). From groups of hunter-gatherers to well-run corporations and armies, the number 150 is a basic (and maximum) building block for human organizations. Groups with fewer than 150 individuals can generally function on a first name basis--members can actually know, to one degree or another, everyone in the group. Groups larger than 150 tend to exceed the capacity of individual members to keep track of social complexity, which means that, like large corporate enterprises, they need heirarchy and management to preserve manageable group structures.

According to Dunbar, the complexity of human society--not tools, or walking upright, or hunting--it the primary force driving the growth of the human brain. Our brains enable us to speak and sing and otherwise communicate with each other without actually touching, so we can groom each other at a distance, so to speak. Because our social interactions don't require one-on-one contact, human groups can be larger than the groups of our primate cousins--but group size still has a limit, which appears to be about 150.

Dunbar's book is very readable and is filled with fascinating tidbits, like the fact that all human infants (even the ones who are carried to a full nine month term) are born premature. For our children to be born at the same level of development as, say, a chimpanzee, the gestation period would need to be about 22 months. Human children are born prematurely and require a great deal of parental care because that it the balance evolution has struck between large brain size, the woman's pelvis, and the woman's ability to walk upright. The relative helplessness of human infants puts an additional premium on pair bonding, communication and group support, thus driving a feedback loop rewarding bigger and more social brains.

Dunbar tackles a number of other intriguing questions about human behavior, including why are we often, but not always, monogomous? From which single conqueror are more than 8.5% of the men in Asia now descended? Why is gossip important? This book is an easy one to pick up and keep at, with each chapter drawing the reader in with yet another insight about the quirks that make us human. I highly recommend this book, along with Dubar's equally fascinating The Human Story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We are the product of our evolutionary history, 8 Jan. 2011
By 
Simon Laub (Aarhus, Denmark, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Many Friends Does One Person Need?: Dunbar's Number and Other Evolutionary Quirks (Hardcover)
We are the the product of our evolutionary history, according to professor (of evolutionary anthropology at Oxford University) Robin Dunbar. According to Dunbar, the evidence is everywhere: From the way we socially interact (Grooming, laughter, music and language), to the way our minds are actually build and onwards to the way our minds are capable of reflecting about the world. There is an evolutionary hand in it everywhere. The book is a delightful and fascinating read, sharing insights from many fields, but always with a focus on evolutionary biology.

Sections about grooming are especially good. Indeed, grooming is not just about removing fleas. It is about intimacy, it creates a sense of wellbeing and relaxed connectedness. It has to do with endorphins. Laughter, music and language are all forms of grooming, even though they might have other purposes as well. It is all about what makes us work as individuals and as groups.

Our big brains are necessary for these more advanced forms of grooming. And the grooming makes it possible to build even bigger brains. All in just in a blink of an eye in evolutionary terms.

An exciting book about an exciting subject.

-Simon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Reader, 8 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Many Friends Does One Person Need?: Dunbar's Number and Other Evolutionary Quirks (Hardcover)
Dunbar makes the complex simple and illuminates with every sentence. This is not an academic treatise - and yet it is. Stuffed with fascinating detail about why we natter. I bought all of Dunbar's books on Amazon and they are all excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for everyone who is interested to know, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is entertaining, informative, scope is spread from biology to demography to history to physics to astronomy to philosophy. The author takes you along on a journey of the travel of human consciousness in the universe. It is rational, logically explains issues in evolution to mathematics. It answers a lots of whys, hows, whens which humanity seeks. I am loving every page of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 24 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Robin Dunbar is to anthropology what Brian Cox is to physics. He has an entertaining and thought provoking way of explaining why we are as we are. Read this book and reflect on the social malaise currently affecting the world and you can see that actually, it's obvious why we have so much unrest.

To test the book's appeal, I gave my copy to my 86yr old uncle, who rarely reads books these days. He loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY interesting! Gets you thinking, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a really good read.

If you like deep thought provoking articles regarding human behaviour, evolution, evolution psychology, anthropology, religion, why belief systems don't work and other high octane subjects, then this is a good read!

For weeks afterwards it kept me thinking about why things are the way they are.

Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finding your audience, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We've run four successful crowdfunding campaigns as a company for our last few films and none of them were quite what we anticipated before we started in terms of how the idea would spread and who would connect / not connect strongly with us. This book is a gem when it comes to understanding that whole dynamic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars new way of seeing things, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A novel approach to eternal issues.
The 'sciencey' bits were hard-going, but worth the effort.
He should stay off education: the reason children spend less time on competitive school sports is because they do not feature in school league tables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars McMillan, 31 May 2010
By 
This review is from: How Many Friends Does One Person Need?: Dunbar's Number and Other Evolutionary Quirks (Hardcover)
Written so the layman can understand a complex subject, Robin also has a sense of humour, a trait not often found in authors of such serious subjects!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun but too egocentric, 13 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Many Friends Does One Person Need?: Dunbar's Number and Other Evolutionary Quirks (Hardcover)
Dunbar writes well and he has very strong opinions, or let's say claims about the certainty of his results. At times he seems to be more interested in his own promotion than of the discussion of the results of evolutionary psychology. But this is certainly a good introduction for the uninitiated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Many Friends Does One Person Need?: Dunbar's Number and Other Evolutionary Quirks
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews