Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars P.D. James' Debut Novel
Sally Jupp is unexpectedly attractive--and an unwed mother in an era when such still carries considerable stigma. After a sterling record at a home for "fallen women," she finds work as a maid for the aristocratic but somewhat impoverished Maxie family, and once installed shows another aspect of her personality: a perverse pleasure in creating unpleasantness for virtually...
Published on 15 Nov 2003 by Gary F. Taylor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars still reading this
yes this is a good story and I enjoy PD James a lot. Waiting for the denouement with bated breath.
Published 6 months ago by xxxyyzz


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars P.D. James' Debut Novel, 15 Nov 2003
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cover Her Face (Paperback)
Sally Jupp is unexpectedly attractive--and an unwed mother in an era when such still carries considerable stigma. After a sterling record at a home for "fallen women," she finds work as a maid for the aristocratic but somewhat impoverished Maxie family, and once installed shows another aspect of her personality: a perverse pleasure in creating unpleasantness for virtually every one who crosses her path. The Maxie family is largely impervious to her machinations... but when Sally goes so far as to tantalize a proposal of marriage from the Maxie son, her game of troubling the water turns lethal, and Scotland Yard's Inspector Dalgliesh is on the job.
This 1962 effort was P.D. James' first novel, and at the time it drew enough praise to immediately place among the foremost mystery writers of the day. And indeed there is much to be said for it: the story is well-constructed, the characters well drawn, and the crime is appropriately mysterious; on the whole it is a fast and fun read. But not all P.D. James fans will be impressed. Although there is more than a hint of the distinctive style and convolutions James will bring to her later work, it borrows a great deal in construction from Agatha Christie and not a little from Dorothy Sayers in terms of literary style, and Inspector Dalgliesh is not as well developed here as he will eventually become.
On the whole, I recommend the novel--but I recommend it to established fans of P.D. James, who will be interested to see her working in the "classic English murder mystery" style and enjoy comparing this debut work to the author's later and more impressive work. First timers would do better to select one of the many novels that find James at the peak of her form--with DEATH OF AN EXPERT WITNESS or A TASTE FOR DEATH particularly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to complain about here..., 16 Jan 2014
By 
S. Lindgren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
P.D. James's first crime novel, unabridged, with a straight reading by Roy Marsden. It wasn't likely to be a failure was it? And it isn't. If you don't know the story, I won't give any spoilers, because it's excellent. Not the most convoluted of her work (these things are relative -read that as 'quite a complex story in the great scheme of things'), it drips atmosphere with well-judged characters, and is also downright unpleasant in places. Roy Marsden should need little introduction, though today isn't as well known as he perhaps deserves. An actor's actor. He's highly respected, for very good reason. He also has some history with this particular novel, since he was lead in its 1985 TV adaptation. Here, he's on top form. Simple, to the point, beautifully judged and paced. All in all, well worth acquiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tension at Table, 9 Feb 2006
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cover Her Face (Paperback)
The distinguished Adam Dalgliesh stories begin with Cover Her Face. Few will find this their favorite book in the series. I decided to read Cover Her Face again to provide perspective on P.D. James's latest, The Lighthouse. From that retrospective look, I came away even more impressed with The Lighthouse.
But I do recommend that you read Cover Her Face. Although it isn't going to be a favorite of yours, it will be good reading.
The book's main weakness is that the detailed development of the place and characters doesn't quite have rich enough material to work with.
The plot itself has some marvelous twists and turns that build around the character of a most unusual murder victim, Sally Jupp, a marginally acceptable servant in a wealthy home. The other interesting aspect of the story relates to several interesting variations on the locked room mystery subgenre.
In later stories in the series, Baroness James let her imagination run freer . . . with superb results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tension at Table, 9 Feb 2006
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cover Her Face (Paperback)
The distinguished Adam Dalgliesh stories begin with Cover Her Face. Few will find this their favorite book in the series. I decided to read Cover Her Face again to provide perspective on P.D. James's latest, The Lighthouse. From that retrospective look, I came away even more impressed with The Lighthouse.
But I do recommend that you read Cover Her Face. Although it isn't going to be a favorite of yours, it will be good reading.
The book's main weakness is that the detailed development of the place and characters doesn't quite have rich enough material to work with.
The plot itself has some marvelous twists and turns that build around the character of a most unusual murder victim, Sally Jupp, a marginally acceptable servant in a wealthy home. The other interesting aspect of the story relates to several interesting variations on the locked room mystery subgenre.
In later stories in the series, Baroness James let her imagination run freer . . . with superb results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover Her Face (Kindle Edition)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover Her Face (Kindle Edition)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gripping read, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover Her Face (Kindle Edition)
it was a very gripping story to read and difficult to put away, which makes it a good read to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover Her Face (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, the story line was intriguing and kept me interested until the end of the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rambling, 16 Jan 2014
By 
J. Lyne (Forres, Morayshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am reviewing the audiobook version and found it to be the least satisfying of the many PD James books I have listened to or read.

The story rambles and seems to jump around a lot. Combine this with a very soothing voice reading the story and try as I might I could not prevent the story from becoming background noise. Occasionally the sound levels would jump and there is the odd crack or pop from the poor production - my first Audiogo book to do this. The narrator fails to inject any sort of character or interest into the reading.

I am sure that somewhere here is a good story, but for me I have tried three times now to listen to it but given up before the conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it!, 15 Jan 2014
By 
fivestarfrankie (chippenham, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Others have left less than flattering reviews as they feel this is and old fashioned detective story. Many of us prefer them and so I enjoyed this excellent audio book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cover Her Face
Cover Her Face by P. D. James (Paperback - 5 Aug 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews