Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


175 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating political novel with a great cast
Ten years ago, Barbara Kingsolver's Poisonwood Bible revealed the grim politics in the Congo. The Lacuna has a similarly political theme, this time turning her focus on Mexico and The US in the 1940s and 1950s.

I have to confess that I had to look up "Lacuna" in the dictionary. For the benefit of anyone as dumb as me, then it means a gap or missing piece. The...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by Ripple

versus
54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lacuna: Warm, witty and painful...
Since I read Prodigal Summer, Barbara Kingsolver has been one of my favourite writers, and I was not disappointed with her latest effort. Almost entirely written in diary and letter form, it is a private and intimate look at the life of Harrison Sheperd, a half American, half Mexican writer. Most of it is from his own perspective, starting as a young boy and covering the...
Published on 17 Mar 2010 by Book 1981


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

175 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating political novel with a great cast, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lacuna (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ten years ago, Barbara Kingsolver's Poisonwood Bible revealed the grim politics in the Congo. The Lacuna has a similarly political theme, this time turning her focus on Mexico and The US in the 1940s and 1950s.

I have to confess that I had to look up "Lacuna" in the dictionary. For the benefit of anyone as dumb as me, then it means a gap or missing piece. The title is apt on a number of levels. The book is told as if written by the fictional young boy and later writer Harrison Shepherd, initially though his diaries and later in newspaper articles and letters all compiled by the equally fictitious VB whose identity and relationship to the narrator are revealed later in the book.

Harrison grows up in Mexico (his flapper mother is divorced from his American father who still lives in "gringolandia". Always drawn to writing his experiences, after briefly attending a school in the US (where some parts of the diary are missing - one example of a Lacuna) he returns to Mexico and encounters the muralists and political activists Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo joining their household as a cook and mixer of plaster for Rivera. Harrison forms a connection with Frida (though unlike most of her male connections, Harrison is clearly gay and is more of a confidant to Frida) and through this connection gets to work with the exiled Lev Trotsky.

Later in the book more real life characters are introduced including the hunt for communist sympathisers led by J Edgar Hoover.

Another interpretation of the Lacuna is some of the "missing" history of the US - much of it political history that it would perhaps rather ignore. The first instance is when Harrison is at school and encounters the WWI veterans who camp in Washington DC to protest at being denied their bonus payments, and then onto the blindness to the actions of Trotsky's great adversary Stalin and later onto the communist paranoia that gripped the US. Kingsover brings her talent for political fiction onto both the US and Mexico in ways that are unsettling. While some of the articles quoted as press are indeed fictional, the reader gets a cold chill when they check some of the most scary ones and finds that they are in fact genuine - particularly in the tone taken against the Japanese in the mid 1940s - with not even the poor Japanese Beetle safe from Life magazines xenophobia.

Once or twice the clash between fiction and reality is clunky - Harrison asks Trotsky `so what really happened with Stalin' - but mostly it's a fascinating read and reveals much about the effective birth of the modern (ie post war) American ideal as well as the nature of imperialism in Mexico and the relationship between art and politics.

I loved it and recommend it highly. It's a mark of great credit that the fictional characters are as interesting as the real ones - particularly given the cast of Rivera, Kahlo, Trotsky et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 83 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but flawed, 19 Nov 2009
By 
purpleheart (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lacuna (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
`In the beginning were the howlers. In the first hour of dawn they begin their maroon-throated bellows, just as the hem of the sky begins to whiten.'

The novel opens in Isla Pixol, Mexico, in 1929. `The boy and his mother' have moved there on his mother's promise that they will be living a storybook life - but we are told that the story book is the Prisoner of Zenda, not a happy story.

The opening chapter is fascinating. As a reader I relaxed; the narrative is in the hands of a master storyteller. And then? After just one chapter there is the archivist's note. Harrison William Shepherd left just these pages as the start of his memoir. The rest of the narrative will be pieced together by `VB' from diaries and letters.

Of course Barbara Kingsolver, one of my favourite writers, does this well. This novel is always engrossing and well written. The Poisonwood Bible is Kingsolver's masterpiece; after ten years here is a novel on the same grand scale but unfortunately not as successful. Its subject matter covers Frieda Kahlo and her husband, Diego Rivera `The Painter', the death of Leon Trotsky, the McCarthy era in `50s USA. Oh yes, and the writer is only thirty or so when he dies after being dear friend of one, apprentice to another, secretary to the third. A bit much.

Look, it's Barbara Kingsolver, so of course you should read it and you will enjoy it.. but I can't help feeling that there is more than one novel here. Structurally, the parts that are woven together from old newspapers, journals etc, real and imagined are ok and this is a gripping read - so much better than most novels you will be seeing this year. But this isn't the Barbara Kingsolver I have adored since The Bean Trees and have been in awe of since The Poisonwood Bible. I was engrossed and found myself thinking about the novel a great deal when I wasn't actually reading it despite its structural flaws. I read it in a concentrated way so perhaps these were more apparent. I then waited about three weeks before writing this review because I just didn't want to admit that this isn't the masterpiece I hoped we were going to get. And sadly, I think this would have been a better book with less. The subject matter is fascinating but after the opening Harrison William Shepherd fails to convince as a character.

The title is La Lacuna, the gap. This book, despite many delights, doesn't quite fill it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lacuna: Warm, witty and painful..., 17 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lacuna (Hardcover)
Since I read Prodigal Summer, Barbara Kingsolver has been one of my favourite writers, and I was not disappointed with her latest effort. Almost entirely written in diary and letter form, it is a private and intimate look at the life of Harrison Sheperd, a half American, half Mexican writer. Most of it is from his own perspective, starting as a young boy and covering the span of his adult life.

It is remarkable because of how reality meets fiction in the cast of people he spends his young life in Mexico with - Painter Frida Kahlo and the exiled potential successor of Lenin, Leon Trotsky. We are given a privileged view of both character's lives, Frida's affairs and health problems, Trotsky's life in exile, and, ultimately, his assassination. In this, the book is unique and extremely interesting. These historical figures take on colourful personalities and depth, and whilst they might be a little romanticised, it never gets too close to trite for comfort.

One criticism I do have is consistency, as the book reads like two separate stories: Before and after the assassination. Sheperd has to leave Mexico after the assassination and book takes on a much slower pace - the story concerns itself with other matters, like the anti-communist hysteria in North America after WW2, civil liberties and gay rights. The colourful characters and the buzzing atmosphere of Mexico was suddenly replaced with stark loneliness in clinical US suburbia. I found this part of the book much less engaging and far too detailed. This section could easily be 100 pages shorter without detracting from the book, and I admit I struggled to work up the enthusiasm to finish it.

Having said that, it is, without a doubt, a beautifully written book based on some unique ideas and with some important messages. It is painful, warm, clever and witty, and the voice of Harrison Sheperd is mature and filled with emotion. His relationship with his stenographer Violet Brown is touching and sweet, and the character in herself is utterly unique and sometimes hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, must read, literary and fictional treat., 30 Jan 2011
By 
Angus Jenkinson "angusjenkinson" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lacuna (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I thought The Lacuna was a stronger book than The Poisonwood Bible. A boy grows up in offbeat style hitched to his mother who hitches herself to wealthy men in Mexico. He picks up a love of literature and writing, deep skills in cooking and a love of exploring underwater, during which he travels through an underwater tunnel into a far cave, the first lacuna of the book. Without spoiling the story it has an important role to play.

As a young man, he connects to Mexico's artworld by becoming the cook to Diego Rivera and lover of Frida Kahlo. From this he becomes personal secretary to the exiled Communist leader, Trotsky and his present at his assassination. He travels incognito to the United States, where he was born and where his father still lives, and becomes a successful writer with a loyal secretary of his own until the anti-Communist witch hunts that degraded America begin.

So much for the bones of the plot, but it has a deep sensual elegance in form and writing: something of the world of cuisine enters into the design and language, perhaps. And it has richly imagined and characterised protagonists, both fictional and from the world of fact. This interleaving of real and imagined is very successful, I think, although each person feels as real as the others. Wonderful writing, description, characterisation, coming-of-age, rich loving, tragedy, a moving narrative: all of these would be enough to make it a highly successful novel.

But The Lacuna is more than just a novel, it is a searing indictment in the tradition of The Grapes of Wrath of a disgraceful period in American history in which the universal comes to life in the individual. The lacuna, the emptiness, the hole, the gap in the world, is a lacuna in the moral history of America when the spirit of freedom and discovery that made it the exciting place in the emerging modern world was bankrupted by fear and the abuse that fear breeds. When the wounds of torture at Abu Ghraib and Guantánamo jails are still fresh with us, it's a timely reminder of how tyranny can sneak up on you.

Barbara Kingsolver's great achievement is to deliver this with such delicacy, carried on the wings of nurtured hope and of mournful loss of opportunity in a young life. By the same token, her conclusion suggests that hope is not easy to conquer. What has been lost can be found.

A great, must read, literary and fictional treat that packs a social punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, engaging book., 30 Aug 2010
By 
M. C. Holliman (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lacuna (Paperback)
Now this is what a call a good read; a beautifully structured slow burner with a faboulously controlled mounting of tension and a satisfying ending. The characters were engaging and Kingsolver skillfully builds her fiction around the historical reality of the 1930s and '40s, even bringing a young Richard Nixon in for a walk-on part.
This book has depth and beauty, with recurring themes and images which are subtle but effective.
I condemn the reviewers here who have rated it low without even having the stamina to finish the book first.
It is not a lightweight, but it lifts, soars and flies if you give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rewarding read requiring a little patience., 4 Aug 2010
By 
dannunzio19 (st albans, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lacuna (Paperback)
Barbara Kingsolver's novel, which comes in at 700 pages, is slow to reveal its brilliance but well worth the perseverance. Unlike others I initially warmed to the novel but after the first 50 pages the novel meanders a little and had I not been on holiday, and therefore been able to push through the next 100 pages in a sitting, I am not sure I would have stuck with it. However, the lesson here is obvious. Rather like Ian McEwen's Atonement the relevance of the early story comes to the fore later and is done so adroitly. There are several themes and story threads in this book, which having been pointed out by several others I won't repeat, but they are maintained very skillfully and bought together in a wonderful climax. The other comparison that sprung to mind was the Godfather part II - as the story changes from one aspect to another there is a sadness to leave that focus but very quickly you are drawn into the new one and this is surely the sign of an author in command of her audience. Thorughly recommended as a beach read but also as a meditation on the misuse of political power across time and place and people's complicity in that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant after a meandering start, 27 July 2010
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lacuna (Paperback)
"You have to get right into the action, readers are impatient." Perhaps Barbara Kingsolver should have heeded the advice of her "hero", the author Harrison Shepherd. The first couple of hundred pages were heavy going, being mainly in the form of the diary written largely in Mexico by the teenage Harrison, rambling entries in an often pretentious style with stilted conversations and unengaging characters, not least the waspish woman who turned out to be the painter Frida Kahlo- it was hard to believe she was only about five years older than Harrison. I realised later that the style had a point as he was meant to be developing his voice as a writer. Also, the relevance of the initially tedious interruptions of the "Archivist's Notes" made sense in due course. The odd witty comment or well-observed scene made the effort of reading worthwhile, such as the vivid account (back in America) of bystanders caught up in an over-zealous attack , as government troops used tear gas and brute force to quell demonstrating soldiers with a legitimate grievance over pay. However, too much hung on the reputation of "The Poisonwood Bible" to keep me reading.

The plot picked up pace when Trotsky appeared on the scene, but the book really began to absorb me on Harrison's return to the States, as a guilt-ridden young man who hadn't managed to save Trotsky from the icepick, inspired to write novels by Frida. Kingsolver's descriptions of small-town life in the Mid-West rang truer for me than those of the painter Rivera's household in Mexico. However, perhaps the writing had found its rhythm because the subsequent return visits to Mexico with Harrison's assistant Violet Brown (and her spendlid dry wit - "Even a feather dust will lay an egg in April") also seemed more alive.

I was very impressed by the build up of tension as Harrison inadvertently but inexorably attracted the malign attention of the Committee of Un-American Activities, culminating in a excellent trial scene, written like a play - out-crucibling "The Crucible". The final section tied up the ends neatly, and returned full circle to show the relevance of some of the earlier passages, such as Harrison's discovery of his first "lacuna"- the hole in the cliff exposed only at low tide. I liked the final note of optimism to relieve the initial apparent darkness of the ending. The author succeeded in making us grow to care about Harrison.

Unlike, "Poisonwood", which tails off and loses focus after a brilliant first part, this book has an excellent second half, but a beginning which could have done with more hints of the promise to come. A shorter first part with a sharper focus would have made a more effective novel overall. I could have done with a glossary of Mexican terms, a brief history and biography of the historical characters, for quick reference.

It was an interesting approach to make "an ordinary man" the vehicle for an exploration of the abuse of power, and the similarities in this respect between apparently very different regimes, be they ancient Mexico, the Soviet Union under Stalin, or the States when prey to McCarthyism. In the process, the "celebrities", Frida and her husband, were perhaps unduly blurred, although Trotsky was portrayed as a more rounded and sympathetic character. I am not sure that Kingsolver has revealed any great truths or insights, but she has the power to remind and outrage us once again over the way men can misuse ideologies to persecute each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dispense with the first 243 pages and it's a good read, 22 July 2010
By 
Maccoll Hamish "Chanpaszen" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lacuna (Paperback)
At a third of the way thru this book I was really struggling. I knew a little of Frida Kahlo and Trotsky before I started - I knew almost nothing of Mexico and after 247 pages I still know nothing. In the beginning we have the boy who seems very unconvincing as a boy - more like a woman's idea of a boy than a boy. The mother is more convincingly drawn but she quickly becomes a ghost of a figure and then she dies without her son showing any real emotion. The story is largely told thru the eyes of the son who seems to be a none too bright servant, reporting the gossip of the other characters and his own observations. If it weren't for the fact that the protagonists are historically famous people it would be just another soap story. You would have thought we would get more into the mind of Frida Kahlo and more of Trotsky but no, we just get the rather bland observations of servants who have never ventured far from home and don't seem to have any opinions of their own.

Strangely enough when you get to around page 244 the book picks up - the protagonists start interacting and our hero starts expressing opinions. The first 250 pages now seem like the author racing thru early life to set the scene.
If you're struggling with it like me I'd recommend jumping to page 244. The only thing you've missed is the Lacuna itself which is covered very briefly near the beginning. The boy Harrison Shepherd finds a secret cave approached by an underwater entrance which has another exit to a lake in the jungle. It is only a passing reference but it figures again at the end of the book.
After page 244 the book grows more and more interesting. After the assassination of Trotsky, Harrison Shepherd moves to the US and becomes a successful writer. We get to see the reviews of his books which are strangely fascinating. Then comes the anti-communist period after the war with all the crazies coming out the woodwork and the witch hunts and manipulation of the mob - all very interesting.

In the end not as bad as I originally thought but not great either. I'm not sure about the prose. Have we had any great prose-writers since the arrival of television? If you can think of any compare them to Neil Gunn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Persevere for rich rewards, 19 Oct 2012
By 
Mark Meynell "quaesitor" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lacuna (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is weighty, intricate and intense. Of course, the worlds of Rivera and Kahlo in Mexico and the internecine battles of the Stalinist era (i.e. the reason Trotsky ends up in the narrative) will not be everyone's cup of tea. And 500 pages is a demanding challenge for many. So it requires perseverance at the very least to gain from what is a richly rewarding and fascinating novel. But it is worth it.

For what this does is to bring a far wider, global perspective on the traumas of McCarthy-era America, and the individuals who were caught up by it. This is a book to wrestle with and chew over but it is not for the feint-hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking something at the core., 1 Jun 2012
By 
J. Charlesworth (Lewes, E. Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lacuna (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really looked forward to reading this as I loved Barbara Kingsolver's Poisonwood Bible and I feel a bit mean to be saying that I was disappointed by it - a bit like teachers who say you can do better when your essay is marked with a "A". The Lacuna, while beautifully written, didn't thrill me to the same extent as Kingsolver's other books. It has passages of sheer, beautiful prose, warm with the Mexican sun, cold with the American depression, told from the perspective of a boy - Harrison Shepard - whose relationship with his mother almost puts him in exile himself - a clever connection with the historical figures he interacts with.

However while I liked this book, I didn't love it for a couple of reasons - the political and historical figures (Kahlo, Riviera, Trotsky) are interesting and brought to life with gorgeous detail, but they ended up feeling a bit trite and the details, while interesting, seemed somehow over-gratuitous proof of the author's research. I'm not a fan of historical fiction where well-known stories are told by an "outsider". The scenes of Shepard's early life are painful to read because they are so descriptive; ignored by his gold-digging mother and so the first half of the book mostly consists of him interacting with the cook -who in memorable and breathtakingly lovely scenes teaches him how to make tortillas and empanadas- and other locals. It's an odd perspective as I'm sure it's intended to be. This shifts later on, but the contrast doesn't feel quite natural to me and in combination with the vague "journal" format made the book read more like a series of vignettes than a coherent, flowing novel. To me, it simply felt like Kingsolver tries to cover too many political and historical issues in this novel, especially in comparison with her other work, which is a pity, because there is an awful lot to like about the parts of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lacuna
The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver (Hardcover - 5 Nov 2009)
13.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews