Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Commandos With the Golden Intel
Nick Rankin has delivered a must-read! "Ian Flemings Commandos: The Story of 30 Assault Unit in WWll" is a fantastically concise yet comprehensive account of the team of British elite soldiers and Naval officers who were picked for some of the most risky yet important wartime missions. The book is a sprawling saga covering the run up to war, the contexts in which the need...
Published on 4 Oct 2011 by Wil_Yates

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book suffers from split personality disorder
I enjoyed this for the most part and it held my interest quite well.

That said, Rankin seems to be trying to write several different books at the same time - a biography of Ian Fleming, a history of 30 Assault Unit and an account of the inner workings of British naval intelligence during WWII. You get a lot of information about the latter and there are an awful...
Published on 10 Jun 2012 by DJB1968


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars book by Nicholas Rankin, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. D. G. Rose "bookworm" (doncaster u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived on time and although I have not read it all yet the general opinion is that it will be very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the true story of work coordinated by Ian Flemming during W W2 . Highly recommended this book. Gripping historical read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read!, 13 Mar 2013
A good read and interesting. Recommended to anyone interested in the special forces in World War 2 and/or Ian Fleming and James Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To know who James Bond was, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All to know the real James Bond in life and how it all started - Peter Huntington-Whiteley leader of Ian Bond's Commandos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ian Fleming's Commandos: The Story of 30 Assault Unit in WWII (Paperback)
Arrived promptly, good service. Good value for book. A cracking read. HUbster loved it. Good for Bond/Fleming fans. Woo hoo1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite entertaining with a journalistic style, 11 Dec 2012
By 
G. MARBOT (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ian Fleming's Commandos: The Story of 30 Assault Unit in WWII (Paperback)
A really entertaining book about a specific unit of WWII. It is full of details and told with a journalistic style: lot of stories, goodies, sometimes a bit confused.

The best thing about this book is how it relates the life of Ian Fleming and the characters, events and situations that he came across to the James Bond's novels.

Sometimes overtly chauvinistic about english fighters (is it good or bad?) and about the place of a specific forbidden-to-mention organized community and how it did during the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 15 Feb 2012
I was given this book to read by the last living member of 30 AU and once started found it hard to out down. The story telling is a little disjointed which can make it hard to follow, but the descriptive language used gives pace and colour to what could have easily been a dry and factual piece. When I have given the book back, I will buy my own copy to keep for my children to read as an insight into what war can drive men to do and achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 16 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. I McCartney (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really interesting and informative account of NID, Fleming and the 30AU. The book s well-researched and engagingly written. If I had one criticism it is that some of the story lines are chopped up around other events, making it tricky to follow in places. A minor blemish on an otherwise great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars True, but could have been better, 31 Jan 2012
By 
P. Mills - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't profess to be a reader. Be this the case, the author gives a good factually correct story, but does not go into a story telling format. It's far too much overview and concentrates on people and titles that frankly could have been mentioned and dropped. I also noted the tendency to over explain some things and constant use of German unit names, when clearly when the unit is explained and the equivalent English title is used the author should just continue with that version to aid and help the flow of the reader. Unlike most books I have read, I did not feel the need to finish this book and was disappointed in the story line in general. My opinion! Give it a go and judge for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye Opening Read, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, well written, informative from an historical point of view and nicely ties actual operations to Fleming's Bond books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ian Fleming's Commandos: The Story of 30 Assault Unit in WWII
Ian Fleming's Commandos: The Story of 30 Assault Unit in WWII by Nicholas Rankin (Paperback - 3 May 2012)
3.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews