Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dalgliesh Becomes a Memorable Detective
In Cover Her Face, the first book in this distinguished series, Adam Dalgliesh plays second fiddle to an intricate plot. In A Mind to Murder, the book revolves around the questioning mind of A.D. and he begins to come to life as an interesting character. The plot isn't nearly as intricate as in Cover Her Face, but the twists and turns are more entertainingly told...
Published on 18 Feb 2006 by Donald Mitchell

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As ever, an enjoyable read
P D James cannot disappoint, but I have to say, I did not find this one as gripping as her first, Cover her face or A Certain Justice, this is my third one so that's all I can compare it to - however, it did have a good twist at the end that surprised me and as usual, lots of interesting suspects!
Published on 17 Aug 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mind to Murder, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mind to Murder (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very difficult to get started - and although I have read P D James novels in the past, I found this one less interesting and rivertting than the others. I would seriously think about getting a sample in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always absorbing., 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mind to Murder (Kindle Edition)
Welcome to the world of P.D.James. Be prepared to put everything on hold, while you absorb the depth of characters and plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly read for me, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mind to Murder (Audio CD)
I have just started playing this and find it difficult to follow. The reason being that it is read so very quickly! I have never experienced such a fast narrator before and having had audio cd`s for 15 years, I find it vexing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good mystery, 8 Mar 2013
By 
A. Monerasinghe (Esses U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mind to Murder (Paperback)
Excellent mystery as usual for P D James. She keeps you hooked and puzzled right to the end.. I just love her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another of the same!, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mind to Murder (Kindle Edition)
She may be listed as a quality writer but her choice of Suffolk areas are painted in melancholy; I find them depressing, also her plots (those few that I have read anyway) are much of a muchness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mind to Murder (Kindle Edition)
I love PD James and this is another cracking novel from her. Totally gripping from the start and intelligently written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite a Queen, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: A Mind to Murder (Paperback)
I found this one more readable than other early James novels, with an intriguing enough central situation, though ultimately as unsatisfying as the rest. Dalgliesh plods on, the writing is formal to the point of rigidity while the actual denouement completely lacks in any kind of spark. One curious point: Dalgliesh is described as being 'about 40' and this is 1962 or 1963 (publication date)-- he is attracted to a young woman who works for his publisher but it is in The Private Patient (2008) that he finally proposes (to a different young woman) and is accepted! That must make him, at 84 or 85, the oldest detective suitor in the annals of crime fiction and surely deserving a mention in the Guinness Book of Records? I only refer to this fact since James, extravagantly hailed as a Queen of Crime, has been sniffy about the lack of realism, etc. in Agatha Christie. At least Christie (despite all her limitations a MUCH more interesting author) didn't try to have Poirot married in Curtain or in The Elephants Can Remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

A Mind to Murder
A Mind to Murder by Baroness P. D. James (Paperback - 5 Aug 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews