Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful writing - Bennett in top form
These days Alan Bennett is enjoying a well deserved renaissance with a new play The Habit of Art opening this month in London, plus the recent hit play/film The History Boys, novel The Uncommon Reader and Pen/Ackerley Prize winning non-fiction collection Untold Stories remain fresh in our minds. This new volume was lifted in it's entirety from Untold Stories, and...
Published on 6 Nov 2009 by I. Sondel

versus
48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing
I didn't realise that this book was extracted from Bennett's "Untold stories" until I received it. As I had read that and enjoyed the former immensely when it was published in 2005 I felt rather disappointed.

It was worth re-reading even though I had a copy of the original on shelves a few feet away. I blame the reviewer in the Yorkshire Evening Post who did't...
Published on 26 Jun 2010 by Old Surbitonian


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars An ordinary life, 16 Aug 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A very well observed recount of his parents' and maternal aunts' lives told by a gifted storyteller. Unfortunately it didn't fully draw me in and my mind started wandering to more interesting places on more than one occasion. I know the point is that his parents did live a very ordinary life and they were decent, ordinary people, but it just isn't my cup of tea. 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 12 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Life Like Other People's (Paperback)
A Life Like Other People's An enjoyable ,easy read, another Alan Bennett's page turning book, he never fails to deliver for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy!, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb family chronicle - the sort of book that stops with you. At the end of the book I felt as though I really knew the author's parents. A wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A smaller thinner and poorer quality book than it looked on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very good read, 10 Jan 2010
By 
John Priest (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good read I couldn't put the book down once I had started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct 2014
Great story and good hardback edition arrived promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality..., 5 May 2011
This review is from: A Life Like Other People's (Paperback)
loved this book. so easy to read, but so interesting! really interesting reading about the context of homosexuality at the time he wrote it.

would highly recommend this book to anyone. well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Life Like Other People's (Paperback)
Can't wait to read more of Alan Bennett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Life Like Other People's (Paperback)
An interesting book a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Janet S. Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Life Like Other People's (Paperback)
Feeling like the lady that coughed at the opera, I love Alan Bennett but he's written much better books, it just isn't very interesting. Extremely sad to the point of depressing albeit, that's life. Hate to be critical of such a prince but you asked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Life Like Other People's
A Life Like Other People's by Alan Bennett (Paperback - 29 April 2010)
£7.19
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews