Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and alarmingly addictive
The Noticeably Stouter Book of General Ignorance is fun to read and packed full of interesting facts. It's perfect for dipping into every now and again - most of the articles are only one or two pages long, and manage to cram in a surprising amount of information. They often veer off on unexpected tangents - one beginning with a discussion of the phrase `survival of the...
Published on 27 Aug 2009 by JJ

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sadly a copy/paste of the questions in the show
I am a trusty viewer of QI on tv, it is a brilliant quiz show. I thought this book would be fun to have, to learn even more fun facts. BUT to my disappointment, the facts in this book is exactly the same as the questions in the tv-show. It is fine, but I was expecting something new. It all depends on what you expect from the book. There is NOTHING new in the book, it is...
Published 23 months ago by Torsten


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and alarmingly addictive, 27 Aug 2009
This review is from: QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) (Paperback)
The Noticeably Stouter Book of General Ignorance is fun to read and packed full of interesting facts. It's perfect for dipping into every now and again - most of the articles are only one or two pages long, and manage to cram in a surprising amount of information. They often veer off on unexpected tangents - one beginning with a discussion of the phrase `survival of the fittest' concludes with a rush of interesting facts about paperclips (in Nazi-occupied Norway they were used as symbols of the resistance, and only five out of every 100,000 sold are actually used to hold papers together). It's almost impossible to read a page without wanting to run to the nearest person, clutching the book and gibbering, "Did you know...? Did you know...?" (though this has the unfortunate side-effect of making you sound like an irritating know-it-all for the duration.)
This is more of a second edition to the original Book of General Ignorance than an entirely new book, so if you already own the latter it may not be a worthwhile purchase. If you don't, however, Noticeably Stouter has dozens of new articles, amusing quotes from the TV series interspersed throughout, and (for diehard fans), a list of all the QI guests so far. Another definite improvement is the inclusion of an index (subjects range from `aardvarks, colour-blindness of' to `zenzizenzizenzic, as failed neologism'). As well as aiding serendipitous browsing, this can be extremely useful when you confidently announce to a roomful of people that strawberries and raspberries are not, in fact, berries, then promptly forget why; or when you urgently need to calculate your pet's real age in dog years.
I've had to wrestle my copy away from visitors, who pick it up, start idly thumbing through it, and refuse to put it down for the rest of the evening. I've spent a number of rainy Sunday afternoons curled up with it on the sofa. I've spouted facts from it to dozens of long-suffering friends and relations. And I'm not quite sure if I feel more or less ignorant than I was when I started. Definitely a trivia book in a class of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's QI - What more do you want?, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Garry Mills (Devon,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) (Paperback)
If like me, you look forward to every episode of QI on TV and even watch copious reruns of it on Dave, then you will doubtless enjoy this book immensely.
It is packed with all the memorable nuggets of general ignorance expanded with all the reference information for good measure.
Some of the facts are debatable, of that I am pretty sure, but it is definitely the type of book you won't want to put down until you've read the lot.
One side point worth knowing: if you (again, like me) purchased the original book of general ignorance, you will find this one is the same as the original with about 20 or so extra subjects. If you haven't bought the original, buy this instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who why what where when?, 22 Feb 2009
By 
Jenny Peebles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) (Paperback)
Smug pub quizzers beware - after reading this you'll find yourself quaking at the onset of the trivia round. Most of what you think you know is, in fact, wrong. Sorry. In an utterly charming way, your confidence in the modest store of facts you've built up over the years is shown to be totally misplaced. If you can handle this, then QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) is a truly fascinating read. It's at least as amusing as it interesting in its debunking of popular misconceptions. Finding out why your notions are wrong is a pleasure when you're reading something that's been this painstakingly researched. That's not to say it's really worthy - some of the writing is laugh-out-loud funny. You get quotes from the show, too, and perky little illustrations. The links between the entries are often as subtle as the explanations themselves, or they're just quite droll, as `How many legs does a centipede have?' paves the way for `How many eyes does a no-eyed, big-eyed wolf spider have?'

If you're the kind of person who has a mental list of things you really ought to brush up on, expect it to have expanded in all kinds of unexpected ways by the time you're through. Your Ancient Greek, certainly, could do with a dusting down. Expect to confirm that you are, indeed, massively ignorant, but to find, miraculously, that a good read of this book is an excellent way to start putting that right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sadly a copy/paste of the questions in the show, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) (Paperback)
I am a trusty viewer of QI on tv, it is a brilliant quiz show. I thought this book would be fun to have, to learn even more fun facts. BUT to my disappointment, the facts in this book is exactly the same as the questions in the tv-show. It is fine, but I was expecting something new. It all depends on what you expect from the book. There is NOTHING new in the book, it is the same questions as in the show with the same answers. I would only recommend this book for someone who has not seen very much of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, if not remarkable, 12 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) (Paperback)
The latest edition of the semi-canonical Book of General Ignorance fits its brief of being 'quite interesting' with aplomb. Some facts are genuinely eyebrow raising: from the number of planetary moons around the Earth to James Bond's thirst quencher of choice, many of our most epidemic cultural myths are decisively debunked. The writing is succinct and smartly witty, and each entry does a good job of packing in a wide breadth of information into half a page.

There are a few misfires that prevent this from being an exceptionally interesting reference tool. The book sometimes falls short in its attempts to be authoritative, with entries like 'What's three times as dangerous as war?' resting more on loaded questioning than genuinely startling raw fact. That much of the weaker material appears to be tagged with a 'New Entry' icon suggests that this stouter version may not be a compulsory purchase for those who already own the original edition.

These gripes aside, The Book of General Ignorance is a well-crafted (and frequently amusing) tome, and is a worthy addition to any ranconteur's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever written, and thats an understatement!, 26 July 2011
By 
This review is from: QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) (Paperback)
This book, along with the others in the series, is an amazing insight into the rubbish that we have been fed by parents and teachers. It highlights key points in history and facts that that we thought were true, blows them all away and starts from scratch. You might as well forget everything you've ever been taught and then read this book! If you're a fan of the TV series then this a must buy as the hilarity just continues. Little quotes and snippets of conversations are dropped in throughout to provide the reader with witty and comical moments from the panelists, mainly Alan Davies! A great read and a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qi Book of General Ignorance., 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) (Paperback)
When I ordered this book, I expected to be entertained by plenty of humour. I was not disappointed. But the bonus was the amount of interesting information that accompanied that humour. I really appreciate the way the book entertains and answers many of my questions.
And the inclusion of the summaries of past episodes and a very comprehensive index, makes this book even more a "must buy"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QI, QG!, 30 Jan 2009
This review is from: QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) (Paperback)
You don't know what you think you know. How many wives did Henry VIII have? Wrong. What has a three second memory? Wrong. What man-made objects can be seen from the moon? Wrong. You see, I'm right. You are Generally Ignorant. But don't worry, so are lots of other people. There is something you can do about it, however, and that is read the QI Book of General Ignorance.

There are several QI publications, but the book of General Ignorance is the closest to the format of the show, namely, common knowledge and urban myths are quite often utterly wrong, and the real answers are usually a lot more Interesting than the cheap, synthetic impostors.

The original Book of General Ignorance is one of the best-selling books on Amazon, and rightly so. This Noticeably Stouter edition is 25% longer than the original - each new entry is highlighted as such - so as well as learning the true answers to the questions above, you will also learn what rhymes with orange, who the most dangerous American in history was, how many muscles you have in your fingers, and many more besides.

As well as new bits of ignorance, the Noticeably Stouter edition also includes excerpts from the show, to give you an idea of how the diligent research of the QI Elves is 'smelted into jokes', as the foreword by series creator John Lloyd says.

The format of the book means you can either dip into it in a spare few minutes, nibbling at a bite size section of interestosity, or simply plough through it, devouring it all in one go. The original work has been completely revised and corrected, and the new material is as good and interesting as the old.

All in all, an entertaining, brilliantly researched, well-written, and in these times of pride in ignorance, vital book. Read it, learn it, live it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the show but interesting, 14 Mar 2011
By 
Lucybird (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) (Paperback)
Seeing as I love the TV show QI I was hopeful for this book, but actually loving the show probably made the book not so good for me. Most of the facts were copied from the show so I already knew them- especially as I watch the repeats on Dave. The book was a little dry too. Although the facts were interesting, and it's kind of amazing to think that all these things that you think you know aren't actually true. The way it's presented is just not as good as the TV show which I find funny, and of course quite interesting! If you haven't seen the show you probably wouldn't think to read the book, but if you have seen the show you'll get little from the book. If you haven't seen the show then the book is worth the read- but I'd say go for the TV show if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars like school lessons with your favourite teacher, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Rachel Parris (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) (Paperback)
The idea of this book is to turn on its head all the received knowledge you have and make you better informed, while adding in a few pleasing anecdotes for good measure. It takes a collection of commonly held beliefs and puts you wiser about them, offering you the full and correct story. Henry VII had six wives? WRONG! Nelson's last words were "Kiss me, Hardy"? WRONG! Water is blue? WRO - no, actually that one's true, but I won't go into the chemical breakdown. Interspersed with choice quotes from the TV series, this collection of little known facts and stories are on the whole interesting, funny and I suppose more to the point, new to me. I wonder if at some point they ran out of commonly believed facts to shed light on, as some of the chapters are rather more obscure than the first few and a bit more like a school lesson. I have never really thought I knew what the densest element was, or what Croatia's largest contribution to world business is, and if I'm honest I've never really yearned to be enlightened about them. None the less, the variety of topics and the friendly, witty writing style help to make this book not only factually interesting, but also entertaining. Probably best enjoyed in small sections, rather than tackling the whole thing at once. Perfect one-upmanship material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition)
QI: The Book of General Ignorance (The Noticeably Stouter Edition) by John Mitchinson (Paperback - 25 Dec 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews