Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling glorious storytelling
Set in a fictional country in what seems to be the Middle East, a 6 year old girl called Dodola is sold by her poverty-stricken parents to a calligrapher to be his wife. The man is brutally murdered and the girl is stolen and sold into slavery. She saves an infant boy from certain death by claiming him as her own and then later escaping with him to live on an abandoned...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by Sam Quixote

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp, beautifully presented and drawn by a white American.
Whatever else I say below please do note that I enjoyed the book. It's absolutely beautiful with passages that will take your breath.

It's also a book in which there's a truck load of orientalism by a white American.

It attempts to take on Arabic calligraphy, Islam and environmental issues, but at times seems as deeply embedded in those topics as...
Published 3 months ago by wjon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling glorious storytelling, 15 Oct 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Habibi (Hardcover)
Set in a fictional country in what seems to be the Middle East, a 6 year old girl called Dodola is sold by her poverty-stricken parents to a calligrapher to be his wife. The man is brutally murdered and the girl is stolen and sold into slavery. She saves an infant boy from certain death by claiming him as her own and then later escaping with him to live on an abandoned ship in the middle of the desert. She names him Habibi. The two of them manage to survive for a few years by Dodola prostituting herself to merchants travelling across the desert in exchange for food. Then one day she is stolen once again and taken to join the harem of the Sultan. Habibi does his best to survive but must take himself to the city in order to survive and from there the story begins, the two of them striving to meet one another again.

To say that the book is beautiful is an understatement and an insult to Craig Thompson; the book is sublime. Clearly an enormous amount of research has gone into the book and every page contains stunning details whether it's the designs of the rugs to the elaborate jewellery of the Sultan or the clothing of the guards to the swooping flights of mythology from Islam and Christianity. There's a two page splash drawing of a giant heap of garbage and it stops you in your tracks, it's so detailed. Thompson dives into the story never shying away from the hardship of drawing a crowd scene (and there are several scenes set in marketplaces) or drawing rivers of discarded human waste as well as bringing to life the wonderful characters of Dodola and Habibi.

There is a lot more to the book than I've let on in the brief summary at the top, after all it is a nearly 700 page book, but the epic scope of this love story is utterly compelling and the way Thompson weaves in aspects of religion and mythology into the contemporary story is flawless. He goes into etymology with the detail of a scholar and then he's talking about how the designs of clothing are influenced by old stories. He effortlessly describes an alien society (from the perspective of the West that is) with the confidence of a sociologist and not once does it seem inscrutable.

Having read his previous books, and if you haven't I highly recommend them, I can see aspects of "Good-bye, Chunky Rice" in the book in the way that Dodola and Habibi are separated, pine for each other, and strive to one day meet again. I see the way that the simple, innocent love between a man and a woman depicted in "Blankets" is transported to this book but elaborated upon and explored further. And even in his "Carnet de Voyage" which was essentially a sketch book of Thompson's travels in the Middle East, a lot of those designs and ideas are incorporated into this book, and this was nearly 8 years ago! In short, "Habibi" is the culmination of Thompson's career as a writer/artist thus far and as close to a masterpiece as can be in comics.

I utterly fell in love with this book. The love of storytelling and words that Thompson infuses into Dodola is infectious and if there were moments I felt that the book could have been edited into a shorter story, I would say that the pure joy found in the expression of art and literature triumphed over any such cynical thoughts. This is a book that transcends the comics genre and becomes a work of literature to be enjoyed by anyone who loves books. This is not just one of the best comic books to come out this year but one of the best books, full stop, and shows that Craig Thompson has not just reached the same level as other masters of the genre like Will Eisner or Bryan Talbot, but has the potential to surpass them.

I highly recommend "Habibi" because as much as I've talked about the book, I haven't even begun to describe a tenth of what it contains - the wonder of which awaits the reader to discover themselves. Go and discover it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's art, it's entertainment, it's rich, it's beautiful, but it's also crass and oversexed, 15 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habibi (Hardcover)
Habibi is a beautiful, beautiful work of art. It is absolutely stunning. But it is also disconcerting.

Set in a fictitious Arab sultanate, this is the story of a young girl/woman and the toddler/boy/teenager/man she adopts. Our heroine is sold into marriage, then abducted by slavers, put in a slave market, where she adopts a black toddler. She escapes with the child, and forms a small family unit in the desert, never quite sure whether she acts as a mother or a sister to the growing boy. She tells the growing boy stories from the Qu'ran and other myths / fairy tales. But their life in the desert is not meant to last forever...

The graphic novel is perhaps the most beautifully illustrated thing I've ever read / beheld. It is clearly deeply in love with its aesthetic, and its aesthetic is mesmerisingly beautiful. In terms of the story, I was never bored reading this book.

But there are some things that are troubling. This book shows the Middle East through a Western prism. We get Middle Eastern aesthetic, beautiful Arabic script, myths from Arabian Nights and the Qu'ran, but we also get sultans, harems, slavery, eunuchs, beheadings, intermixed with mobile phones, dams, electricity and the modern world. The first two thirds of the book could be set in the 1800s and could have been written by a Victorian pornographer. The last third, with its hints of Dubai about it, feels like a somewhat uncomfortable add-on.

As I just mentioned the word "pornographer", it's perhaps worth talking about that, too. Our heroine spends an awful lot of time being naked, and there is a lot of sex in this book (indeed, sexuality is one of the major themes). The book is in love with the sensual aesthetic of harems and silken veils, but not really the modern focus on modesty that Islam tries to stand for. This Middle East is not the Middle East of our 2012; it is the Middle East that James Bond or Lara Croft or Indiana Jones might travel through: an aesthetic, a sensual oasis of lust. It is a comic book, pulp fiction Middle East.

So perhaps it is forgiveable that almost all characters are disgusting scoundrels (if male), or envious and bitchy (if female) or both (if eunuchs). Perhaps it is forgiveable that our heroine oozes sex appeal in every single picture, even the ones where she is a child (with a woman's curves, a woman's legs, and full lips and hair) or about to be raped. Except, the subtext of the book seems quite judgemental: all (Arab) men are potential rapists, all the oppressed are collaborators with their own oppression, there is no kindness without a demand for something in return. Perhaps I should some it up like this: rape is not an erotic act. Drawing rape so it looks sexy is, in my opinion, wrong.

This is a story about abuse, but by choosing to draw all the abuse in the sexiest possible way, it puts the reader in the abuser's shoes, which is uncomfortable. It's a bit as if someone had taken a Todd Solondz movie script, added lots of Neil Gaiman-esque love of mythology, hired Oscar-winning arts directors to create the aesthetic, but given the result to Michael Bay to direct and cast. It's art, it's entertainment, it's rich, it's beautiful, and it's also crass, oversexed, perhaps even misogynistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive Scope, Beautifully Told, Possibly Not For Everyone, 13 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habibi (Hardcover)
Where do I start when reviewing this work? Firstly I should state that I havent read Craig Thompsons' highly praised graphic novel Blankets. Although I have looked at it many times and seriously considered buying it, there have always been other options at the time. So this is my first, proper, introduction to Thompson.

What an introduction this is! Habibi tells the story of two child slaves Dodola and Zam brought together by fate who take us through some of lifes most important lessons as we read their continuing stories in a fictitious Arabian landscape.

This book must have been painstakingly researched by the author as its scope and breadth of storytelling is just breathtaking. It was almost too much for me, and I read lots of comics and graphic novels. Encompassing quotes from the Koran and the Bible we see the similarities of the faiths, beautiful drawings of Arabic calligraphy, chemistry, biology, philosophy and all encompassing unconditional love. Indeed it is this which keeps you coming back for more as at its core this is surely a story of love between two people(s)

A beautiful 670 page hardback book it is stunningly designed and drawn from front cover to back cover. It reminds me somewhat of the manga Buddha by Osamu Tezuka which is also a work of incredible scope.

Beware though, the book does not shy away from adult themes and therefore is probably not for everyone.

I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking scope, ingenuity and storytelling, 24 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. D. N. Sumption (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Habibi (Hardcover)
This is an incredible book. As soon as I had read the first page, I found it almost impossible to put down until I had reached the end. A beautiful, though often shocking and tragic, story which draws upon themes of Islam, Christianity, Judaism, environmentalism, earth, water, fire, air, mercury, sulphur, mathematics, numerology, geometry, patterns, calligraphy and, above all, love in all of its many forms. The gripping and never-predictable storyline is supported by fascinatingly detailed artwork and ever-varying page layouts, all packaged in a physically beautiful book. This is an artefact which I will treasure forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual and reading feast, 11 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Habibi (Hardcover)
I purchased this book on the strength of the BBC program "The Review Show" which spoke very highly of the author and this book. It was my first real meander into the world of graphic novels and I needed a good reason to enter this deceptive genre where the praise it received gave me that invitation. The story evolves around a girl called Dodola who is purchased from her family to be married and how her life pans out in a fusion of time, legends and immaginations. Dodola's life moves between adventures, trials and tribulations experiencing prison, enslavement, prostitution and rape though many middle eastern scenes and environments. During this time she finds a young child called Zam who she adopts and brings up as her own in an old ship in a desert (work that one out) and teaches him to read and work with numbers. As time mystically weaves its way through the narrative and exotic images a bond of love develops between Zam and Dodola. Dodoa is captured and seperated from Zam and eventually after both experiencing many hardships find each other again. Craig Thompson illustrates his knowledge of religious texts through his elaborate and intricate art work with a sensitive and flowing text that combine to make this both a visual and reading gastronomic feast. Having enjoyed this book and read it with a fervent eagerness I have purchased another of Craig Thompson's highly acclaimed graphic novels called Blankets. In conclusion Habibi is a beautiful story entwined with mystic stories, love and struggles for survival that are told in a truly artistic way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'the Divine Pen', 4 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Habibi (Hardcover)
I love it when a publisher says 'Do you know what, this book is beautiful, we should make sure it looks really beautiful.' The pleasure from Craig Thompson's latest graphic novel comes as soon as you pick it up. In fact it comes even before you do that. A soon as you see its beautifully designed cover the old pleasure receptors start firing and once it's in your hand then you can add a sense of import to the pleasure. It's fitting that this book, which I was aware drew on stories from both the Qur'an and Bible, has a biblical heft to it. Over 650 pages are contained within the intricately detailed, embossed and foiled cover and holding a book of that size feels very significant. A quick glance at the pages within and you can see you're in for a treat. This is a big, bold and ambitious book about love, religion, storytelling and mythology and it contains the very best and the very worst of human behaviour. Arabic calligraphy combines with religious symbols, spiritual visions with nightmares, opulent harems with pollution-choked slums. The novel manages to be ancient and modern at the same time so that the primacy of storytelling comes to the fore. We feel for most of the book as if we are reading an ancient story of slavery and redemption until the latter stages when the modern world intrudes making its themes suddenly very contemporary.

In a land choked by drought nine-year old Dodola is sold into marriage by her parents. Her husband is a scribe who teaches her to read and write and through his work she learns 'the Sacred Qur'an and the hadiths, One Thousand and One Nights, and the woks of the great poets.' Some amazingly detailed panels at the beginning with decorative frames are gorgeous but the idyll they describe and come from is rudely interrupted when her husband is murdered and she is abducted. About to be sold for the second time in her short life, this time into slavery, Dodola manages to escape with an apparently abandoned baby boy, Cham. The two of them make a home for themselves on an old boat 'afloat on an ocean of sand' in the desert and when Cham finds a small spring of water Dodola renames him Zam after the well of Zamzam found by Ishmael, son of Abraham. This change of name is symbolic for Cham, named after the third son of Noah who was born black and later cursed, and represents freedom as much as their escape into the desert. Dodola becomes mother, sister and teacher to him, passing on her own knowledge of writing and storytelling to her eager young pupil (whom she calls Habibi or beloved one). His discovery of a source of water is also as significant as that created by the kicking feet of young Ishmael. Water is incredibly important in this novel as a source of life, salvation and power.

The two of them manage a relatively safe and isolated existence in the desert, Zam protected from the knowledge that their supplies come from Dodola's visits to the travelling caravans and the exchange of her body for food. In fact it isn't the outside world that threatens to ruin their solace but the natural changes that come from within as they grow older and in particular as Zam nears adolescence. Having always been able to share both bed and bath, Zam's quite natural burgeoning desires threaten the safe roles they have been assigned. When he is 12 he becomes aware of what Dodola has been doing to keep the two of them fed all these years. His anger at the sexual violence of other men and his guilt about his own desires lead him to undertake the journey out of the desert to find supplies in her stead. When he returns, Dodola has been abducted once again and the two of them will remain apart for many more years.

Separated from one another each undergoes their own extraordinary and physically torturous journey. Dodola becomes part of a Sultan's harem, prized as the 'phantom courtesan of the desert', challenged to satisfy the famously fickle Sultan for 70 nights in a row to earn her freedom and, after she only just fails to do that, later to turn a jug of water into gold for the same prize. This latter challenge is a fabulous set-piece in which Dodola draws on her learning and ability to read at first and her cunning and guile when she is frustrated. Zam in the meantime is forced to leave the desert when starvation threatens his survival and falls in with a group of eunuchs in the city. It is amongst them that he is introduced to the idea that he might be able to purify himself of the thoughts that he sees as responsible for driving them apart.

I don't think it's a spoiler to say that the two of them will be reunited (the cover illustrations show them older together) but I won't specify exactly how or what happens then. What is important is that these two 'orphans' who looked after one another in a world of scarce resources find themselves just as much at the mercy of them when they emerge into the thoroughly modern looking environment of the novel's final third. Water, which has always been precious, is now bottled as a commodity, its discarded plastic containers contributing to the waste and pollution that chokes the natural waterways. In fact there is a huge environmental message underneath this tale and panels which echo those created by Nick Hayes for his book, The Rime Of The Modern Mariner, which carried a similar warning. Thompson shows throughout the novel how humans exert power over each other by controlling those resources and how men in particular can exert their power over women. What chance is there for the meek in a world like that? Zam and Dodola are allowed a measure salvation but only after having paid a huge price personally. The reader is left exhausted and exhilarated by such an arduous journey, a witness to all the suffering who cannot help but be uplifted by the glimmer of hope offered in the closing pages.

Many graphic novels feel like well-realised shorts. By being pictorial the number of pages shrinks in reading time so that even some of the better ones can still feel a little slight. Habibi is epic in every sense. A big book, yes, but also a grand one with ambition, range and detail to make it a satisfying read from cover to cover and a treasure trove to delve into afterwards. Some of the larger panels have enough detail to keep the eye happy for minutes at a time, the manner in which Thompson threads themes and combines stories is quite brilliant and the structure of the novel as a whole is immensely satisfying, eschewing a straightforward linear trajectory for one that moves backwards and forwards in history just as memory does. If Christmas hadn't already passed then I'd be recommending this as a brilliant gift. There's nothing to stop you getting it as a gift for yourself of course...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waouw!, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habibi (Hardcover)
I read the reviews and baught this as a present, not sure how it would be received as the drawing style looked a bit "childish" to me.
But there is nothing childish about this cominc book (yes, I read it before giving it away, naughty I know :).
The story is fantastic, the characters have depth and you get mysticism and philosophy thrown in for good measure.
Got a copy for myself and it now has a special place on my comic book shelve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but story fades toward the end, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habibi (Hardcover)
Wow! This is what reading a book should be about - not just the letters and graphics that tell the story, but also the hardcover that enhances the experience. The cover alone makes you happy to hold and read the novel! It first caught my wife's attention in the book store so I bought it on a whim. But I'm not ashamed to admit that I too was amazed when the book was delivered. The story is truly gripping from the very beginning, although to be honest, I got quite bored near the end. Nonetheless, it's still worthy read. The blend of the Bible and Quran was interesting, and the detail of drawings was breath taking (even more so considering that the graphics are all black and white). The background patterns too were unbelievable (I think that graphics alone carried me through to the end when I felt that the story faded). If for nothing else, this novel should be purchased and read just for the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, could have been great, 27 Feb 2012
By 
Steve D (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Habibi (Hardcover)
The story, set in a fictitious middle-eastern country, is that of a young girl, Dodola, whose desperate father sells her to a scribe to be his wife. As events would have it, the scribe is later murdered and Dodola is taken and thrust into a life of slavery, where she finds and meets a young boy she calls Zam. The story is quite simple: it's a love story - about unconditional love, at that - but it touches on and deals with so many pertinent issues that it becomes quite difficult to describe. Race and racism, religion and faith, sex and sexism, language, industrialisation, guilt and redemption. Above all else, it is about storytelling, beginning when Dodola tells Zam bedtime stories. These stories are usually lifted from the Koran or the Bible. I don't claim to know much about either, so can't really judge, but I did feel that I was gaining quite a bit of information from these passages.

It doesn't shy away from difficult subjects, either. Bearing in mind that Dodola escapes from slavery into hiding, and there sells her body to pay for food to feed young Zam, there is a lot of sex, nudity, and violence within its pages. The men within the story are almost all completely unpleasant pigs. In fact, apart from one fisherman, the only 'male' characters who are presented with any sympathy are the eunuchs. It definitely won't be for everyone. Coupled with the myriad of subjects it covers, it's a lot to deal with, and I did find myself wondering if it tries to do just a little bit too much and if, in trying to be `adult', it actually bludgeons some of its points across in a more childish fashion. Even the humour is confusing: when one character is accompanied by a `fart cloud' every single time he appears you have to wonder if Thompson was really certain of the audience he was aiming at.

The narrative structure is brilliant, darting back and forth to different points in Dodola and Zam's story, gradually filling in the gaps until it all falls into place by the end. The artwork is stunning throughout. Crowd scenes and architecture, in particular, benefit from huge amounts of detail. It's the aforementioned religious stories that stand-out above all, though, with gorgeous illustrations and calligraphy. The final pages, where the meaning of `Habibi' is finally revealed, are quite moving.

For the artwork and presentation alone I would give it a 10, it's just a shame that its content is so confused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Habibi (Hardcover)
I read this book in four hours. I couldn't put it down despite having lots to do and worry about. Habibi really takes you to another world and almost turns you into a character, enhancing your affinities and sensitivity to the events taking place.

Even with all the nudity, violence and just downright horrible things that take place in this book, the story remains captivating and the drawings are each more beautiful than the other.

Craig Thompson goes out of his way to construct his drawings with every last little detail that make the whole experience of reading and looking at the book fantastic.

I would give it more than 5 stars had they been available. I have recommended this book to everyone who could read (and was above 16).

Get it? READ IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Habibi
Habibi by Craig Thompson (Hardcover - 22 Sep 2011)
15.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews