Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yashim is back on familiar territory
This is the 4th in Jason Goodwin's series of stories featuring Yashim the detective eunuch. Set in exotic Istanbul in the 19th century during the slow decline of the Ottoman empire this series is filled with intrigue and atmosphere and the plots aren't bad either.

The series begins with the Janissary Tree The Janissary Tree ('Yashim the Eunuch' Mystery)and it...
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by Noel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I have read other books in this series and greatly enjoyed them. however I found the plot in the evil eye rather thin .
Published 2 months ago by Mrs Julie A Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yashim is back on familiar territory, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Noel (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evil Eye (Yashim 4) (Hardcover)
This is the 4th in Jason Goodwin's series of stories featuring Yashim the detective eunuch. Set in exotic Istanbul in the 19th century during the slow decline of the Ottoman empire this series is filled with intrigue and atmosphere and the plots aren't bad either.

The series begins with the Janissary Tree The Janissary Tree ('Yashim the Eunuch' Mystery)and it is the best place to start. Here you will be introduced to the characters who feature in each succeeding story and learn the language of the imperial harem and Ottoman Istanbul. Next comes 'The Snake Stone' and the third story is 'The Bellini Card'. The Bellini Card ('Yashim the Eunuch' Mystery) For me it was the least successful of the series, much of the action of the Bellini Card takes place in Venice and I missed the claustrophobic atmosphere created so well in the intrigues of the imperial coterie in Istanbul.

In 'An Evil Eye' we are back on familiar territory in Istanbul and it does not disappoint. The action begins with a body found in the well inside an Orthodox monastery. The local muslim men get the idea that the Greek monks have killed a muslim and are holding his body. A confrontation ensues - enter Yashim to diffuse this delicate situation. He discovers the dead man is not a muslim - but who is he? How did he get into the well? Who put him there and why? Yasim's investigation unravels a web of treachery, blackmail and feud.

Meanwhile the Sultan has just died and as his teenage son takes possession of the new Beziktas Palace, the late Sultan's harem ladies are all expelled from the palace to make room for young Sultan's collection of ladies. There is uproar and confusion. Many of the 'old' ladies are relocated to the old Topkapi palace which is presided over by the valide' mother of the late Sultan. Meanwhile the late Sultan's sister rules the roost in Beziktas. Two palaces each with scheming and division and death.

As the story builds to a climax all of these story lines are brought together with an act of national betrayal which threatens the peace of Istanbul - Russia and Egypt loom as threats. But no fear! Yashim sorts it all out. An exciting, entertaining story, in a dream location with the added benefit of a few of Yashim's tasty recipes judiciously scattered to flavour the tale. I am glad to see that a 5th book is planned.

PS: I think it would be useful to have a very brief 'Glossary' at the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Affairs of state, murder, intrigue, and good cooking in Istanbul, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Aidan J. McQuade (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evil Eye (Yashim 4) (Hardcover)
This is the 4th novel in Jason Goodwin's very entertaining series about the investigations of Yashim, a eunuch in the service of the Ottoman state. The fact that he is a eunuch is important in that he is allowed access to the harem and the world of women, as well as that of men.

The sprawling plot of this novel - drawing together the body of a murdered man dragged from a monastery well, the changes of the harem arising from a new sultan, and a threat of betrayal to the Ottoman state - can be confusing and rendered moreso by the array of characters over multiple locations. But the journey through the labyrintine plot brings with it huge pleasures, including asides on the history of the Ottoman empire, the machinations of the harem, evocative descriptions of the city of Istanbul, and good cooking: Yashim takes his cooking seriously and frequently unpicks plot difficulties while chopping his vegetables.

So an enjoyable, evocative read, that illuminates, most entertainingly, an unfamiliar time and place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable as always, 10 Jun 2012
By 
Amanda Hall (Co. Durham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book - as I have all of the Yashim books since I discovered them 18 months or so back.

This one contains the usual ingredients of a sprawling, complex plot, the flavors, sights and smells of mid 19th Century Istanbul and as usual a huge cast of characters who all have their own secrets to hide and fear what Yashim may uncover.

This time its not only Yashim's life that may be under threat but also his life in the outer city ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yashim - The Poirot of Constantinople, 3 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evil Eye (Yashim 4) (Hardcover)
Another dollop of murder, mystery, mayhem and marinading. Yashim the Eunoch not only solves crimes, but at the same time introduces the reader to the sights and sounds of Istanbul whilst whipping up some delicious food. Well paced with good characterisation it makes me want to revisit Topkapi (the harem was closed for work last time I went)and eat some more Imam Bayildi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read other books in this series and greatly enjoyed them. however I found the plot in the evil eye rather thin .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars janissary tree, 26 Jan 2014
I loved this incredibly interesting story set in the Othoman time. Since reading Jason Goodwin's stories about Yashim, I have started looking for other historical fiction. Very rarely others are as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Evil Eye (OttomanDetective 4), 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evil Eye (Yashim 4) (Paperback)
Jason Goodwin never disappoints, each one of these books have been fantastic and are realloy gripping.. I can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evil Eye (Yashim 4) (Paperback)
Great holiday read, exotic and exciting. Have read all of the Yashim books so far and am eagerly awaiting the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Detective, 4 April 2013
By 
Y. Pees (Canvey Island, Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evil Eye (Yashim 4) (Paperback)
Jason Goodwin's eunuch detective Yashim with privileged access to the Harem in Istanbul is once more is called upon to investigate a corpse discovered on a Greek Island. Full of atmosphere set in the 1840's, interesting and highly entertaining. Yashim is a sensitive man of principles who also loves to cook for himself and his friends. Jason Goodwin's knowledge of Istanbul and the customs and practices of the era lends an atmosphere to the whole magnificent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ottom Detective delivers again, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evil Eye (Yashim 4) (Paperback)
Another first class Yashim novel, with genuine inability to put the book down as it drew to a close. I love Istanbul and book takes me there, with fantastically well researched historic resonance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac2be4e0)

This product

An Evil Eye (Yashim 4)
An Evil Eye (Yashim 4) by Jason Goodwin (Paperback - 3 May 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews