Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ironic verdict on the Dominican Republic
This is a good book. I'm English, not merely old but "old school", so a full-length novel written in "hip" American ghetto slang and liberally peppered with Spanish terms and phrases unknown to my large Collins Spanish Dictionary, and with a heavy reliance on references to science and fantasy fiction and comic books (all of which I despise), I would not usually touch with...
Published on 2 April 2008 by riverside

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, if a bit overrated
This story of a Dominican family, from the 1930s to the present, as they face a curse because one of its ancestors once displeased the all powerful Dictator Rafael Trujillo. Each chapter is about a particular member of the family. Some of them are memorable - the Oscar of the title, a black teen living in a New Jersey ghetto, a virgin weighing over 300 pounds, obsessed...
Published on 1 Dec 2008 by Andres C. Salama


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ironic verdict on the Dominican Republic, 2 April 2008
By 
This is a good book. I'm English, not merely old but "old school", so a full-length novel written in "hip" American ghetto slang and liberally peppered with Spanish terms and phrases unknown to my large Collins Spanish Dictionary, and with a heavy reliance on references to science and fantasy fiction and comic books (all of which I despise), I would not usually touch with a barge-pole, but I loved this one and neglected my other duties until I had finished it.

I have read most of the ninety-odd reviews of the book on Amazon UK and US and I think that many readers miss the point when they complain that the title is a misnomer because only a small part of the book describes Oscar's "life" and that while he may be a physically well-rounded person his character is flat and clichéd. The title surely is ironic. Oscar has really neither a life or a personality to speak of. He is just a peg on which to hang an analysis of Dominican society on the island and in New York, which the author perceives to be generally nasty. It is Dominican "culture" itself which is the "fukú" and bad things and bad people will inevitably surface because the whole fabric is built on rotten foundations of ignorance, greed and racism. You could almost say that the heart of the book is in its historic footnotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Family's History of the Dominican Republic, 8 Jan 2008
By 
A. Ross (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I loved Diaz's short story collection Drown, and like almost everyone else who read it, have been eagerly waiting years for his next book. Now, something like a decade later, Diaz brings a character from that collection (Yunior) back to narrate the family history of his Rutgers roommate Oscar (who is also the brother of Yunior's sometime girlfriend). This tale begins with Oscar's grandfather and ends up encompassing quite a bit of the modern history of the Dominican Republic. And although the story hopscotches back and forth in time and location quite a bit, Diaz has complete command of his narrative.

To be fair, sometimes the story feels more like "A People's History of the Dominican Republic." than a novel about a geeky kid from New Jersey. Not that this is a bad thing -- Diaz manages to get at the political, economic, and psychological forces that brought so many Dominican immigrants to the U.S . over the last fifty years via captivating and dextrous prose. The dominant theme of this multigenerational story is the "fuku" (curse) Oscar's family lives under. (Of course, as Yunior points out, every Dominican family believes itself to be cursed by the fuku americanus, a curse brought by European colonialists which has turned the Caribbean Eden into a despotic prison to be escaped.)s The fuku first hits Oscar's grandfather, an upper-class doctor undone by the rise of the Trujillo thugocracy (equal to that of Saddam Hussein in horror inflicted on its subjects). His daughter (Oscar's mother) faces her own tragedy due to the fuku, and is the bridge between life in the D.R. and life in America, as she escapes to New York. Her children, Oscar and Lola, represent the generation born and bred in the U.S. -- both connected to, and apart from their Dominican heritage.

The story thus enables Diaz to examine how nationality, culture, and language become more and more blended over generations (non-Spanish speakers should note that the book is full of untranslated Spanish words and phrases, which can be a little frustrating at times). The segments of the book set in the D.R. under the Trujillo regime tend to be a great deal more compelling than the contemporary storyline. The story of Oscar's mother's childhood and teen years are far more colorful and dramatic than the on-again, off-again romance between Yunior and Oscar's sister Lola, and are definitely more interesting than Oscar's own geeky problems. Fat, obsessive, and devoid of social skills, Oscar makes it hard for people (including the reader) to sympathize with him and his dual dreams of becoming the "Dominican Tolkein" and losing his virginity. The final section of the book, in which Oscar pursues love with the trademark oblivious obsession that has made him an outcast, is pretty much straightforward classical doomed love, and thus the least interesting and convincing.

The overall effect of the book is a good deal more sad and depressing than I had expected. Although the title and opening chapter alert the reader to the brevity of Oscar's life, for some reason, I hadn't expected it to unfold quite as pathetically and tragically as it does. Similar tragedies unfold in the previous generations, and by the end of the book, there is little consolation of any kind to be found. Diaz writes with so much compassion for his characters that one would be hard pressed not to be affected. However, the sexual themes that pervade all the storylines act as somewhat of a life-affirming counterbalance to all the death and disappointment. And above all, there is the sheer exuberance and dexterity of the prose, which makes the book well worth reading from a purely stylistic or technical perspective. Not exactly a masterpiece, but well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Junot Diaz's Masterpiece, 27 May 2009
By 
Herman Norford "Keen Reader" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't got enough space to set out my full praise of this masterpiece, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. That it is a masterpiece is upheld by the fact that it has won two of America's four most prominent literary awards - namely, the National Critics Book Circle, 2007 and the Pulitzer, 2008. While literary awards are not necessarily a guide to great novels, in this case they are, nonetheless, a good indication of the stature in which this novel must be held.

So what's the excitement about? Junot Diaz debut novel is set in the Dominican Republic and New Jersey, USA. But symbolically it is a novel that ranges wide in its geographical scope to take in the whole of the Caribbean basin. From the title of the novel one would believe that it was solely a story about Oscar Wao but that is not the case. Instead, along with telling us about Oscar, (his story is the kingpin on which the others hinge) Diaz also sets out three further stories in the novel: Oscar's sister, Lola, his mother, Beli, and grandfather, Aberlard gets a good airing. The effect of these multiple stories is to render a family saga set in the time and context of the brutal dictator Rafael Trujillo. The whole family sometimes suffer inexplicable disaster and the only explanation that Diaz can offer is that of a "Curse and Doom of the new world" - better known as "Fuku Americanus". Almost in one stroke of genius, Diaz's Fuku myth links the so called discovered new world by the Admiral, Christopher Columbus, with Europe and Africa. The Admiral's discovery led the way to the slave trade, brutality and almost as if by a way of easing the pain all this gave rise to the Fuku.

Diaz tells his story through at least two narrators from the first person narrator to the third person omniscient narrator, Yunior de Las Casas sometimes boyfriend to Oscar's sister, Lola. Diaz's writing style is economical but powerful in its analysis and revelations. On the one hand, he is capable of crafting beautiful long flowing sentences that are laced with humour and relevant metaphors, for example: "And then there was Lillian, the other waitress, a squat rice tub, whose rancour against the world turned to glee only when humanity exceeded in its venality, brutality and mendacity even her own expectations." On the other hand, Diaz also displays a staccato rap style language when narrating the youthful lives of Oscar and Lola.

The text is also littered with numerous references ranging from other novels, sci-fi fiction and films, right through to opera and architecture. I found these references sometimes amusing and telling. Furthermore, the prospective reader should not be deterred by Diaz's extensive use of Spanish. As someone who does not understand Spanish I do not feel that my enjoyment and appreciation of the novel was significantly diminished by its use.

The novel presents an interesting character in its main protagonist, Oscar Wao. Oacar is a bit of a nerd; he is not a typical Dominican youngster. He likes sci-fi and to some extent he is a bit of a loner. He is eventually driven to attempt suicide probably because of the overwhelming expectation of Dominican culture, which he never escapes, even though he resides in the USA, namely that every young Dominican man is expected to make it with the opposite sex which he fails to do until, speculatively, during the last pages of the book. This failure in Oscar provides for an important theme in the novel, namely that the overarching influence of culture and history is hard to escape.

By examining Oscar's and his family's life both in the Dominican Republic and the USA, Diaz lays bare the social conditions of these lives. His shift from the Dominican Republic to the USA is subtle and skilful. The reader has to be on guard for these shifts as Diaz tries to show how each setting and social life affects the other. To express this in another way, in a relatively short novel Diaz gives us a brief history, but of epic proportions, of the socio-political conditions of the Dominican Republic through one family's struggle for survival and their optimism for the future. Here is an example of how Diaz describes that optimism found in the character Beli, Oscar's mother: "Hers was a generation that would launch the Revolution, but which for the moment was turning blue for want of air. The generation reaching consciousness in a society that lacked any."

The idea of endurance is a theme that I found moving and at the same time disturbing. The ability and the capacity of the mixture of the people in the Caribbean to endure hardship is an experience to condemn on the part of those who perpetrate it and to celebrate on the part of those who remain resilient and optimistic.

Some of Diaz's achievements are that on the back of a family saga he manages to lay bare social life in some parts of the Caribbean: its poverty, its dictatorship elite, its racial internecine competitiveness and sadly the need for vast numbers of its population to migrate. At the same time against this grim reality, Diaz manages to conjure up a novel that brittles with comedy, it had me laughing out loud on many occasions. Further, if you are a reader who wants to gain some understanding the factual characters in the novel you will find that like me you will be Googling names to look up brief biographies. This is a masterpiece that should be read by all who love great literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Tis Better to Have Loved and Lost Than to Never Love at All, 9 Feb 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao is a family saga about identity, love, loss, oppression, hexes, sexuality, and fate. Don't give up during the first 50 pages where Oscar, the fat science-fiction and fantasy aficionado Dominican-American in the ghetto, is introduced . . . it's the least interesting part of the book.

From there, you will be transported into the past and future lives of Oscar's sister, mother, aunts, grandparents, and college roommate. Those lives are, in part, shared to present the history of the evil, repressive regime of Trujillo and its heirs in the Dominican Republic. The stories shared in this book rival anything you've read about the disappeared ones in Argentina.

Any book with such a sad point needs a little levity to release the reader's emotions. Junot Diaz accomplishes that result by having Oscar be the most unRomeo-like Romeo you can imagine.

Beneath the story line, the book asks a classic question: How much should we suffer for love?

Oscar is in many ways a modern Don Quixote who is troubled by having sexual desires as well as platonic ones. The humor is more subdued, but the parallels are striking.

If all you know about the Dominican Republic is that great baseball players come from there, you'll be pleased with this story. It's sweet and sad at the same time.

If you don't know Spanish, keep a dictionary handy. You won't quite know what some of the references are otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, if a bit overrated, 1 Dec 2008
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This story of a Dominican family, from the 1930s to the present, as they face a curse because one of its ancestors once displeased the all powerful Dictator Rafael Trujillo. Each chapter is about a particular member of the family. Some of them are memorable - the Oscar of the title, a black teen living in a New Jersey ghetto, a virgin weighing over 300 pounds, obsessed with videogames, Tolkien and genre literature and with zero game on women, is a memorable literary creation. Also compelling is the character of his grandfather, a respected doctor in the Dominican Republic who grew foul on dictator Trujillo by refusing to give her young daughters to him to deflower (the Dominican ruler apparently enjoyed Droit de Seigneur on his republic). Other characters (Oscar's sister, Oscar's mother) are less interesting: Diaz hand at portraying women characters is clearly weaker than with male characters. So at the end this is a case of a book that has great moments and less great ones. Still, it is a recommended read, even if the Pulitzer prize it won was probably a bit too generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncontrolled Brilliance, 13 Feb 2009
By 
R. Ahmed "Raz" (Avalon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Paperback)
There was a quiet, unassuming beauty about Diaz's collection of short stories Drown (read it, it's brilliant!!!), but this novel is just too wild. There are moments when the story is engaging, like the moments when Diaz writes about Dominica's horrific past, but these are fleeting.

The narrative voice is unconvincing and strains credulity too often, he doesn't have the playful charm of a Saleem Sinai (of Midnight's Children) and so is a barrier rather than a smooth channel to the narrative. There are moments when the writing is beautiful, lyrical, uncanny and so Diaz has not lost his any of his skills, but he needs to be more controlled, and dare I say it - more cautious about his choices in the future. He doesn't need any gimmicks to enliven his writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look into one of the US's subcultures, 18 May 2011
By 
This is one of the most entertaining books i have ever read. It was beautifully written in modern English, with spanish mixed in. Not the type of grammar, or language, you normally see written. All in all it was a great story told from varying perspectives, which kept it fresh the whole way throgh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar WOW!, 2 April 2011
This review is from: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Paperback)
One of the most stunning books written in years.The quality of the writing is quite exceptional and fresh.No wonder it won the Pulitzer.Suffice to say that I have given copies to a load of friends who have reacted similarly.Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Won over by the Wao Factor!, 18 Dec 2011
By 
J. M. Gardner (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Paperback)
I was infuriated by this book! Many a time I was on the verge of giving up on it, and would have if I hadn't actually paid good money for it, 12,000 WON in S. Korea! So I'm won over by Wao and my WON! Cos I stuck with it despite the demotic address, the opaque Spanish, the bewildering references to Lord of the Rings and Marvel Comics, the teeny-weeny footnotes, the voodoo curses! The payoff is his fluency, humour, raciness. And by the end I was weeping, yes Me! The finale is a surprise, heart-rending, and, yes life- affirming. When this author drops his tricksiness in favour of mature gravitas watch out for even louder fireworks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wondrous Book That Ought Not to Work, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Paperback)
On the surface, 'Oscar Wao' has little going for it. One of its main characters is an overweight Sci-Fi-Fantasy Nerd, there are numerous quotes from the 'Lord of The Rings', the author takes liberties with conventional grammar, the text has Spanish words sprayed through it with alarming regularity and there are endless footnotes on a country I knew almost nothing about. It just shouldn't work as a novel, but it does; extremely well.

The novel is narrated by a family friend and focuses on three generations of San Dominican immigrants, who now live in New Jersey. Being an overweight fantasy nerd myself, I particularly enjoyed the tragi-comedy of the sections that dealt with Oscar, but all of the narratives have much to recommend them.

The stories of 'Beli', Oscar's mother and grandfather Abelard, are really an examination of despotic cruelty. I had never heard Rafeal Trujillo; he may have been a relatively small player in World history but as Diaz reveals, Trujillo and his henchmen cast a dark shadow over the Dominican Republic for thirty years. The stories of Oscar and sister Lola, deal with the aftermath of a dictatorship, and the reality of life as an immigrant, in even the most cosmopolitan of melting pots. All four stories are well balanced and beautifully drawn.

This novel is not without its flaws. The repeated references to fantasy and comic book fiction, I imagine would grate on a reader not familiar with the genre. The unusual use of punctuation, particularly around dialogue, seemed entirely gratuitous and was occasionally confusing. My main gripe though, was the repeated use (mainly in Lola's tale) of colloquial Spanish. This was not only off-putting but also meant I often lost the sense of an entire sentence. All of these factors together ought to have made for a terrible novel, and it is testment to the quality of Diaz's writing, the strength of his story and his vivid characters that all times 'Oscar Wao' remains a compelling read.

Above all this is a novel about fate; were Oscar's family cursed or were they the architects of their own downfall? According to Diaz the San Dominicans are great believers in destiny, but his novel artfully shows, that for the oppressed, a difficult life often offers very few alternatives. This novel may have its flaws but it is powerful, important and above all, well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz (Paperback - 5 Feb 2009)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews