Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surely one of the best short story writers ever
'Although Kit and Rafe had met in the peace movement, marching, organizing, making no-nukes signs, now they wanted to kill each other.'

The opening lines of the opening story remind us of some of Lorrie Moore's attributes; the ability to set a scene concisely and with wit and to explore how people and relationships change. She is right up there with the very...
Published on 18 Sep 2009 by purpleheart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Collected stories
I bought this because it was the choice of a member of my book group.
I am a fan of short stories, and recently bought the collection of the 6 finalists from the Sunday Times short story competition, but there are so many stories in here that I got bored and found myself dipping in and out of the book. Not that the stories are not good, but just that they are all...
Published 2 months ago by J. M. Summers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surely one of the best short story writers ever, 18 Sep 2009
By 
purpleheart (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Stories of Lorrie Moore (Paperback)
'Although Kit and Rafe had met in the peace movement, marching, organizing, making no-nukes signs, now they wanted to kill each other.'

The opening lines of the opening story remind us of some of Lorrie Moore's attributes; the ability to set a scene concisely and with wit and to explore how people and relationships change. She is right up there with the very best of short story writers such as Carver, Munro or Updike. Her dialogue is superb and spare. She writes about people and situations we instantly recognise with the impact of an observational stand up comic - but with compassion and humanity also. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 4 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Collected Stories of Lorrie Moore (Paperback)
I've never been a fan of short stories but if anyone can bring about a conversion in me, it's Lorrie Moore.
This collection features some outstanding short stories achieving the emotional depth of full-blown novels, notably `People like them are the only people here', `Terrific Mother' and the hilarious `You're Ugly Too'.
`Terrific Mother' deals with the emotion that descends on all mothers before they leave the delivery room - guilt. For Adrienne the guilt is engendered by experiencing motherhood vicariously, when holding a friend's baby, and from the random, accidental yet traumatic event that follows. Thereafter Adrienne subconsciously renounces her right ever to love or to be loved, with devastating consequences for her marriage ("I married my husband because I thought it would be a great way to meet guys") and the social situations she is thrust into as the result of her husband's secondment amongst the academic fraternity of Italy. Here she inhabits the uncomfortable cloak of `spouse' and endures some excruciating and hilarious conversations, where no one speaks to her directly and Moore observes: `at times like this, she thought, it was probably a good idea to carry a small hand puppet'.
Deeply moving, witty and tragicomic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...those were good years. Only a little crying, only a little drinking.", 8 Nov 2010
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collected Stories of Lorrie Moore (Paperback)
The collection is vast - 37 stories, an average length of 28-30 pages a story - Lorrie Moore doesn't do many short short-stories, this will take a while to wade through and you have to like the genre, which I know many don't. But the thing about Lorrie Moore is how marvellously alive and buzzing her people are, even when they are like Boy 2, in Two Boys, mournful, serious, clinging - you see completely what Moore is doing. I must admit, I don't usually like stories where no one has a name - if you can't be bothered to name your protagonist how can his or her human properties resonate properly? In the better stories, names are given. A favourite for me was What You Want To Do Fine, which is about Quilty, a blind lawyer who falls in love with Mack, a young painter and decorator - their road trip across America is an absolute delight. Another favourite is People Like That Are The Only People Here: Canonical Babbling in Peed Onk (long, rather silly titles are maybe an affectation the reader could do without) is an immensely moving story about a child with leukaemia and his parents. Children feature more in the later stories and one can see the development of Moore's art take that turn, especially as the stories about children (and about parents remembering childhood) become a feature of her fine and delicately-strung sensibilities. There is some beautiful writing. This is from the above-mentioned Peed Onk:

"Pulling through is what people do around here. There is a kind of bravery in their lives that isn't bravery at all. It is automatic, unflinching, a mix of man and machine, consuming and unquestionable obligation meeting illness move for move in a giant even-steven game of chess - an unending round of something that looks like shadowboxing, though between love and death, which is the shadow?"

I love her writing unreservedly - yes, she sometimes over-reaches - but show me someone who is doing anything close to this deeply empathetic and honest exposure of the fine bones, the grit and gristle, of human existence in `the Land of the Free' today and I'll bow to your superior mental radar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly observed, 4 July 2012
Lorrie Moore is a brilliant writer and observer of life. This is an incredible collection and I'd recommend it to anyone who loves good writing. She has a unique sense of self-deprecating humor that many of her female protagonists use to navigate through their complicated lives. A wonderful look at the absurdity and beauty of being human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pure brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Collected stories, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because it was the choice of a member of my book group.
I am a fan of short stories, and recently bought the collection of the 6 finalists from the Sunday Times short story competition, but there are so many stories in here that I got bored and found myself dipping in and out of the book. Not that the stories are not good, but just that they are all very American and written in the same style (not unexpected as it is the same author!) but I didn't feel they were particularly inventive. I may finish the book at some time, but I may not bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book of short stories., 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Stories of Lorrie Moore (Paperback)
This is a great book full of wonderful stories, Nice to sit back and enter anothe world for an hour or two, all great stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Stories of Lorrie Moore (Paperback)
where has this writer been all my life?
brilliant, wish I'd discovered her sooner.

absolutely fantastic, great stories, great writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good reads of various lengths, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quirky and unexpected story lines, delivered with wit and verve. Very enjoyable stories - some can cover a short bus ride or others are quite extended bedtime reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of creative short stories, 30 July 2014
By 
Angus Jenkinson "angusjenkinson" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elegant, precise, iight and maginative writing of the first order; a cool tone, sensual, ascerbic, bitter, intelligent, beautiful. Lorrie takes you into the worlds of her characters in quick time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collected Stories of Lorrie Moore
The Collected Stories of Lorrie Moore by Lorrie Moore (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
5.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews