Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for animators, be they classical or digital
I was given this book by my parents in preparation for an art course of six months. The amount of use this book saw as I flipped through it time and time, and time(!), again all but made it a calendar, chronicling my betterment as an animator over the six months of intense training and practice the course lasted.
This book helped me further my understanding of not...
Published on 6 Oct 2011 by Samuel Franks

versus
3 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Marmite book - love it or hate it
I hated it. My overall impression was of one giant ego trip in book form. Richard Williams clearly knows his stuff, it's just that he doesn't seem able to put it across other than by blasting it from his personal "aren't I wonderful?" trumpet. Page after page of stick men and outlines marching through mazes of scruffy close-printed hand written text in capitals - the most...
Published on 19 Feb 2010 by rayk


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A must!!!, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Animator's Survival Kit (Paperback)
This is the book everyone has and thats completely justified cause its awsome. if youre in the animation buisness or just a 3d or 2d aftereffects enthusiast this sits well on your shelf. Its soo interesting to see that this is as old as i dont know who and still soo up to date. Wont be sorry after you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever, 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Animator's Survival Kit (Paperback)
Amazing, awesome, great, wonderful! I never read a book with so useful knowledge. Almost every page is full of extremely important advice. They should change title to "Animator's Bible" it's absolutely must-have for anyone who's interested in animation. Not only traditional, 3d animators will learn a lot stuff from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This's What I Need!, 12 Jan 2012
I have been looking for this book, for it's the one of the bibles for all animation artists! Every animator should have this book at hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful!, 24 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Animator's Survival Kit (Paperback)
This is a nice book for those who want to learn the art to draw animations. The book contains a lot of examples to learn from.
It also shows whats more correct to draw, instead of classic errors.

I recommend this book for people who want to learn this art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all animators, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. A. Hatjoullis "rare and fine books" (london - liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Animator's Survival Kit (Paperback)
This essential read for all animators is all you need to get started,
as well as the basics Richard Williams will compliment even the most skilled animators out there,
with your animation survival guide, Richard will never leave your side even when the going gets tough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Thoughts, 16 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Animator's Survival Kit (Paperback)
Very Interesting Book, A must have for mainly 2d Animators, I'm learning 3d animation and this book is still very helpful. In-Depth, well explained, structured drawings and advice. If you do not have this book and your learning Animation then your doing something very wrong :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its amazing, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Animator's Survival Kit (Paperback)
I am a first year animation student, and got this just before I went to uni - its truly amazing - giving you a step by step guide to each of the animation lessons - money definitely well spent :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book for all budding cartoonists, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Animator's Survival Kit (Paperback)
This is the man behind Who Framed Roger Rabbit, and although not Disney, he is still a genius. This man knows cartoons and has spent his entire life drawing and perfecting his designs, making them look human so we can relate to them, but also keeping the spirit of a cartoon character within them, so they can be comical, joyous and different so we can be in awe. The book is packed full of ideas, inspirations, tips, know-how and everything else a budding cartoonist needs. Well worth the price, and available on DVD too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Animators Guide, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Animator's Survival Kit (Paperback)
I have read a lot of animation guides. This is the best. Richard Williams knows his stuff and he can also explain it as well. Those two qualities do not necessarily go together. The book shows you more than mere movement - it shows you how to give your animation actors character and style. Williams is our legacy from the early days of Disney and Warner's Studios. Here he reveals the secrets of the men who made the pioneering classic animated films such as Snow White, Bambi and many more.

So regardless of what technology you are using to make the movement; be it computer, hand drawn, plasticine or card board cut-outs you will find something in the book that will make it look better than it would've done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really great book, 3 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Animator's Survival Kit (Paperback)
I just wanted to back up what others have said, I bought this book for my son who is going into 3d modelling, and it has so much great info, tricks and tips. A lovely book that will stay with you a lifetime. Well worth the price.Would definately recommend for anyone whos seriously into art animation etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Animator's Survival Kit
The Animator's Survival Kit by Richard E. Williams (Paperback - 5 Nov 2009)
22.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews