Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Half, 25 Dec. 2008
By 
Robert Goodall (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
I received this book as a present for Christmas and I have to say that it's probably one of the most fantastic things I've ever owned.

It is a collection of over 300 photographs by Simon Annand of actors preparing for their theatre production during 'The Half', the 30 minuets before a show in which no one must be backstage except the cast and crew.

There are many great names, and many of the photos stretch back over 20 years. I'm an actor myself and in each photo I do wonder what each performer must be thinking...

The simple fact is I can't truly describe the book for you, find a copy of it and look through it, if you have any interest in art.

Worth every penny, a true artistic gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrities - warts 'n' all!, 5 April 2010
By 
H. Mills (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delighting in photo essays, my appetite was whetted upon reading the review in a weekend supplement. The book is a wonderful compilation of so many familiar, respected and dare I say loved personalities in situations seldom shared. Either deep in script reviewing concentration or applying makeup in readiness for the all important first night. Sharing such intimate images is a rare privilege. Beautifully printed in black and white with sufficient captions to not overload the story presented in the images. Hardbound and fabric covered in a satisfyingly sized format. This book is a must have for all affectionardos of this genre and will be a long valued and enjoyed addition to my library. I really cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful record for anyone who loves the theatre world, 18 Jan. 2010
An entire book dedicated to photographs of the cream of stage-acting talent over the past 25 - 30 years in a situation and state of preparation the public doesn't usually see - a sheer delight and indulgence for any theatre fan. Thank you to Annand and his camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Half: Photographs of Actors Preparing for the Stage, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half: Photographs of Actors Preparing for the Stage (Paperback)
A wonderful, wonderful book which manages to reproduce in images the preparation actors undertake, in order to make their audiences believe the characters they portray on stage. Somehow the black and white photos seem to convey better the transformation process of each actor, as they turn themselves from someone we may 'know' as a celebrity, into a completely new and authentic character as required by the role they are about to play. If you like theatre, you'll love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ain't half good, 10 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. Kenan Ali (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What an amazing book! The book highlights the different approaches to undertaking concentrated, artistic work much more clearly than any mere words could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding collection, 10 April 2011
By 
Mrs. S. Ridgley (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Half: Photographs of Actors Preparing for the Stage (Paperback)
This book contains a stunning collection of black and white photographs of the vulnerable moments in an actor's life just before curtain-up, the minutes of exultation, the focussed periods of concentration, the 'getting into character' transformation, the off-guard, the hilarious, the shared and the isolated. Actors and actresses in make-up, in front of a mirror in preparation for performance. Smoking a last cigarette in the battle to calm stage fright; doing something else at the last minute that they can't do on stage! If you love photography, theatre and the life of the image, these pictures will transport you backstage and onstage to the 'smell of the greasepaint, the roar of the crowd'.The Half: Photographs of Actors Preparing for the Stage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Photos, 28 July 2009
This book is amazing. I love it. Stunning Photography catching actors in relaxed yet striking poses.
A great buy and good service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half: Photographs of Actors Preparing for the Stage (Paperback)
This is a gorgeous book, full of exceptional photos which are beautiful simply on their own account, but also tell a history of theatre and the actors it depicts. Definitely a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half: Photographs of Actors Preparing for the Stage (Paperback)
this book is part of a V&A touring exhibition which I saw in Stratford Upon Avon at the RSC exhibition. Excellent exhibit and book. I also bought a copy for a friend who loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photography, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half: Photographs of Actors Preparing for the Stage (Paperback)
Great for any theatre lovers or people with an interest in acting. Some really interesting shots of famous and less well known actors. Great coffee table book and lovely gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Half: Photographs of Actors Preparing for the Stage
The Half: Photographs of Actors Preparing for the Stage by Simon Annand (Paperback - 18 Feb. 2010)
Used & New from: £89.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews