Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2013
Loved readingvthe first two books when my daughter was young.
She is now 25 and we both enjoyed this book again and as she did not know it was a series of books and had always wondered what happened to Tolly , we bought the whole set and loved reading them for the first time aged 25 and 59!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Lucy Boston’s first and original book, The Children of Green Knowe has long been a favourite of mine – a ghost story with a hint of fantasy set in the quietly mysterious Fens. Six years ago I visited the actual Green Knowe house and had a tour of the Norman manor house in Hemingford Grey by Lucy’s daughter, Diana Boston.

The second book in the series, The Chimneys of Green Knowe is a similarly fantastical time-shift story, but this third installment lacks for most of the story any of the ghost or fantasy elements of the story.

The story concerns a new set of children who are visiting the house for the summer, but it is a story that is for the most part less about Green Knowe but the river that surrounds it and concerned with the adventures, discoveries, and the people that the children meet whilst messing about on the river. Mrs Oldknowe, the old lady of the earlier stories, is mentioned only once in passing is not until the last short section that the house takes on its old, mysterious persona.

For all this it is absolutely beautifully and sumptuously written, and a delight to read, and makes me want to go back and explore the real gardens with its strange topiary that really could come to life upon a moonlit evening.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2001
This book has been lovingly written from the perspective of three children who have their first adventures together on a river at Green Knowe. It is part of a lovely series of books which are well worth reading as the author has managed to include a lot of depth and feeling which is woven into all her books.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 September 2014
A lovely story for children who like to take it slow and look at the view. It has one of those summer holiday settings where the children are left to their own devices and make discoveries that adults never would.

Each little adventure is a jewel of story-telling and a small artistic pleasure.

Ida, Oscar and Ping are an unusual group of children, just the right kind of mix to explore the extraordinary landscape around Green Knowe.

They plan to make a map of the islands in the watery geography of the area they play in. Each island has a strange secret.

The greatest adventure brings them to a friendly giant who they help to realise his ambition. Tarek at the circus makes an effective climax where the children realise they will always see more than the adults ever could.

It is a bit old-fashioned, but the quaintness will appeal to a certain type of artistic young reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I was looking for a replacement to the books that I had owned as a child and these seem a little tricky to locate as they are no longer in print from the research that I have done. The book received was in pristine condition and the delivery was quick too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
This was a second copy for a second granddaughter whose busy reading sopmething else, but I'm sure she will be enchanted as the rest of us are, and always have been by the Green Knowe books..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
I loved Lucy Boston's books as a child and are re-visiting them as an adult. Which is a very rewarding experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
I bought this book on behalf of a friend who was very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Lovely light book enjoyed very much .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.