Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building a good series
This is only Tobias Jones second novel featuring Italian detective Castagnetti, but already building a strong character and style. Feel that Tobias Jones has a long and strong Castagnetti series buidling up. Important in it's own right, so no point in comparing with Dibden and Aurelio Zen, they are too different. Castagnetti is young but quirky, a beekeeper, has a slight...
Published on 17 July 2011 by Ray Kay

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid addition to series
White Death moves at a swift pace. The prose is expressive and the characters and scenes well penned. The plot is fairly straightforward, with some nice detail on property politics and deal making, and it has a nice twist, though I found the tension a little underwhelming at times and the ending a little sudden and underdeveloped. A few more pages would have helped to...
Published on 9 May 2012 by Rob Kitchin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building a good series, 17 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Death (Paperback)
This is only Tobias Jones second novel featuring Italian detective Castagnetti, but already building a strong character and style. Feel that Tobias Jones has a long and strong Castagnetti series buidling up. Important in it's own right, so no point in comparing with Dibden and Aurelio Zen, they are too different. Castagnetti is young but quirky, a beekeeper, has a slight limp from earlier violence, lives in modest surroundings, but dedicates himself totally to his case. Good characters, strong plot, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid addition to series, 9 May 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Death (Castagnetti 2) (Paperback)
White Death moves at a swift pace. The prose is expressive and the characters and scenes well penned. The plot is fairly straightforward, with some nice detail on property politics and deal making, and it has a nice twist, though I found the tension a little underwhelming at times and the ending a little sudden and underdeveloped. A few more pages would have helped to round the story off a little more. Overall, a very readable book and a solid second addition to Jones' series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Death (Castagnetti 2) (Paperback)
Great read. Tobias Jones as usual knows how to entertain us with his great knowledge of Italy. a page turner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Death, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
Jg Fergusson "Carrick" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Death (Paperback)
Throughly enjoyed this the second outing of the "detective".
Again a crisp storyline moving at a brisk pace.
Disappointed to once again to note the failings of the Italian lecal system - a common occurence in most Italian crime fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just very very bad, 16 July 2011
By 
This review is from: White Death (Paperback)
This book is just very very bad. I think that I Keep buying Mr. Jone's books to satisfy my perverse curiosity as to how bad a book about Italy/set in Italy can be when the author knows so little about the Country.....and I have not been disappointed in my twisted pleasure. The book just reads awfully and is full of inaccuracies. I am looking forward to Mr. Jones' next book to see whether there is a limit to an author's self destructive presumption to write about something (in this case Italy) he does not know at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Death (Castagnetti 2)
White Death (Castagnetti 2) by Tobias Jones (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews