Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical and Enchanting
The Underground Man tells the story of the final months of an endearingly eccentric Duke. The first person narrative, extraordinary characterisation and elegant prose combine to create a fabulous study of dotage. Sad, comic and insightful we follow the Duke's musings as he tries to come to terms with the tragedy of his early life, his inability to establish relationships...
Published on 6 Aug 2012 by Calypso

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange book indeed
Like the Widow's Tale by the same author, this is a first person narrative that beautifully captures inner turmoil and uncertainty. I read to the end but wasn't really gripped. The central character is a singular type and I suppose plausible as a wealthy late nineteenth century eccentric with the means to indulge even his wildest fancies. I didn' t really engage with him...
Published 17 months ago by Barista 1


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical and Enchanting, 6 Aug 2012
The Underground Man tells the story of the final months of an endearingly eccentric Duke. The first person narrative, extraordinary characterisation and elegant prose combine to create a fabulous study of dotage. Sad, comic and insightful we follow the Duke's musings as he tries to come to terms with the tragedy of his early life, his inability to establish relationships and the nature of his world.

A superb book, beautifully written, memorable and engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book ever!!, 20 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Underground Man (Paperback)
What can I say about this phenomenal book...? I am reading it for the third time and it just gets better and better!! Mick Jackson's prose is exquisite - each sentence is so beautifully crafted, his vocabulary so rich and the anti hero so poignantly described.Dare I say a Dickens of our time? Whilst there are little moments of humour,to me this is essentially the most moving and powerful study of the loneliness of an individual, and his mental decline. Absolute genius!!
The ending haunted me for days... I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something a bit different, 4 Dec 2011
By 
M. Wood (Midlands,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Underground Man (Paperback)
This was recommended to me by a couple of people so i decided to give it a try, im glad i did. Just finished reading today and have thoroughly enjoyed it. It is written like the Duke's diary with various accounts from his friends and staff, which may sound different but it works very well. The Duke is a likeable character who has unusual ways of seeing and describing things, and slowly wants less and less to do with the outside world. A great book which keeps you hooked right until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a cracking read, 22 Aug 2011
This is an odd little story that meanders along in a strange but compelling way.It's also laugh out loud funny in parts,as the Duke sets off on his various adventures for reasons known only to himself.I really enjoyed this quirky tale and was touched by the musings of the Duke in his quest for the 'answer.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange, Gentle and Melancholy, 14 Aug 2007
By 
Gregory S. Buzwell "bagpuss007" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Underground Man (Paperback)
The Underground Man tells the tale of an endearingly dotty and delightfully eccentric old Duke. During the course of the novel the Duke asks for a series of tunnels to be built beneath the grounds of his estate so he can travel to the outskirts of his land, by coach, but completely underground. He also engages in such eccentric behaviour as travelling between the floors of his mansion in a dumb waiter; taking the study of phrenology to insane extremes and wondering at length just what exactly does happen to all the whale bones deposited on the sea bed. He's a beautifully strange and lovable creation, but beneath the wayward charm there seems to be something rather dark nagging at his consciousness. He worries about the past, fretting upon something he cannot quite recall, and he occasionally sees a young boy out of the corner of his eye that no one else ever notices.

What raises this book above being simply the character study of a delightfully strange old gentleman is the quality of the prose. Mick Jackson has a gift for the beautiful metaphor and the dazzling simile. At one point the Duke recalls a young lady he loved and lost asleep on a divan in all her finery, describing her defenceless state as being "beautifully capsized". At another he meditates on the weather-worn gravestones in the churchyard, wearing their tattered garments of green and brown. There's a definte melancholy edge to much of the writing, but all the same the key-note of the book is one of gentle humour. The Duke's observations, and the way his long-suffering staff relate to them, are exquisitely funny: the maid discovering the old gentleman suspended upside down from a tree by his trousers is a beautifully comic moment.

There is, in truth, little in the way of plot but the superb writing and the delightful company of the Duke make this an engaging and memorable book. Lyrical, lovable and melancholy, and with a dark twist in the tale that I personally didn't see coming. Recommended reading for a winter's night by the fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Underground Man, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Underground Man (Paperback)
Thought that I'd try this book as it's about the Duke of Portland of Welbeck Abbey, and I have a keen interest in the place and its history. Written in a somewhat unusual format that seems to be taken from the Dukes diaries. I really enjoyed it, and have now read it again. I kind of felt sorry for him in a way,for the torment he suffered. However if you enjoy history and an unusual slant this is well worth a read, very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sympathetic and beautifully written, 7 Jan 2001
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Jackson makes the figure of the Duke come alive in a wonderfully endearing way. I loved the way that the Duke's view of the world was given almost free rein so it seemed like he was making perfect sense and it was everyone else that was mad. It was a very sympathetic view of what madness is perceived to be. The spiritual side of the writing was very uplifting and thought provoking and nicely leavened by some beautifully dry touches of humour. Similarly the Duke's narrative was broken up with the accounts of those who had come into contact with him to give a more rounded yet no less eccentric picture. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Immaculate copy, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Underground Man (Paperback)
Have just started reading it for my book group. Only a few pages in, quite like it so far....Like the jacket design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A strange book indeed, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the Widow's Tale by the same author, this is a first person narrative that beautifully captures inner turmoil and uncertainty. I read to the end but wasn't really gripped. The central character is a singular type and I suppose plausible as a wealthy late nineteenth century eccentric with the means to indulge even his wildest fancies. I didn' t really engage with him though. For me, nowhere near as enjoyable as the Widow's Tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Underground Man, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Underground Man (Paperback)
Very good , if somewhat unusual read, good profile of gathering madness, historical novel with a unique prospective. Value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Underground Man
The Underground Man by Mick Jackson (Paperback - 2 Aug 2007)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews