Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different from the usual offerings, 3 May 2010
By 
Me read (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cat Kin (Paperback)
What an interesting book. It's aimed at children but has enough going for it to hold the older generation's interest too. It's a bit different to others which are on the shelves at the moment.

The premise is that a group of misfit kids sign up for various activities at the leisure center - but upon getting to their first classes they somehow get sidetracked into a pashki class that they didn't intend to go to, without realising it. They're all very different and they don't know each other before that first meeting but somehow the pashki class brings them all together and makes them look out for each other outside of the classes. Pashki is an ancient art which involves invoking their inner cat and finding skills they didn't know they had. Sounds suspect but it's all put together really well and keeps you turning pages to find out where it's headed.

There are some pretty nasty villians in the book, which might not be suitable for under 10's and the cruelty to animals might distress those with a soft heart. The violence inn't major, but it's maybe too much for younger age groups. There are a couple of loose ends left at the end, although the story ends neatly enough, and it's those loose ends that will be further developed in the follow on book, which I plan to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY EXCITING BOOK, 4 July 2007
This review is from: The Cat Kin (Paperback)
It has all the verve and pace of an adult's thriller, including some deeply unpleasant villains with some ABOMINABLE AND DIRE plans. The story is intriguing right from the beginning - Tiffany and Ben, who both have far from easy home lives, "enrol in Mrs Powell's strange gym class and learn pashki, a lost art that will give them extraordinary cat-like powers. But the fun is about to turn deadly". There are a lot of scary moments and Ben and Tiffany get into some very tight corners. It's a well-written and intelligent book: the story's strong and there's also lots of interesting stuff about cats and cat behaviour - I don't even like cats but reading this I quite wanted to be one. "Curiosity saved the cat many more times than it killed her."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Congratulations to Nick Green - a first class writer, 16 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat Kin (Paperback)
I have just finished reading the two books The Cat Kin and Cat's Paw. I bought them for my children but have read them first! I found both stories a thrilling, chilling and occasionally heart-stopping read. I must say I have dreamed of moving in the way Nick Green describes the Cat Kin move. His observation of feline behaviour is perfect. When it comes to the villains in these books ... they are probably the most evil I have ever encountered in a children's story - they are subhuman, they live a subterranean life in which their humanity is subsumed by their animal side. In the second book, Martin Fisher is a character that will haunt you long after you have finished reading. There were also moments when Mrs Powell reminded me of Mrs Coulter in Philip Pullman's "His Dark Material" trilogy. Combine all this with gritty, exciting extended action scenes and a plot premise which is highly imaginative and original, plus tough, streetwise dialogue, several sharp shocks near the end and a final uplifting twist. Congratulations to Nick Green - a first class writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous debut novel, 8 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Cat Kin (Paperback)
This book is brilliant. A fantastic read which centres on a mysterious woman, who runs classes for children, which are more than they initially appear. The two protagonists Ben and Tiffany have to deal with threatening outside influences, internal changes, and their parents, whilst also learning to get along together. The villains of the piece could not be anymore dastardly; their company name is an acronym for pure evil. The pace is break neck, and there is enough twist and turns for a 10 year old and upwards to be enthralled to the last page.

Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just for Cat Lovers, 13 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Cat Kin (Paperback)
This is a zany and fast-paced thriller with characters you'll root for all the way from the moment Ben and Tiffany enrol in a mysterious pashki class and become involved in international intrigue and all manner of evil doings. An extremely intelligent and well-written novel whose author doesn't patronise children. Even older teens will adore the ins and outs of the plot, while recognising themselves in Ben and Tiffany. I can't wait to read the sequel, and neither will your children. A perfect Christmas - or anytime - gift and a must for every library.

There aren't many middle-grade thrillers of this quality out there. And it's great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat Kin, 6 Feb 2006
This review is from: Cat Kin (Paperback)
I started reading this book on the train home from work as had nothing else to read and had bought it earlier as a present for a friend’s son.
However, within 2 days I had finished the book and thoroughly enjoyed it.
This is a fantastic, lively, fast paced and totally believable story which had me hooked from the very first couple of pages.
The characters are real people who you totally believe in, and their adventures and escapades are filled with nail biting moments. It is action packed and has the most fantastic 'bus jumping' scene that will have kids talking in every school playground for years to come.
Harry Potter had better watch out as there is a new kid hot on his heels in the form of Ben. I can't wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, interesting and of its time..., 8 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: The Cat Kin (Paperback)
This book has all the elements of a best seller..entertaining for young and not so young!
Cats you love 'em' or hate 'em but you will enjoy this book which cleverly blends social realities with suspense and fantasy.
Eyecatching cover- ideal Christmas gift.
I am looking forward to the sequel .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new author, 27 Feb 2006
This review is from: Cat Kin (Paperback)
This book is great. The story makes a refreshing change to other children's books available at the moment that tend to focus around witches and wizards. The characters are realistic and are easy to empathise with.
Really hope to see a sequel from the author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cat kin, 6 Feb 2006
This review is from: Cat Kin (Paperback)
I started reading this book on the train home from work as had nothing else to read and had bought it earlier as a present for a friend’s son.
However, within 2 days I had finished the book and thoroughly enjoyed it.
This is a fantastic, lively, fast paced and totally believable story which had me hooked from the very first couple of pages.
The characters are real people who you trust and believe in, and their adventures and escapades are filled with nail biting moments. It is action packed and has the most fantastic 'bus jumping' scene that will have kids talking in every school playground for years to come.
Harry Potter had better watch out as there is a new kid hot on his heels in the form of Ben. I can't wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed, 27 Jan 2006
By 
Moggat (Ipswich, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cat Kin (Paperback)
Right from page 1 of Cat Kin it’s abundantly clear how good it’s going to be, and you’re not disappointed. In fact, by less than halfway through it is already as gripping as most good thrillers are in their last two chapters… and the tension just keeps on winding up.
I was trying to read this aloud to my ten-year-old, but we kept losing our respective places as he sneaked looks at it behind my back and I carried on reading it behind his! Eventually by about chapter 14 we just agreed to part ways, however I carried on with the bedtime story sessions simply because it’s a wonderful book to read aloud. The use of language is surprisingly elegant for such an action-packed thriller although it never gets ‘flowery’ and most of the time is well within the compass of a younger reader.
Personally I loved the characterisation, the witty dialogue, the bold way that the grittier elements of the story were handled (there’s a lot of kitchen-sink realism amidst all the flights of fantasy). There’s also a rare feeling of veracity, as these children are transformed into “human cats” with real sleight of hand. The reader really feels what that might be like. As for the other Richard (my son) I think he loved the crash-bang-wallop action best of all, although I am sure it was just as much because he actually cared about the people in it.
All in all: a real find. Will be read over I’m sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cat Kin
The Cat Kin by Nick Green (Paperback - 7 Jun 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews