Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the TV show...
I absolutely love this book. I have hundreds of quotation books, but they almost all lack the editorial style of Messrs Lloyd and Mitchinson. The big difference is that quotation books are normally only really reference books, this one flows so that you find yourself absorbed and taken along by it.

Other reviewers suggest it's nothing to do with the TV show QI...
Published on 23 Oct 2008 by A. Sunnucks

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I write as a sow piddles (Mozart)
Ever read the entirety of a reference book, cover to cover? Me neither. And you won't be counting Advanced Banter: The QI Book of Quotations as a first, I'm fairly sure. This rather sizeable collection definitely works best as something to dip into. The quotations are split thematically, and although you sense that they gathered the material first and then separated...
Published on 17 May 2009 by Jenny Peebles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book of quotes which is practically inexhaustible., 12 Jun 2009
By 
Scott A. Booth (Wrangaton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
The 'QI Advanced Banter' book is a brilliant book for fans of memorable quotes and those people who want to memorise useful quips. The quotes range from well known public figures such as Martin Luther King and Socrates, to unknown figures such as Nan Porter. I recommend this book to any fan of literature or anyone interested in fun and memorable quotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another QI delight - informative, enjoyable and well-researched, 16 April 2009
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
One of the things I most enjoyed about Advanced Banter was the informative little potted biographies that accompany some of the authors of quotes who have now slipped from the public eye.

There are unexpected inclusions - two quotes from Miss Piggy, one on squirrels and one on food - and others who you thought would perhaps be more widely quoted who almost slipped through. There is just one quote from Pope John Paul II for example. There are three quotes from comedian Mick Miller, only one from polymath Jonathan Miller and none from his witty contemporaries David Frost and Peter Cook.

A book to dip into then, not one in which you might find the origins of a quote (Shakespeare has just one entry) but one in which to find something refreshing and new. I like the quote from Terry Pratchett that I'd somehow missed before now as a Pterry fan: "Wisdom comes from experience. Experience is often a result of lack of wisdom."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting. Amusing. Ideal for dipping into., 12 Oct 2008
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
This book is simply a collection of amusing quotations from the famous - and the not so famous. It doesn't really appear to have anything more to do with QI than having the series name on the cover. It's a great book for dipping into but hardly something you'll want to tirelessly read from cover to cover. Ideal as a bathroom reader or to amuse others with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite the best book of quotations!, 3 Nov 2008
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
What a great book - packed with gems of wit and wisdom. Only the interesting-facts QI team could deliver such a great collection and do it so well. Clearly a real labour of love for those who put it together.
A veritable treasure trove. An ideal present for almost anyone on almost any occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars banter of the most advanced level, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Paperback)
it has been handy during meetings
i have read it a fair amount and makes internet arguing a lot easier
if you like shouting at random people on youtube, get this to help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, you just can't beat it., 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
Just perfect, couldn't be better, it was the choice of a relative for a gift. Supplied in time without problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good (ish), 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is written and organised well, however the quotations are slightly odd. I thought it would be the sort of book with intelligent insults and comebacks in, however these are just quotes regarding a specific subject.
It is also rather difficult to read on a Kindle.
Without doubt the book is presented and organised well, it's just not what I was looking for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun to browse, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Mark "MSB" (Banchory, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for a fun to browse occasionally - I cant see reading it all the way thru, but great in small doses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
It is a good book that gives you ideal ideas for birthday wishes you can put on the cards etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good value if you have never read this type of book. my wife had read a number of quotation books and had read a lot before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

QI: Advanced Banter
QI: Advanced Banter by John Mitchinson (Paperback - 8 Oct 2009)
5.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews