Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars81
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2016
not what i expected by the title to be honest but palatable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Christmas present - arrived as arranged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Nice gift for coffeetable or toilet!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
The problem that we have here is that there’s not enough about this book that makes it feel like a Q.i. book – sure, it’s written by the show’s creators and it includes a prologue by Stephen Fry (and even a jokey proverb by Alan Davies), but once you actually get into it, it’s just the same as every other collection of quotations that are on the market.

It’s actually kind of daunting to read it, because there’s such a huge amount of information packed in such a (relatively) small amount of space. It’s just back to back quotations from the start to the finish, and if that’s what you’re looking for then that’s a great thing. I guess I was just hoping for them to be put in context – more context than the fairly arbitrary categorisations that the authors use.

That’s why I gave this book a seven, my default rating for any book which is professionally written but which nevertheless leaves a little to be desired. There’s nothing wrong with this book at all, but I can’t help feeling like it could’ve been a little better. All of the other Q.i. books are packed full of context, and I would have liked to have known a bit more about some of the people who are quoted here.

Still, there are plenty of quotes here that I’d never come across before, and it does also have a useful index at the end for you to look up the people that you’re interested in. There’s a good variety of sources, too – on the cover alone, they reference Billy Connolly, Steve Martin, Dolly Parton, Albert Einstein and P. G. Wodehouse.

You’d expect nothing less from Lloyd and Mitchinson – they’re clearly two guys who like to do their research, and they’ve done plenty of research here, and so there was always going to be a certain amount of skill shown here. It’s just a bit of a shame that it didn’t live up to its full potential, and I’d go so far as to rank it as the worst of the collection.

So I’d suggest that you try one of the other Q.i. books, like the Q.i. Book of the Dead or even just The Book of General Ignorance. If you still want more then you can move on to this one afterwards. Let me know what you think once you’ve read them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
a useful book for browsing speakers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
okay book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
I expected something far more amusing and "Interesting." Overall it is quite disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
gift gratefully received by my son
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
Super funny book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Great read you can nip in and out and find a quote for every occasion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)