Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a treat to leaf through
Don't be put off by the use of the word "banter" and the exclusively contemporary quotations on the front cover: for once, "advanced banter" is not a clumsy reference to laddish innuendo but, as you might expect of the people at QI, the original and correct use of the term. This is a collection of clever, witty pleasantry which appeals to every generation. Ranging from...
Published on 8 Jun 2009 by Rachel Parris

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I write as a sow piddles (Mozart)
Ever read the entirety of a reference book, cover to cover? Me neither. And you won't be counting Advanced Banter: The QI Book of Quotations as a first, I'm fairly sure. This rather sizeable collection definitely works best as something to dip into. The quotations are split thematically, and although you sense that they gathered the material first and then separated...
Published on 17 May 2009 by Jenny Peebles


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a treat to leaf through, 8 Jun 2009
By 
Rachel Parris (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
Don't be put off by the use of the word "banter" and the exclusively contemporary quotations on the front cover: for once, "advanced banter" is not a clumsy reference to laddish innuendo but, as you might expect of the people at QI, the original and correct use of the term. This is a collection of clever, witty pleasantry which appeals to every generation. Ranging from Hegel to Hicks and from Iqbal to Izzard, it is a useful and moreover entertaining collection of quotations, arranged into broad and not-so-broad subjects such as "Money", "Persuasion" "Celery" and, the house favourite, "Legs". The wide range of sources ensures it avoids covering the same old quotations you could have read in a 1963 Reader's Digest edition. Yes, it has all the important classics in it but it is fresh and funny and contains so much more than the usual Shakespeare and Voltaire. If you're looking for quotations, this is the book you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the TV show..., 23 Oct 2008
By 
A. Sunnucks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book. I have hundreds of quotation books, but they almost all lack the editorial style of Messrs Lloyd and Mitchinson. The big difference is that quotation books are normally only really reference books, this one flows so that you find yourself absorbed and taken along by it.

Other reviewers suggest it's nothing to do with the TV show QI. I don't agree. John Lloyd and John Mitchinson dreamed up and produce the QI TV show, and you can tell the humour and approach is from the same place. The great thing about the TV show is nothing is off limits. If it is interesting and it is funny, it is in. From Greek philosophy to the profane and odd, anything goes. The same applies to this excellent book, and that, along with the Johns' comedy and editorial talent is why this is different from the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference and casual reading too, 8 Feb 2009
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
Normally one to stick with "stores" or novels such as Sedaris and his "Me Talk Pretty" or the funny books "Barring Some Unforeseen Accident" or "Stephen Fry in America," I found this great and hysterical book of quotations quite by accident. Favorites include:

People say they sleep like a baby until they have one.

All anybody needs to know about prizes is that Mozart never won one.

And, with apologies to America, this from Ronald Reagan (you might have thought George Bush) "What would this country be without this great land of ours?"

And for those of you who remember some great quotes but can't remember who or where they came from , this is invaluable. Lest you think this is strictly "bathroom" reading, let me assure you, it is not. Neither is it something you're going to want to sit down with for hours, but it is a great reference book, great fun, and you'll be amazed at who said what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I write as a sow piddles (Mozart), 17 May 2009
By 
Jenny Peebles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
Ever read the entirety of a reference book, cover to cover? Me neither. And you won't be counting Advanced Banter: The QI Book of Quotations as a first, I'm fairly sure. This rather sizeable collection definitely works best as something to dip into. The quotations are split thematically, and although you sense that they gathered the material first and then separated it out, this doesn't detract from its quality. Comedians, scientists, artists, statesmen, novelists and philosophers are counted among the talking heads in a collection that runs the gamut from the profound to the throwaway, the clever-clever to the surprisingly heartfelt. (It's this jumping about in terms of tone, by the way, that makes this book best taken down from your shelf and dipped into little and often.) All the usual topics are here - love, duty, wisdom - but much of the material is surprisingly fresh and wisely avoids many of the hackneyed aphorisms that we could probably all already quote. Less Oscar Wilde, more Russian proverbs, as it happens. Not that I subscribe to the really quite ridiculous premise of this book - that you might drop one of its pearls into your conversations. Not in the world I inhabit, certainly. However unrealistic, if you like what can be done with a well-chosen word, it's well worth swallowing this for the opportunity to treasure such lines as `You can recognise a cruel man: he cries in the cinema' (Graham Greene). I like that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 12 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
Compendiums of quotations, tacked together from a panoply of sources, can be difficult to review on their own terms, but Advanced Banter is unusual in that it radiates effort, commitment and care. This hardback edition looks and feels delightful, and the quotations are smartly arranged by theme. Lloyd and Mitchinson incorporate familiar epithets from Classical sources to the modern day, but also litter the book with idiosyncratic and esoteric gems. A highly recommended collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 26 Sep 2009
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
What can you say, these guys are on to something much bigger than a TV gameshow. The stuff of life is oozing from the covers. It's the only book of quotations I could ever imagine buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another QI delight - informative, enjoyable and well-researched, 16 April 2009
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
One of the things I most enjoyed about Advanced Banter was the informative little potted biographies that accompany some of the authors of quotes who have now slipped from the public eye.

There are unexpected inclusions - two quotes from Miss Piggy, one on squirrels and one on food - and others who you thought would perhaps be more widely quoted who almost slipped through. There is just one quote from Pope John Paul II for example. There are three quotes from comedian Mick Miller, only one from polymath Jonathan Miller and none from his witty contemporaries David Frost and Peter Cook.

A book to dip into then, not one in which you might find the origins of a quote (Shakespeare has just one entry) but one in which to find something refreshing and new. I like the quote from Terry Pratchett that I'd somehow missed before now as a Pterry fan: "Wisdom comes from experience. Experience is often a result of lack of wisdom."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And I quote..., 10 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
Ever stumbled a cross a quote or saying that rang so true, you've decided to write it down and tuck in a pocket for future reference? Well, this book's full of them.
Quotes are powerful things. They can make us happy, sad, laugh, cry, can comfort us, annoy us...the list goes on. As such, this book is a rollercoaster of opinions and witticisms, some of which are infamous, some of which are lesser known.
It's difficult to review such a book because...well...it's a bit of a nothingness. It is, quite simply, a collection of quotes from famous people, A-Z by subject. That's it. The overall product feels rushed, too - on my first thumb through, I noticed 3 spelling errors! - and I don't appreciate having the QI brand slapped on it. A foreword by Fry it may have, but it has very little to do with the show.
That said, is does what it's meant to do, and it does it well - it's a big volume, the kind that warrants dipping into, despite perhaps not seeming to be great value at first, I can imagine this book lasting years, always worth opening up to find a quote to inspire (or infuriate) you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book of quotes which is practically inexhaustible., 12 Jun 2009
By 
Scott A. Booth (Wrangaton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
The 'QI Advanced Banter' book is a brilliant book for fans of memorable quotes and those people who want to memorise useful quips. The quotes range from well known public figures such as Martin Luther King and Socrates, to unknown figures such as Nan Porter. I recommend this book to any fan of literature or anyone interested in fun and memorable quotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stocking filler, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI: Advanced Banter (Hardcover)
or coffee table book, particularly for fans of the popular TV series. Contents to be used sparingly in polite company (lest you be consigned to the table in the corner with the other geeks!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

QI: Advanced Banter
QI: Advanced Banter by John Mitchinson (Hardcover - 2 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews