Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chance discovery
I had never heard of Claire Keegan and picked up this book by chance in my local library, from their 'quick choice' section. I love it, and having read and returned it to the library, I decided to buy a copy for myself. I don't usually read short stories, but have a new appreciation for them now - I found these stories completely involving, and one or two even made me...
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by G. Hughson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear
This promised so much. Not bad short stories but the potential was wasted in arty variations of old folk tales and the usual stories of depressing guilt so common in modern Irish short stories. Lots of lovely writing but a bit too much. Too arty.
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by RL Cloherty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chance discovery, 10 Jan 2010
By 
G. Hughson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk the Blue Fields (Paperback)
I had never heard of Claire Keegan and picked up this book by chance in my local library, from their 'quick choice' section. I love it, and having read and returned it to the library, I decided to buy a copy for myself. I don't usually read short stories, but have a new appreciation for them now - I found these stories completely involving, and one or two even made me shed a tear on the train to work. I would definitely recommend this - and in fact have done so already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favorite book of mine., 26 May 2008
By 
J. Phelan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk the Blue Fields (Paperback)
I bought a copy about a year ago. I have read it a number of times since. It contains beautiful, authentic stories that manage to reveal the human condition without taking a bath in a pool of misery.

I loan out lots of my books, most never to be seen again :), but this one I will not part with, insisting my friends buy their own copy. Buy it, read it, enjoy it, keep it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars World class, 22 Oct 2007
This review is from: Walk the Blue Fields (Paperback)
Keegan's stories are beautifully honed and sparse. Her first collection, Antarctica, is good, but this collection propels her in to the big league. All the stories here are crafted masterfully and speak of damaged people and lives and loves lost or regained. I really think she is a world class short story writer who, on this evidence at least, belongs in the same company as Raymond Carver, or Alice Munro. The great Irish short story has found a huge new lease of life with Keegan's emergence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear, 16 Jun 2011
By 
RL Cloherty (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Walk the Blue Fields (Paperback)
This promised so much. Not bad short stories but the potential was wasted in arty variations of old folk tales and the usual stories of depressing guilt so common in modern Irish short stories. Lots of lovely writing but a bit too much. Too arty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The author's name on the cover says it all, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk the Blue Fields (Paperback)
Beautiful. Never read a dud by Ms Keegan yet and imagine I never will. She is a tory-teller of absolute craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short story collection, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk the Blue Fields (Paperback)
I am not a fan of the short story form, and only bought this as it wasa reading group choice. Given that, I would say they are well written stories, and generally well liked by our readin group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The writing is breathtakingly stunning, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk the Blue Fields (Paperback)
I have read all of the author's books but this probably was my favourite. It is written with such insight into it's characters and their contexts that it took my breath away.
That the author comes from the community that she writes about gives her short stories a greater depth and understanding.
Each story speaks of the personal stories and tragedies of individuals and there is a poignancy and sense of abandonment
as well as laughter and joy woven through. The books title," walk the blue fields" is one of the saddest stories, yet beautiful whilst "The long and painful death" is quite dark.

I loved the images of country life and the stories about dancing were real gems ; you could see them dancing on the pages and hear the music!! a truly gifted writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delivered as promised, 28 Dec 2012
By 
V. Keeping (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk the Blue Fields (Paperback)
This book has been highly praised by critics and I felt their comments were spot on anyone who enjoys short stories get to read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Claire Keegan, 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: Walk the Blue Fields (Paperback)
Leading Irish writers ? Colm Toibin, Willam Trevor, Colum McCann, John Banville, Joseph O'Connor. Anne Enright, John McGahern and surely Claire Keegan who deserves to be included in this list. A great literary talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 6 Mar 2008
This review is from: Walk the Blue Fields (Paperback)
Beautifully written. Very well-crafted and honed prose. The stories simply sparkle and resonate in the memory. It's of little surprise that Ms Keegan is so successful in the prize winning stakes and deservedly so! The only reason I didn't give it a 5-star - I wasn't all that fond of one story "The Parting Gift" and its 2nd person narrative POV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walk the Blue Fields
Walk the Blue Fields by Claire Keegan (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
8.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews