Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A monsterous boy...
This is a delightfully curious book, a short and heavily illustrated (every other page is art) tale seemingly aimed at children but of such a dark content that it may well be more appreciated by adults. As Baker himself describes it: "This really is a very sad and terrible story. It is a tale of undiluted horror". The story concerns an evil young boy called Robert...
Published on 10 May 2007 by Jane Aland

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Umm...
Well, I imagine this book will take you no more than a couple of hours to get through. Question is, is it worth it? It's an adult novel masquerading as a children's novel, it's strange, it's gory, it's funny, but it's too short. The style falls somewhere between Roald Dahl and Robert Rankin, without being as good as either.
Published on 16 April 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A monsterous boy..., 10 May 2007
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Boy Who Kicked Pigs (Paperback)
This is a delightfully curious book, a short and heavily illustrated (every other page is art) tale seemingly aimed at children but of such a dark content that it may well be more appreciated by adults. As Baker himself describes it: "This really is a very sad and terrible story. It is a tale of undiluted horror". The story concerns an evil young boy called Robert Caligari, and how his hatred of humanity leads to a truly ghastly comeuppance, and is told in Baker's unique and, let's face it, utterly loopy style. A delightfully mad jet black comedy, a book to both amuse children and give them nightmares. Nice one, Tom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Umm..., 16 April 2000
By A Customer
Well, I imagine this book will take you no more than a couple of hours to get through. Question is, is it worth it? It's an adult novel masquerading as a children's novel, it's strange, it's gory, it's funny, but it's too short. The style falls somewhere between Roald Dahl and Robert Rankin, without being as good as either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sick, funny and highly entertaining!, 30 Jan 2002
By A Customer
When I started reading it, I couldn't put it down! It is a strange story about a boy who despises pigs, but then realises it's humans he hates. This is the story of how he gets his own back on humans - and kills loads of people in the process, buy shooting an arrow into a horse!!!
Although I highly enjoyed the book, I don't think it would be worth paying 13 for it! Plus, it's a bit misleading - not for children, but, don't judge a book by it's cover! Read it if you get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric, dark and very silly, 20 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Boy Who Kicked Pigs (Paperback)
This is an amazing tale of a terrible boy who is not nice. There are surreal moments and really quite silly bits. The story is all over the place, and slightly flimsy, which makes this more of a cult book but it will have its ardent fans. Wonderful illustrations by David Roberts though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit too dark for me., 17 Aug 2011
I really enjoyed the layout of this book, very simple and a fantastical mix between dark adult humor and a childish appearance. Without giving too much away, I felt the ending was a little too graphic and its childish demeanor was completely lost. I do enjoy a bit of gore (American Psycho would definitely feature in my top 10) but I felt it was a little out of place here. Other then that, I quite enjoyed this book. Easily readable in about... an hour? About 100 pages long (with 'pretty' pictures and full of vibrancy. Except nothing less from Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mirth a minute, 10 Nov 1999
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This very funny tale of a boy, weedkiller and rats is amusing not only for the events that occur within, but as a window into mind of the strangest man to play "Doctor Who".
The book is very skinny (60 pages of text, another 60 of extremely complementary diagrams), but the laugh-to-pound ratio makes it more than worthwhile, particularly for Baker fans. I'm not the guffawing type, but this did it for me.
It's a sort of British Southpark tale without the crudity, and with a mix of intelligence and originality that mean this little book (and it is little) won't be one that sits forgotten in your bookcase. I *highly* recommend it. More please, Tom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Although the Limeted Edition is Expensive, BUY IT ANYWAY!!!!, 18 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This is an absolutly wicked tale and is absolutly funny! I have to say it is a brilliant story but just a little bit sick, if you know what I mean! Read it as soon as possible, it is a must for any one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roald Dahl was never this funny, or this nasty, 21 Dec 2001
The Boy Who Kicked Pigs is a morality tale in the tradition of the Brothers Grimm and Roald Dahl. It is wickedly funny and deliciously nasty. Set out as a children's story (although at the price of this edition that would be a brave bit of parenting) although almost certainly not suitable for the younger child, it delights in disturbing events and true unpleasantness.
Tom Baker knows from his time as Dr Who what it takes to make people squirm with discomfort and all of that experience is distilled here in a thrilling tale.
Go on, buy it, I dare you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully wickedly funny book, 2 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tom Bakers Darkly funny book. Laugh out loud funny. Wonderfully illustrated. By the best Doctor Who ever! Enjoy you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 20 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Boy Who Kicked Pigs (Paperback)
I got this for my teenage son, as it's more his type of humour, but once I started reading it, it's dark humour had me. Great read, but not suitable for younger kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boy Who Kicked Pigs
The Boy Who Kicked Pigs by Tom Baker (Paperback - 20 Oct 2005)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews