Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever,moving and nostalgic - not chic lit rubbish
This is a very different kind of memoir as it focuses on growing up and how music matters in that process.I'm two years younger than the author(and a girl!)so much of what she wrote really resonated with me.
It is often overlooked that music whatever its genre,actually means something to females, so this book has redressed the balance.
I really enjoyed the book...
Published on 8 Sept. 2008 by Lexi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the girl herself
This is Lavinia Greenlaw's memoir of growing up in the seventies, centred on the music she was listening to. From the last days of prog rock, through the rise of punk, to the new romantics. It's beautifully written, vivid and at times very touching. But also it is puzzling. The bands and the songs she listens to don't seem to mean a lot to her personally, they're more of...
Published 22 months ago by Ray Willmott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever,moving and nostalgic - not chic lit rubbish, 8 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Importance of Music to Girls (Paperback)
This is a very different kind of memoir as it focuses on growing up and how music matters in that process.I'm two years younger than the author(and a girl!)so much of what she wrote really resonated with me.
It is often overlooked that music whatever its genre,actually means something to females, so this book has redressed the balance.
I really enjoyed the book and read it over a couple of days.I would throughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the girl herself, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
Ray Willmott "litcritter" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Importance of Music to Girls (Paperback)
This is Lavinia Greenlaw's memoir of growing up in the seventies, centred on the music she was listening to. From the last days of prog rock, through the rise of punk, to the new romantics. It's beautifully written, vivid and at times very touching. But also it is puzzling. The bands and the songs she listens to don't seem to mean a lot to her personally, they're more of a statement to the world, a style accessory. And while there's lots of incident and detail, the really significant things seem to happen off-stage: "David, the first boy I'd slept with, was there somewhere around the table."

Okay, so maybe this is really about her inner development, her sense of who she is. But there too she seems reticent, even elusive. Reluctant to identify as a girl at the start of her teens, by the end she's the mother of a child? How did she get there? Sure, we were all awful posers in our teens, but how did this particular "poser" get to become an acclaimed writer with her own original take on the world?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the importance of...being earnest, 19 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Importance of Music to Girls (Paperback)
I really wanted to love this book, because Greenlaw is a very good poet, and I wanted that sensibility applied to the times and the music that we shared as teenagers in the days of the British punk explosion. And, in her own way, she delivers. Her perspective is fresh, and a distinct relief from the (mostly male) versions of growing up with punk music that broke like a tidal wave after Nick Hornby's "High Fidelity" made writing about pop a respectable trope in literary publishing. There's no hackneyed praise for "Teenage Kicks" and she doesn't repeat the stories of how it felt the first time she heard "Anarchy in the UK"/"New Rose"/The Slits etc etc. Which is a relief.

Instead, Greenlaw places music in the context of her growing up - and finds some fresh things to say as a result.

BUT, as a couple of other reviewers have found, there is also a lot to irritate here.

Greenlaw starts with an arresting image. "At eight," she says, "I jumped through a window and can still remember how the glass billowed and held me before it exploded...nothing has seemed as peaceful since." A few pages later, she says of her child-self, "I had as much capacity for delight as for fear and did not experience any unusual trauma. *All* experience was trauma."

All of which sets the reader up to expect something which Greenlaw never quite delivers. The breaking glass simile isn't earned, so it comes across as artifice. There are a couple of allusions to panic attacks later in adolescence, but no exploration and no reflection from maturity that this, perhaps, is a common condition of childhood and adolescence - this feeling of shock at life and learning, this alienation.

And lordy, doesn't she take herself seriously? Adolescents often do, of course, but this book is written 30 years later, with an adult's sense of perspective. Now, the absence of humour grates and she sounds precious rather than respectful of her younger self.

So I was glad to have read this book, but it hasn't endeared me to Lavinia Greenlaw!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An important book, 14 Mar. 2012
By 
L. Finn (W Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Importance of Music to Girls (Paperback)
THis book was the best Christmas present I had this year. As someone else says, it gives rare voice to the crucial role that music plays in growing up for girls. Does it lack humour and sparkle? Possibly, but is none the worse for it. Lavinia Greenlaw is wry, understated and profoundly insightful. She captures the serious business that music is, or was, in this period - the making of a tape for someone as an act of love. I particularly liked her depictions on the callousness of youth - her friend and American penfriend tormenting her over the letters she had asked to be destroyed. At a time when she could make no real connection with her education or surroundings, music appears to have provided the footholds that helped her to clamber towards adulthood, as it did I think for many of us. And the joy and sparkle comes at the very end, when her new baby is lulled to sleep by the music of music talk as the three adults rhapsodise and reminisce over the recordings that her ex boyfriend has lost. I will read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great read for music lovers, 14 Oct. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance of Music to Girls (Paperback)
'The Importance of Music to Girls' is an insight into growing up in the 1960s and 1970s in the UK, from the perspective of a girl to whom music meant everything. It is an interesting read and more than just a memoir; more of a social history book. I would recommend it to anyone who has ever loved music above all else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just girls, 11 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Importance of Music to Girls (Paperback)
Where are all the rave reviews for this? This isn't about music at all, or only peripherally (the title's a wink!) - it's about Becoming a Person - what in certain circles is called a Bildungsroman. As such it's wise, honest and enchanting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful at times but a little lacking in sparkle, 21 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Importance of Music to Girls (Paperback)
As a lifelong lover of music, I was intrigued to read this book - especially if it was going to be the woman's answer to the likes of High Fidelity. The prose is at times beautifully written, intelligent and vivid, but for me the tone of it lacks sparkle. Where is the wit, the humour? Music is incredibly important but it is also great fun, and yet the earnestness and seriousness displayed in the chapters belies this. The other problem for me is the lack of continuity throughout - it is bitty, jumping backwards and forwards in time, which gives it a disjointed feel. However, niggles aside, I found it worth reading purely because it is a growing-up memoir with music at its heart. Greenlaw knows her stuff about music, and can talk with authority about it. Anyone interested in what it was like to grow up in the 70s and the punk rock explosion would appreciate this. For a truly witty, crackling read about music in a girl's life, you might prefer Louise Wener's Different For Girls. Different for Girls: A girl's own true-life adventures in pop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars University Book, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance of Music to Girls (Paperback)
This worked for me because I'm of a similar age to the author. The lists of records and the descriptions of the time brought back good memories and made me go through my playlists. I'd recommend this to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not do what says on the tin, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance of Music to Girls (Paperback)
This book is not about 'the importance of music to girls'. I looked in vain for any kind of articulate, structured thesis - with the slight exception of an analysis underpinning 'Nashville Skyline'. Instead, it is a rambling, episodic, and oh-so-pretentious series of random events in the life of the author, each of which are connoted in some (often specious) way to the music of the day. Lavinia sounds like she had a most self-indulgent childhood and youth, to which she attributes a breathtaking sense of self-importance, couched in Russian novels and all-black outfits. It isn't clear whether this is her fault for being the ultimate in fecklessness, or whether it is for having apparently the most alarmingly ineffective and laissez-faire (bet you love that term Lavinia!) parents of alltime. What a bore you are - and you promised so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Importance of Music to Girls (Paperback)
Good value, for uni student so served purpose. Fast delivery, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Importance of Music to Girls
The Importance of Music to Girls by Lavinia Greenlaw (Paperback - 14 Aug. 2008)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews