Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 2011
I had never read Homer's Odyssey before, although many of the stories within it will be familiar to most people.

There is a lovely brevity and succinctness about the style as one would expect from a leading poet. I read it in the space of a couple of days, including one long journey, and it had me captivated.

I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting an approachable but not dumbed down version of these stories. I am now motivated to read a full translation of the original - which I would never have been before.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2006
Lively, jaunty and sympathetic to the protagonists, this is an engaging introduction to the outlines of Odysseus's experiences in a dramatised format that would lend itself well to the classroom.

Odysseus does come across as an irritating sort of leader at points - but in the final section, he provides a satisfying comeuppance for all the rapacious suitors who've been harassing his wife. The relationship between Zeus and Athena is by turns amusing and touching, and there are some unexpectedly vivid characters, such as Queen Arete who is desperate to get Odysseus away from her family and consequently helps him on his way home.

Although in terms of poetic technique, theme and voice, I prefer Armitage's stand alone poetry, this is a fine addition to the poetic interpretations of Homer's great work. It is however, an entertainment rather than a full translation - if you're looking for that, Fagles would be your man, as Armitage himself acknowledges.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 December 2007
These days, The Odyssey is usually seen as more of an historical artefact than a work of fiction. Clunky translations tend to kill the drama and fail to capture why The Odyssey is still a classic after more than 2500 years. Armitage reinvigorates the tale by completely rewriting it in the form of a radio play. Surprisingly, Armitage plays it straight, writing very naturalistic dialogue and resisting the temptation to render everything in pompous poetry. A strange approach, you might think, for one of Britain's leading poets. But it works brilliantly.

In Armitage's version, the timeless themes of the story come in to sharp focus. The story exposes man's weakness when faced with the devastating power of temptation. But we also see the value of courage and loyalty in the face of insurmountable odds - not only from Odysseus, but also from Penelope, forced to wait to for him alone for twenty years. The Odyssey is in many ways a strikingly modern and human story, and that really comes through here. Armitage has put humanity into The Odyssey, allowing us to share Odysseus's pain and longing, as well as his famed cunning.

There's humour here, as well as intense drama, and the whole thing is beautifully readable, compulsive, concise and easy to follow. All the romance and excitement of the adventure and the tension of the decisive moments is captured here. It could nearly be a children's classic, but for a few cases of strong language and sexual references (it's a 12A rating, really). There's plenty for grownups to enjoy here though, regardless of whether or not you've read The Odyssey.
33 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
This book is written like a play which makes it an interesting read. Pace is maintained throughout and as a play it encourages one's imagination to visualize the characters and scenarios. it captures the essentials and salient details to tell the story of Odusseus and Penelope. I would recommend this as an interesting read for anyone interested in understanding an epic but doesnt have the time/chance to read the original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Not bad for a former Probation Officer. I can't wait to read his version of the Iliad - The Last Days of Troy.!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Really enjoyed Simon Armitage's interpretation of Homer's Odyssey which followed the original closely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
The most beautiful translations of Homer's Odyssey. I wish he would do Iliad too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
read it alongside Joyce's Ulysses- wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
This is the funnest way to become acquainted with the story. I'd love to see the play they based on this.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.