Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Ace
Bought this at the airport for my daughter who's 6, as we'd forgotten the holiday reads. She loved it, especially as she believes that animals can understand exactly what all us humans say to them! Humphreys tales of helping others are funny, and heart warming. A must for boys or girls, and of any age (including mums of 38 yrs!)
Published on 31 Aug. 2006 by Mrs. Sonia Juby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a hit with our 6 year-old
Our six year old boy really wasn't that bothered about this, despite us having just bought a hamster. I don't think he liked the style of writing, which he didn't find original, and preferred the suspense and adventure of the Famous Five books. And he didn't find it funny either! boys eh.
Published 8 months ago by Fairy Godmother


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Ace, 31 Aug. 2006
By 
Mrs. Sonia Juby "SJ" (Cheshire U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World According to Humphrey (Paperback)
Bought this at the airport for my daughter who's 6, as we'd forgotten the holiday reads. She loved it, especially as she believes that animals can understand exactly what all us humans say to them! Humphreys tales of helping others are funny, and heart warming. A must for boys or girls, and of any age (including mums of 38 yrs!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squeakingly good, 28 Oct. 2007
This review is from: The World According to Humphrey (Paperback)
How can one not fall in love with the adorably intelligent Humphrey? The way he squeaks his amiable way to the human heart. Great book to read aloud to children. Adults will enjoy it too (I certainly did!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for young kids, 26 Mar. 2009
This review is from: The World According to Humphrey (Paperback)
I brought this book for my daughter who is 7. She loved it, particularly as she has a hamster of her own that looks very much like Humphrey. She now has three of the books in the series and I am planning to buy the others once we are finished with the latest. The language used is quite simple so we have enjoyed reading these together and the books have helped to encourage her reading quite a lot. I have marked the book down a star because, while my daughter loves these, they are a bit formulaic and, as an adult, I do not particularly enjoy them, but then, I am not really the target audience so can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yep - another 5* review for Humph!, 21 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The World According to Humphrey (Paperback)
Searching for a pressie for a youngster? Look no further than The World According to Humphrey. The little class hamster of Room 26 shares his experiences of going home with his classmates for the weekend. Tales that every child will enjoy. But 'TWAH' offers you more than that; the book touches on illness and its effects on children and relationships - making it a great jumping off point if you want to discuss this with your children....without making a big drama out of it.

And a big bonus is the little snippets of hamster care information at the end of every chapter.

If you've never met Humphrey before, this is a great introduction to the little fella. A warm and entertaining read for developing readers - and their parents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely, wise little story, 22 Jun. 2008
This review is from: The World According to Humphrey (Paperback)
This is a lovely, wise little story. Readers will adore the character of Humphrey the hamster. The story has lots of great touches, 'Humphrey's Guide to the Care and Feeding of Humans' (at the back of the book), being just one of them. It's great to see an imaginative, fun book that will also get children to think about how other people feel and why people don't always act the way we'd like them to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab fab fab fab, 11 Mar. 2006
This review is from: The World According to Humphrey (Paperback)
Truley on of the best books ever published I would reccomend for all ages. It is brilliant
to read
a hamsters adventur and learn about mrs Brisbane.Humphrey helps loads of people and is a
true friend.If you are a animal lover this book is ideal for you. This book will not
let you down. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CUTE-CUTE-CUTE, 17 Feb. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The World According to Humphrey (Paperback)
When Ms Mack leaves to go to brazil its to much for poor HUMPHREY. Even worse this horible teacher takes over room 26. But when Humphrey is left alone every night his friend Aldo always comes. And will Ms Mack ever,ever come back... Ithink this book is MAGIC-MAGIC-MAGIC!
I am 5 and I think this book is for 5 to 12 years old, because there is a cute hamster and everybody likes cute things.The book seems so real, especially Humphrey the Hamster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the world according to humphrey, 6 April 2008
By 
J. Hardy (Houghton-le-spring, Tyne & Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World According to Humphrey (Paperback)
I think that that this book is the best Humphrey book that I have read so far. You learn some things about looking after hamsters with some important tips you get before the chapter ends.I think it is the best book I have read in a long time,I look forward to reading more Humphrey books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irony Free, 18 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The World According to Humphrey (Paperback)
Humphrey is observant, good-hearted, generous and self-aware in a fashion we would all like to copy. If you want a calm, funny, clear-eyed and engaging read to, read with, or read alone for more advanced youngsters, it is not possible to go wrong with these Humphrey books.

Sometimes authors try to have it both ways by writing a "sweet" book but then slipping in some sly winking irony for hipper readers. Sometimes that works and sometimes it doesn't. That's not what you get here. The author plays straight with his readers and with Humphrey, and while Humphrey can occasionally be a bit tart he is never less than 100 percent authentic and caring.

There is nothing precious or contrived or twee going on here. Humphrey will speak right to your young reader and I'll bet your reader responds. What a nice book to try out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perceptive and Funny, 1 Sept. 2013
Written from Humphrey the hamster's perspective, The World According to Humphrey tells the story of his 'liberation' from a pet store to his life in the classroom, where he resides as a classroom pet in Room 26 at Longfellow School. Humphrey is totally besotted with Ms. Mac, his kind-hearted rescuer, not knowing that her post at the school is only a temporary one. Inevitably the day arrives when she must leave and the dreaded and hostile Mrs Brisbane returns. Unfortunately for Humphrey, the stone-hearted Mrs Brisbane "can't stand rodents".

Following the departure of his beloved Ms. Mac, Humphrey is left to go home each weekend with a different child or member of staff, an arrangement which changes his and their lives. Each home he visits is not without its share of problems; a mother cannot speak English, the Headmaster is unable to command the same respect from his own children as he enjoys at school, the TV in one household is never switched off, and another child's mother is sick. Humphrey puts his thinking cap on and and helps these families to resolve their various issues. Needless to say, he is much loved by all who meet him and even the ones who don't take to him straight away are eventually won over. While all this is taking place, Humphrey is slipping in and out of his cage, by opening the "lock-that-doesn't-lock", and at the same time managing to get an education.

I really did like this book. The humour is intelligent and innocent. I particularly like the way Humphrey has named the children - after the teacher's commands - "Repeat-That-Please-Richie", "Stop-Giggling-Gail" and "Pay-Attention-Art" are just some of them - very clever. This is fast-paced, witty and highly entertaining. Humphrey's understanding of his human counterparts and their problems is refreshing and insightful, ranging from the emotions of falling in love to the despair of having a sick parent, and being reticent about speaking out in class because of a language barrier. In most cases, as in life, the children's behaviour in school reflects their situation at home which, here is sensitively dealt with.

This is an extremely enjoyable, well-written book which is loaded with lessons, all subtly woven in. "After all, you can learn a lot about yourself by getting to know another species" being Humphrey's favourite dictum. There is also a great deal to be learnt about caring for hamsters. Humphrey himself is adorable, compassionate, perceptive and funny. A great book which I highly recommend.

This review is also published at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World According to Humphrey
The World According to Humphrey by Betty G. Birney (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2006)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews