Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fabulous book, 12 July 2005
By 
steph wilson (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Uncle Albert and the Quantum Quest (Paperback)
This book is really good as it teaches you science in a fun way.you dont realize how much you have leant from it untill you get to the back of the book where there is a quiz and you can test yourself.It is all about what the smallest piece of something is and what that smallest piece is made of.Russel Stanerd has also woven Lewis Carrol's stories in so it helps if you have already read Alice in Wonderland as charactures and props from the book are used throughout the book.This is a fantastic book that will make you both think deeply and laugh out loud at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy Physics, 23 July 2001
By A Customer
This a fantastic book about a girl called Gedanken and her Uncle Albert, who is a scientist. Gedanken takes a trip into her uncle's mysterious thought bubble and discovers heaps of things in the strange enlarged world. This is a fun journey through the world of atoms, molecules, electrons and quarks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for all ages!, 25 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This book is not only an entertaining yet informative book; it expands ones mind and allows children to address questions that they would not be able to think about until they are at high school. The use of fantasy, conversation, illustrations, humour, someone to identify to and written from a childs point of view makes this book a great treasure. It deals with many of childrens misconceptions yet it educates the children. This book is fun, yet informative...can a story be informative...yes!
A must buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scientists from a young age, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Albert and the Quantum Quest (Paperback)
A really good read for youngsters that have a scientifically inquisitive mind. Also useful for those that are looking for inventive ways to explain such difficult concepts.

Buy the set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quantom Quest to teach science tangentially, 10 Nov 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not the first Russell Stannard I have purchased for my grand-children (three and one - so starting the library early) and that is a recommendation in itself. I have no doubt whatsoever that the world in which they grow up will continue to expand exponentially in so many different ways, as it has in my life-time; as an English graduate with an extensive library, a long-standing computer user and now an avid iPad user, I have grown used to and now enjoy reading books, newspapers and PDFs from screens. Information Technology and its cousins are just amazing, thank you, the late, great Steve Jobs. However, I continue to stock the grand-children's libraries, mostly with hardbacks, in the belief that books will continue in some shape or form to be a staple diet.

Gedanken and her scientist uncle, Albert, are the characters Stannard uses to take his readers on a journey into the world of quantum physics, a fun journey through the world of atoms, molecules, electrons and quarks. He knows the power of enjoyable stories to take our minds for a walk and he populates the journey with resonant characters with whom children can relate. Along the way, if they learn a little about physics, chemistry or biology, well, that's fun too.

It does not make quantum physics any easier or less confusing for mere mortals but it does slip concepts into the minds, provide vocabularies to use and moments to remember, in addition to simply putting books into hands. "Education is the kindling of a flame, not the filling of a vessel" Socrates (470BC-399BC), who knew too well how to educate the youth.

A much mis-quoted and over-used Chinese quotation is "Tell me and I'll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I'll understand."; although I do not entirely subscribe to this, it is the essence of what Stannard succeeds in doing surreptitiously with his series of books.

Recommended as a wonderful educational ambush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Nov 2013
By 
G. Y. Ritchie (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Albert and the Quantum Quest (Paperback)
This story presents the early development of quantum theory through the thought experiments of Albert Einstein and introduces some of the other important players and their ideas. All of this is done in a way that children of 11 and over can follow, but even adults will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He loves ir!, 20 May 2013
By 
E. J. Kirkaldie "lanilobster" (Whitstable) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Albert and the Quantum Quest (Paperback)
A friend's boy, aged 7, said he wishes there were books like this at his school. So he took it to read the other pupils in his class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: Uncle Albert and the Quantum Quest (Paperback)
Arrived promptly and exactly as described, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncle Albert and the Quantum Quest
Uncle Albert and the Quantum Quest by Russell Stannard (Paperback - 7 April 2005)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews